We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and very comfortable stay.”
Review of The Porthvean

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Porthvean
Ranked #7 of 12 St Agnes B&B and Inns
South
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and very comfortable stay.”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

I would highly recommend the Porthvean in St Agnes. With comfortable rooms and spacious reception accommodation, this place is full of character and is a great place to relax, unwind and explore the North Cornish coast. Geoff is an excellent and attentive host and prepared a delicious breakfast for us all, fresh fruit salad included.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vardar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The location is great but what strikes you the most the the welcome and personal touch you receive. The owners make you feel at home. The size of the bedrooms is pleasantly shocking. I have never seen such a beg bedroom with a double bed and a single bed with a dressing table and an armoire and side tables with plenty of spce to walk around.
Another thing tht strikes you is the wonderful breakfast you are served. They never say no. Everything is available even salmon, and you are so well looked after and by not being overbearing
I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alka2568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southsea
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We rented the whole place for a family gathering. If anyone is considering a get together with varied ages ( we were 18months to 94) this is great. The teenagers loved the hot tub , sauna and games room which was well away from the lounge area. It was equipped extremely well with enough comfortable seating for everyone, a large kitchen, the bedrooms were good. I would highly recommend it and the owners were so helpful and welcoming. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthseaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We have stayed at the Porthvean many times over the years and regard it as our home from home in St Agnes. Geoff and Ali were terrific hosts on our latest visit and the breakfasts were sublime. The room was large, clean and comfortable, I had some excellent nights sleeps. The en suite was spacious with a good sized shower.

The Porthvean is conveniently located next to the St Agnes pub which has fun band nights and very convivial bars, and when you've had enough of that you can buy a bottle of wine at the store a few doors away and sit in front of the fire back at the hotel and chill.

We plan to return :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane_nrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Stopped here for 3 nights for a short break and to visit family nearby.
On arrival we were greeted by the owner Geoff and the first thing that hit me was the lovely smell of the wood burning open fire in the lounge.
This has to be one of the largest bedrooms I have ever stayed in and not only was the room large but the bed was equally impressive. I thought the bed was a little on the hard side but the Mrs thought it was lovely and firm.
As previously stated you are given a small thermos flask of fresh milk which is much better than the usual uht milk seen in most establishments.
There are plenty of options for eating nearby with an hotel right next door.
Breakfast was exceptional with a large choice of fresh fruit salad, yoghurt and a full English which even included salmon if you wished it.
I can highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

My husbands family hired the whole place as self catering accommodation for our June wedding and it was perfect. The place was exceptionally well equipped, with a very large kitchen with 2 cookers 3 microwaves and enough pots and pans for the 20 + people we entertained. Comfortable lounge with ample room to relax and a large dinning table which more that accommodated the whole family.
The kids loved the hot tub and pool table, it really is ideal for large groups and very reasonably priced.
We will defiantly look at hiring this place again when our family from overseas comes to visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and were allocated room 4 which had a superking bed and private ensuite. The room was large, full of character but had all the mod cons you'd need too.

The breakfasts were amazing, a huge fruit salad with every type of fruit was available and cereals, toast and a full english. What struck us was that nothing was too much trouble.

The owners were only too happy to help us with our odd requests like a needle & thread, freezing our ice packs and Geoff even lent my husband a pair of his cufflinks!!

When we're next down in St Agnes we would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodine79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Agnes hotels
0.0 mi away
St. Agnes Hotel
St. Agnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Agnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Driftwood Spars B & B
0.5 mi away
Beacon Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Rosemundy House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Peterville Inn
The Peterville Inn
#12 of 12 in St Agnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penkerris
Penkerris
#6 of 12 in St Agnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Porthvean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porthvean

Property: The Porthvean
Address: 10 Churchtown, St Agnes TR5 0QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > St Agnes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in St Agnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Porthvean 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Porthvean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porthvean St Agnes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing