We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fancy time”
Review of Driftwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Driftwood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rosevine
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fancy time”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I booked two nights as a surprise to celebrate my husband's Birthday. The restaurant was the first reason I looked it up and the views were the deal maker. When we got there the room was lovely, views from both windows and it felt like a hideaway. The surrounding gardens and beach views are so good to wake up to. The restaurant did not let us down and the food was exceptional, my husband was taken back by the amount of planning I'd done. A near perfect weekend, wish we lived closer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    54
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
54
312
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Booked this hotel for a surprise romantic getaway with the other half, the location is breath taking, the gardens are beautiful and the beach is secluded and peaceful. We stayed for 1 night in room 8, the room was clean with a very big bathroom. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had dinner here on the night and it was the best meal we have ever had. £53 per head was definitely worth it! Service was great and the food was heavenly. Breakfast the next day was again made to perfection. Definitely recommend the rooms with private decking, it's nice to sit and have a drink and watch the views.

Only negatives - the beds were two beds joined together and we could feel this during the night and wasn't comfy. I did request a little romantic gesture for the room at the time of booking, and found a half bottle of champagne and a bouquet of flowers which I thought were part of the room decor, it was lovely but disappointing that £50 was added to the bill for this.

Room Tip: Room 8 was great but only way to get in and out was to go through the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcwsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

If you are looking for a place with an amazing waterfront location with wonderful coastline views, with easy access to much of the best Cornwall has to offer, then the Driftwood will be perfect. It is located about 10 minutes from trendy St. Mawes but without the congestion (and noise); access to some locations offers the option of a fun 8 minute ferry boat ride (with capacity for > 30 cars at a time). It is the ideal place for a busy couple to spend time together in a very comfortable, beautiful environment - both inside and outside the hotel.
The hotel is superbly run and managed; the staff are without exception polite and caring, managing to convey professionalism without making guests feel uncomfortable. The rooms are terrific - almost all with sea views but the feature that truly elevates this place is the restaurant. The Chef is outstanding and five evenings of his extraordinary offerings rounded off each day in style. Locally sourced foods, creatively and beautifully presented at an unhurried pace made dining a much anticipated event. The dining room offers views of the coast, an imaginative choice of wines and each evening a new cocktail concoction.
if you are looking for a place to unwind in style, you could not do better than the Driftwood. For us, it was one of the very best hotel experiences from the last four decades.

Room Tip: Book early as demand is high especially during the busy summer season
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband and I, together with our 11 year old grandaughter and her friend, stayed at the Driftwood two weeks ago. We had a wonderful holiday, the hotel is very comfortable and the owners and staff are very professional, welcoming and friendly, without being intrusive. The location is beautiful and the beach peaceful, whilst its rocks and pools are fun for children.

The Restaurant is lovely, fresh and clean. Their breakfasts are very good with a comprehensive choice of dishes. We ate dinner in the retaurant on two evenings, on both occasions the food was absolutely delicious. They happily catered for the two girls' less adventurous palates by adapting the dishes to suit their tastes.


Our thanks to everyone at the Driftwood for a memorable stay, we hope to return in the near future,

Room Tip: Our en-suite room had a small bedroom leading off it which was suitable for the two 11year old girls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxinamillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed at the Driftwood with our young daughter as part of our summer holiday. This hotel is in the most beautiful location and our bedroom suite, which had a small single room attached for our daughter, looked out over the sea. The interior design is tasteful and fits well with the coastal surroundings. The staff are helpful and well trained and the food is very good. As this hotel is predominantly a busy restaurant in the evenings, it isn't an ideal place for children to spend their time unless eating but during the day it was lovely. It has a nice little play room, ample grounds to play in and direct access to the beach. We hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Visited this as a family of four - 2 adults plus a 6 and 3 year old. It's one of those places where you are instantly at ease and relaxed at. The website photos don't do justice to the beach which was far far larger than we thought and was absolutely deserted. The food was top notch for us (we ate there two nights and left stuffed both nights!) and they prepared the kids evening meals when we wanted and exactly what we wanted, without a menu.

Small touches like wet wipes on the tables for the kids, coffee and hot chocolate brought to the room first thing each day before breakfast, the playroom for the kids the countless romantic areas, snugs, viewpoints and so on went to make this a place we'll return to.

The weather forecast is worth ignoring too. We were forecast 72 hours of rain and had lovely weather!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank xboshx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My brother in law and his partner had visited this property last year and spoke well of the cuisine. Looking for a couple of extra days at the end of our annual holiday we booked into Driftwood, and we were not disappointed. The hotel does not naturally cope with children when it comes to dining, but with a little persuasion they accepted our seven year old son in the dining room and more importantly allowed us to indulge in the food treat that is Driftwood. Our supper each evening was simply wonderful and the wine choices complimented. The team were knowledgeable, friendly and engaging. We liked the simplicity of the rooms and views were unparrelled. Driftwood will not be for everyone, but we liked it very much.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosevine
5.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Rosevine
The Rosevine
#2 of 2 in Rosevine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
23.3 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Hotel

Property: Driftwood Hotel
Address: Rosevine | Near Portscatho, Rosevine TR2 5EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Rosevine
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rosevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Driftwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your perfect holiday - a stylish, privately run Cornish Beach House Hotel, overlooking the stunning Gerrans Bay, near the pretty village of Portscatho, near St Mawes South Cornwall. Driftwood is like no other boutique hotel in Cornwall. Driftwood has the friendly informal service, a michelin star restaurant, and the efficiency you would expect. Where else can you walk down a wooded path, to your own beach and cove? Where else can you lie back on a steamer chair, with a glass of wine, and enjoy an unbroken sea view. Where else can you eat the best, locally sourced food, perhaps lobster caught that morning, or crab from the bay? Whoever you are or whatever your looking for, whether that be a family holiday, a boutique or romantic hotel in Cornwall, Driftwood is perfect for all your needs. At Driftwood, families can be as well looked after as romantic couples or small groups of grown-ups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Driftwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Rosevine, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing