We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly restful location with excellence abounding!”
Review of Driftwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Driftwood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rosevine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and wished we could have stayed for many more. Although the final few miles of approach through narrow Cornish lanes could put off the more cautious drivers with expensive cars, the eventual arrival is well worth it. The hotel is tucked away in a gorgeous part of the county with an almost private beach a short walk down the private path. The hotel itself is extremely comfortable, accommodating, very tastefully decorated and with fantastic staff. All the staff we met were incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms were faultless and had some lovely touches like a Roberts radio which has great quality sound, and a really good DVD and book library for those long leisurely relaxing hours which feel needed when you are here. The bed linen was very expensive and the beds very comfortable. Having a room with a sea view was a bonus and it was lovely to hear the gentle sounds of the waves as you drifted off to sleep. Its so nice you really don't want to leave the hotel!

The breakfasts we had were some of the tastiest I have ever eaten. There is a great choice from traditional fruit, cereals and full english to more unusual choices all cooked fresh to order. You can eat outside on the decking area overlooking the bay and watching the birdlife in the garden -great start to the day!

The evening meals were again, excellent. Top quality cooking beautifully served in a lovely relaxing atmosphere. We can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: We loved the room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluestraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Wonderful service, of an extraordinary level. Staff went out of their way to be of service. Food was of the highest order and certainly very tasty, breakfasts were particularly good. Scenery and the setting was noteworthy and comparable to Portugal and Spanish venues. Bed and room were wonderfully comfortable and we loved the relaxing sound of the sea. Only down-side is the price, be sure come with deep pockets.

In summary therefore a fantastic hotel with wonderful service and highly recommended.

Room Tip: There are sea-facing rooms, there are non-sea facing rooms and there are separate chalets external t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pv_mitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed three nights at the Driftwood as part of a tour of Cornwall including golf. It was pretty tricky to find despite the Satnav, but once there we spent 3 days being spoilt. The staff are amazing and nothing is too much trouble. The food is all you would expect from a high-end restaurant and didn't disappoint. The hotel is located in its own gardens on top of cliffs over looking a bay and although I didn't look around each room there appears to be several options to choose from. What else do you need from a hotel?

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 which had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank disappointed186277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Driftwood is in a lovely location, perched on the edge of the hillside overlooking the sea and it's very own beach. The staff are very attentive and it's clear that they care greatly about their guests comfort during their stay. Unfortunately we were unable to have dinner at the restaurant due to illness but the breakfast in the morning was delicious. The continental buffet had a great selection and cooked breakfast was really delicious. Our room was a seaview (we received an upgrade upon arrival) and it was quite small but had everything you need. Coffee and tea making facilities are not in the room but I believe you could ask for them if you wished. The best thing about this hotel though is the beautiful gardens and peaceful setting. There are several seats and tables dotted around the property where you can escape and read your paper listening to the sea and the birds. The only reason I haven't given this a 5 rating is that their room service menu is really just sandwiches and if you are unable to eat in the restaurant then you have to drive quite a way to get a bite to eat for dinner but it is only a small hotel so I appreciate that it is probably not possible to extend this any further.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K_pamphlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed three nights at Driftwood and enjoyed it very much. The place is really pretty and with great views. It is very well managed by the owners who provide a very friendly and personal service. The food was very good for both breakfast and dinner (they certainly deserve their Michelin star!). The service was also of a good standard and the lack of experience of some of the younger waiters was totally made up by their pleasant manners and their willingness to do their best for us. The room which we booked provided a lovely deck and sea view but was compact as indeed was the bathroom which was also a little basic. We paid the top price of GBP 265 per night for B&B and felt that at this price we could at least have a tray in the shower to store soaps/shampoos as well as a soap dish for the sink! Surely it would only cost a few pounds to install these few things which really are not a luxury especially when looking at the price paid! Inceidentally, we also stayed at the St Enodoc in Rock (two Michelin star) and got a two-room suite with a fully appointed bathroom for GBP40 less per night than at Driftwood (see separate review)! But don't let these little things put you off, Driftwood is an excellent place overall and well worth the experience

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daniel_london_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed excellent food and a lovely sea view. Thank you for your suggestions, we always appreciate guest feedback. Looking at the St Enodoc rates for a double suite, it seems as though you got a fantastic deal there! We hope you enjoyed your time in Cornwall and we will look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Driftwood is in a stunning location. I used to live in Australia and the views rival the Great Ocean Road. On arrival we greeted with a personal tour of the hotel, which is very relaxed, and the communal areas are well thought through with enough privacy for everyone to have their own space.

The rooms are very relaxing and comfortable, with enough home comforts to ensure you have an enjoyable stay. It's not a five star hotel, and it doesn't pretend to be, but it certainly punches above its weight in terms of going out of its way to be right up there with the best.

The staff are extremely thoughtful and friendly. And they provide a personal touch which is often lacking in bigger hotels.

We had a seven course tasting menu, which was stunningly good. The chef had catered for allergies very well indeed, and each course was delicious. The only mistake we made was eating too much! The personal touch was evident when an extra dish was brought along marking a birthday, and the waitress brought a menu signed by the chef too - a lovely idea. The Cornish sparkling wine we had was fantastic too.

I would highly recommend Driftwood.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank globalgirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

A wonderful location and beautifully furnished intimate hotel. On arrival shown around by member of the team, making you feel very welcome and aware of area. Our room was very tasteful, compact but excellent. Wonderful decked area outside to enjoy morning tea, which is bought to the room. We ate in the restaurant and found the food to be outstanding, before eating sat in one of the lounge areas and heard lots of colourful language coming from the kitchen, all added to the experience! Situated in a beautiful part of Cornwall I now intend to explore more, great coastal paths right outside the hotel. Will definitely go back here.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth it. Didn't mean to rate fitness centre not sure they have one and can't un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickyandPaul2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosevine
5.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
218 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
422 reviews
21.9 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
960 reviews
23.3 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
913 reviews
16.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Hotel

Address: Rosevine | Near Portscatho, Rosevine TR2 5EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Rosevine
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rosevine
Price Range: £204 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Driftwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your perfect holiday - a stylish, privately run Cornish Beach House Hotel, overlooking the stunning Gerrans Bay, near the pretty village of Portscatho, near St Mawes South Cornwall. Driftwood is like no other boutique hotel in Cornwall. Driftwood has the friendly informal service, a michelin star restaurant, and the efficiency you would expect. Where else can you walk down a wooded path, to your own beach and cove? Where else can you lie back on a steamer chair, with a glass of wine, and enjoy an unbroken sea view. Where else can you eat the best, locally sourced food, perhaps lobster caught that morning, or crab from the bay? Whoever you are or whatever your looking for, whether that be a family holiday, a boutique or romantic hotel in Cornwall, Driftwood is perfect for all your needs. At Driftwood, families can be as well looked after as romantic couples or small groups of grown-ups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Driftwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Rosevine, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing