We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
203
29
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
203
29
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nothing is too much trouble new owners rolling countryside small hotel friendly hotel superb stay breakfast and dinner room was spotless st ives no hesitation in recommending fresh fish night stay cooked breakfast stayed for nights a lovely place to stay country house long weekend
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2019

We were looking for a hotel to serve as our base for our three day exploration of Cornwall. This country house worked well. It is not on the water, but the views of the rolling countryside are lovely from the dining room. This is a small family run hotel...and this translates to personal service. For example our daughter had her own room and had begun a special diet that includes a veggie smoothie for breakfast. The owner, Nigel, arranged to have the kitchen prepare this for her each morning. Nigel and Jayne also gave us good recommendations including a nice water's edge pub for dinner one night. Lovely people. Very quiet. A place to relax.

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaconHotelStAgnes, Owner at Beacon Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2019

Dear David

Thank you for your kind review. We are please you all enjoyed your short stay in Cornwall and got to visit some of the local places. We look forward to welcoming you again next time you are in Cornwall. regards Nigel, Jayne, Sam, Alice and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2019 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for four nights and felt very welcome right from the start. The hotel has a lovely friendly atmosphere with a relaxed communal sitting room, modern and clean dining area and great staff.

The room we stayed in was comfy and had all the usual conveniences; kettle, hairdryer, WiFi, etc.

It’s in a very convenient location for the walks and beaches along the north coast too. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaconHotelStAgnes, Owner at Beacon Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2019

Dear David

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Beacon and hope to welcome you again next time you are down in Cornwall. Regards Nigel, Jayne, Sam, Alice and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2019

This was our fourth stay at the Beacon, this time under new managment. We expected changes - we were wrong. The new owners, Nigel and Jayne have perfectly maintained the same warm, friendly and relaxed vibe that was such a feature of this hotel. The service is informal yet very efficient, the rooms are spotless and, of course, the fabulous views from this outstanding location will never change. For us it's the perfect base to explore this part of Cornwall.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RogandTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaconJo, Manager at Beacon Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2019

Thank you for your kind words and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your break again down in Cornwall. We hope to see you again. Nigel & Jayne and the Team at the Beacon Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2019 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights over the Bank Holiday weekend and really enjoyed it. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming the whole time! The room was big and comfortable (with nice views over the countryside) and the garden is so pretty. Breakfasts are good, and we had dinner one night which was tasty too.

St Agnes is a cute place and you can walk down to the beach in about 20 minutes. There are some cute bars down there (one has a terrace right on the sea). You can also walk up to the Beacon in about 10 minutes and have great 360 views across Cornwall and out to sea.

Easy to drive around Cornwall from here, too.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank something_similar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2019

Been 4 or 5 times, nothing much changes except for redecorating. A really 'Family run' hotel. Small, quiet, excellent location, very good food & rooms. All the staff, mainly the family, make everyone welcome, nothing is too much trouble and their attitude is friendly, relaxed & courteous. If you want lots of activities & a bustling environment, don't come here but, if you want a quiet, relaxed stay with excellent facilities, food & rooms, in a tranquil location, this is the place for you. Many thanks to John, Loreena & family, hope to see you next year. Yvonne & Pat.

Room tip: First floor rooms have better views, most ot the countrside, some of sea as well.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Padwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaconJo, Owner at Beacon Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2019

Hi Patrick!

Thanks so much for your lovely review! It was brilliant to see you both again. I always love that you notice that we have decorated!

See you again,

Thanks,

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews