We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most fantastic place tot stay in Cornwall”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Penkerris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Penkerris
Ranked #6 of 12 St Agnes B&B and Inns
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The most fantastic place tot stay in Cornwall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Me and my partner both come from the Netherlands and have returned to Cornwall many times for the holidays.
This time it was the sixth time I myself stayed at Penkerris. The house is a fairytale house, situated in the lovely village St Agnes. The house has a lawn on which you can play badminton and other sportgames. Both adults and children love to sit or play games in that wonderful garden. On the beach of St Agnes, Dorothy owns a big beachhut, which you can use for changing into your bathing clothes and get a surfboard or simply sit in a chair and enjoy the spectacular vieuw. Dorothy is a very warm and welcoming person, she will do everything to make her quests feel comfortable.
We can very much recommend staying at Penkerris, also in spring or autumn. We have had different rooms every stay, they all are very good.
L. Scheeres & S. de Jong

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sigrid d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    14
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
26
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed with Dorothy for two night and was catapulted into the 50's my room was fashioned in the Queen Anne style. It was very reasonable and Dorothy was delightful suggesting numerous walks which were breathtaking. Breakfast was ample but simple. Overall central, friendly and value for Money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lululudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We have just returned from 6 nights at Penkerris. When I booked our stay over the phone Dorothy exhorted me to phone her a few days before we went so that she could give us directions. These were duly given in great detail - I can't see how anyone could fail to find Penkerris!

Penkerris is located on the edge of St Agnes, but most of the village's amenities are within a few minutes walk. The house itself has a reasonable sized garden with benches and seats as well as some play equipment for the younger guests.

Breakfast offers a comprehensive choice of cereals, three choices of fruit juice, a full English and toast, not forgetting tea or coffee! The bread is fresh and local, the "brown" variety being a very nice variety that contains sunflower seeds.

Our en-suite bedroom was comfortable and clean, with an electric radiator had we needed it and a small colour television.

If you want to tour about Cornwall, St. Agnes is within an hours drive of Penzance, Bodmin and all points in between, with miles and miles of superb coastline to explore.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Llanelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

I have just spent 4 very happy nights in PENKERRIS . such a freindly homely atmosphere ! we felt completely relaxed , nothing was too much trouble for Dorothy and her lovely staff
Breakfasts were wonderful with a huge choice of cereals ( I counted 18 boxes of different ones ) the full English set you up for the day ! + unlimited toast , yoghurt, tea ,coffee ect
the gardens were a joy with so many birds busy feeding their babies in various nests in the chimney pots .
highly recommended , you won't do better !!! beds clean and comfy , we would certainly go there again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123456503828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

We have been regular visitors to St Agnes staying at a nearby camp site and have been sending non camping visitors to Penkerris for many years we although we had never stayed there ourselves, until now. Well all the good things we had heard are true, it was a delightful experience with lovely comfortable beds, and our room had a wonderful view. The breakfast was first class and nothing was too much trouble. We will return.

Room Tip: No tips needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buckpetely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

Last May half-term we had to relent on our camping holiday in Sennen when our battered tent got ripped by gale force winds. We drove back towards London and found ourselves knocking at Dorothy's door in the early evening. We ended up extending our stay and sleeping there for three nights. The location is perfect to explore the local coast from. Penkerris is a place full of characher and charm, warmth and family history. Our 3 and 7 year old girls were warmly encouraged to explore and play in the house and in the garden. We shall make a point of staying over on our way to souther Cornwall when we go for our anual camping trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

we have stayed at penkerris many time's, every time we visit. dorothy & her staff make us very welcome. it;s a lovely place in st agnes. the house is lovely & warm, there is a lovely big fire in the liveing room, where you can chat with dorothy have a glass of wine or two and a good old laugh. if any one visit's st agnes in cornwall penkerris is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trevchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Agnes
0.8 mi away
The Driftwood Spars B & B
0.2 mi away
Beacon Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
St. Agnes Hotel
St. Agnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Agnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
7.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 5 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rosemundy House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penkerris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penkerris

Property: Penkerris
Address: Penkerris Penwinnick Road | Cornwall, St Agnes TR5 0PA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > St Agnes
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in St Agnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Penkerris 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penkerris is an enchanting creeper clad Edwardian residence with a lawned garden and ample parking situated right on the edge of this unspoiled Cornish village. There are shops, delightful old pubs and several restaurants just around the corner. There are three lovely beaches, excellent for surfing, one with our beach hut, within walking distance. It is a "Home from Home" offering real food. Meals are served in the beautiful dining room. The lounge is bright and cosy with a log fire in winter. The lawn is fine for badminton; there are swings for the children, picnic tables and a barbecue. St Agnes is central for touring and is only 8 miles from Truro. There are frequent buses between St Agnes, Truro and Newquay. Penkerris is very easy to find. From the big roundabout on the A30 at Chiverton, take the B3277 to St Agnes (3m). Penkerris is just inside the village sign. We are pet and dog friendly. Prices From £25.00 Per person including breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Penkerris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penkerris St Agnes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing