We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm & friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beacon Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beacon Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St Agnes
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Warm & friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

What a find this hotel was! Lorena and John cannot do enough for you to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The hotel is spotlessly clean as was our room and bathroom. We had a large shower cubicle with toiletries and loved the huge bath towels perfect for the fuller figure!
Breakfast lovely and plentiful and no combination is too much trouble!
My only disappointment was we had to leave early as we would have loved more time here, I imagine the bar area/terrace to be a prefect setting for an evening glass of wine whilst enjoying a beautiful Cornish sunset!
Already looking at dates to return very soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hols4me22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    22
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
93
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel was booked out for a wedding party so the camaraderie was mighty. Service from Lorena, John and the staff was second to none. Breakfast was a special event. The bar was just one flight of stairs away so a minibar was unnecessary. The bed was a super king and very comfortable. We were sorry we only had the three days.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank btsatkaroshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent a weekend at Beacon House Hotel attending a wedding. Everything was great - our room was spotless, clean and well furnished, breakfast was tasty and plentiful, served in the dining room overlooking the surrounding countryside and the welcome from the owners John and Lorenna was outstanding. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted to tour this lovely part of Cornwall.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duckling41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hotel is spotless!!! It is as if every room has just been decorated and we are the first ones in. Everyone in our group ( which took over the whole hotel) said exactly the same! Nothing was too much trouble for John and Lorenna. We were all treated like very special guests!! The food was excellent and delivered by wonderful staff. We cannot praise them enough! Great place and great people !!! A winner !!!!

Room Tip: I don't think you could go wrong in any room. Views are amazing even when it's raining !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jude59595959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Great welcome back. Lorena, John, Jo & company go out of their way to make guests feel at home. The rooms are immaculate & comfortable, the food is good & plentiful and nothing is too much trouble. The location is ideal for touring and the nearby coastal scenery is stunning. We had a great time in spite of the weather! John kept promising an improvement but was unable to fulfil his promise! So be it -that's Cornwall!! Thanks & good wishes for a great season.

Room Tip: They are all fine but, if you want to spoil yourself, pay a bit extra for a Superior Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Padwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Devon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have just returned from our third visit to this excellent hotel. There can be no better recommendation than a return visit and that was the case with every single couple there during our stay this time. The hospitality and location make this a perfect location to visit Cornwall - which is definitely open for business. The food is excellent, the decor tasteful, the hotel spotless, the surroundings beautiful and the hospitality impossible to beat. We intend to return for a fourth visit in due course!

Room Tip: They are all excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastDevonVulpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and agree with the previous comments. We thought that this small hotel was quite exceptionally welcoming, comfortable and memorable. We have rarely enjoyed a short break more than this and a good deal of that is because of the very special hospitality that John, Lorenna & their family show to their guests. How wonderful to experience the expertise, imagination and commitment of a family run enterprise managed with such style. Bravo!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Agnes
0.5 mi away
St. Agnes Hotel
St. Agnes Hotel
#2 of 4 in St Agnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Driftwood Spars B & B
7.8 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Rosemundy House Hotel
9.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Country House Hotel

Property: Beacon Country House Hotel
Address: Goonvrea Road, St Agnes TR5 0NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Agnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St Agnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beacon Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Beacon Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Country Hotel
Beacon Country House Hotel St Agnes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing