We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday Lunch”
Review of Miners Arms

Miners Arms
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in St Agnes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cornwall, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

To be found in the centre of a small village a couple of miles from St Agnes. Very good experience with a party of nine including children. Good choice of meats with alternatives available. Several cosy rooms within the pub. Good size car park. Woodland walks nearby. Very popular - booking advised.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bootsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    119
    23
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prestatyn
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful welcome & fabulous food”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Wonderful welcome from young lady behind bar, who explained all the menu and specials and offered different seating options to ensure our comfort. The menu was varied with several fish options which pleased my husband. I had the fish pie which was delicious and my husband had the special of grilled hake, which he said was exquisite. Both very reasonably priced and ample portions served with veg of the day. We did not have to wait long for our meals and the food was piping hot. During our wait we had a drink and I tried to connect to the free wifi (cloud). The young lady from behind the bar saw me trying to do this, and came over and helped me connect.

Overall a very pleasant lunch with fab service, food and atmosphere. I can highly recommend this lovely old pub, and will definitely be returning.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Santessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dog and Family friendly Meal out”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

They had friendly staff and it was dog friendly. It also serves food for all they had a great vegetarian lasagne and you need to try their onion rings!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trixie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
441 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Excellent friendly and traditional pub”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We popped in to this pub just for a quick drink, but the welcome was so warm, we decided to stay for lunch and I'm glad we did!

We went through to a delightful low roofed room (see picture) with gorgeous open fire and the four of us tucked into two sharing platters. Apparently the pub has been a court, chapel and brothel (presumably not all at the same time!)

As it's a tied pub, it doesn't unfortunately have some of the wonderful local beers and ciders on tap but this is a small price to pay!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roodeberglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthtowan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Way above usual north coast standard”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This pub restaurant is way above the usual standard for this area of Cornwall. Their fish dishes are superb, and the staff welcoming and friendly.

There is a main bar area and several little rooms off that a small party can fill and almost use as a private dining room. The cellar is down a flight of steps, but does have a window to the grounds. There is scope to eat outside in summer, but sometimes there can be a wasp problem in August/September.

Car parking is ample unless an adjoining field is used for a local event, but this doesn't happen that often.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miners Arms also viewed

St Agnes, Truro District
St Agnes, Truro District
 
St Agnes, Truro District
 

Been to Miners Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing