We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
donna may j
Couples quiet restful weekend
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Feb 2024
Wonderful restful break we stayed at Wheal Coates shepherd hut with hot tub , weather was awful but we still made full use of the tub , inside the hut was lovely and cosy , extremely well furnished, and spotlessly clean , bed was very comfy wouldn't hesitate to stay here again , Nigel greeted us on arrival and couldn't do enough for us , excellent weekend all round , we will be back soon
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Vio.com
0.6 miles from Beacon Country House Hotel & Luxury Shepherd Huts
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £191
  • Priceline
1.0 miles from Beacon Country House Hotel & Luxury Shepherd Huts
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.0 miles from Beacon Country House Hotel & Luxury Shepherd Huts
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.7 miles from Beacon Country House Hotel & Luxury Shepherd Huts
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.6 miles from Beacon Country House Hotel & Luxury Shepherd Huts
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
2.2 miles from Beacon Country House Hotel & Luxury Shepherd Huts
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
2.2 miles from Beacon Country House Hotel & Luxury Shepherd Huts
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.9 miles from Beacon Country House Hotel & Luxury Shepherd Huts
Booking.com
    2.3 miles from Beacon Country House Hotel & Luxury Shepherd Huts
    Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Official Site
      £138
    • eDreams
    1.9 miles from Beacon Country House Hotel & Luxury Shepherd Huts
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in St Agnes
    Reviews (325)
    Filter reviews
    325 results
    Traveller rating
    285
    34
    5
    1
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    285
    34
    5
    1
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews nothing is too much trouble hotel is spotless rolling countryside family run hotel self catering apartment local walks breakfast and evening meal st ives coastal walk cream tea country house stayed for nights home away from home relaxing break excellent hosts lounge area couple of nights
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    3 - 8 of 325 reviews
    Reviewed 3 December 2023 via mobile

    Excellent - attended a titanic murder mystery with my friend. What a fabulous time, nothing was too much trouble. The food was delicious. Best roast potatoes I think I’ve ever had in my life. The breakfast was absolutely delicious also. The hotel was lovely and warm, lovely view out of the bedroom window! Would definitely recommend

    Date of stay: November 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank sparklytoaster
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Nigel James, Owner at Beacon Country House Hotel & Luxury Shepherd Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2023

    Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review and we are so pleased you both enjoyed your stay with us and the Murder Mystery Event at the Beacon Hotel. It was a pleasure welcoming you both and we look forward to seeing you again next time you fancy a break away. Kind Regards Nigel, Jayne, Sam, Alice, Gary and Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 November 2023

    With family we enjoyed a murder mystery evening. It was professional and absolutely fantastic.
    Whatsmore the facilities in the hotel were second to none. The rooms were clean bright and cheerful and the bed extremely comfortable. Jayne and Gary hosts of the hotel l met were extremely accommodating friendly and frankly made our stay happy and relaxing. And ohhh l nearly forgot to highly recommend the high standard of meals provided. A most enjoyable evening. Don’t miss the experience.

    Room tip: Don’t miss this hotel
    Date of stay: November 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank tedthehorse
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Nigel James, Owner at Beacon Country House Hotel & Luxury Shepherd Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2023

    Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review and we are so pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us and the Murder Mystery Event at the Beacon Hotel. It was a pleasure welcoming you all and we look forward to seeing you again next time you fancy a break away. Kind Regards Nigel, Jayne, Sam, Alice, Gary and Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 November 2023 via mobile

    I have passed this place countless times over the years. I only live six miles away and after our one night stay last night I’ve realised what a little Gem of a place it is.
    Excellent accommodation, clean spacious room with one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept on, and I’ve experienced a few!
    The food was excellent and the staff were extremely accommodating and attentive. It felt like being on holiday with old friends.

    Date of stay: November 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Roam50166514358
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Nigel James, Owner at Beacon Country House Hotel & Luxury Shepherd Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2023

    Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the Murder Mystery Event at the Beacon Hotel. It was a pleasure welcoming you both and we look forward to seeing you again next time you fancy a break away. Kind Regards Nigel, Jayne, Sam, Alice, Gary and Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 November 2023 via mobile

    Stayed here beginning of November. Was met by Nigel he was very friendly and check in was very efficient. He advised the hotel closes in November but he was available if we needed anything. We stayed in Wheal Premier Shepherd Hut with hot tub, all I can say is it was absolutely amazing, spotlessly clean. Fully equipped. The bed was so comfy weather was awful but inside the hut it was very snuggly and warm loved listening to the wind and rain outside! Amazing walks nearby. The village is in walkable distance too Would highly recommend staying here. We did not want to go home.

    Date of stay: November 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Kaz1130
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Nigel James, Owner at Beacon Country House Hotel & Luxury Shepherd Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2023

    Dear Karen. Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in our Shepherd Hut at the Beacon Hotel. It was a pleasure welcoming you both and we look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Cornwall, hopefully with better weather. Kind Regards Nigel, Jayne, Sam, Alice, Gary and Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 31 October 2023

    An outstanding example of a highly professional family run hotel. Rooms and facilities are impeccable, service/food superb. Hotel commands stunning views and is conveniently located within walking distance of beach and town.

    Date of stay: October 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank ian m
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Nigel James, Owner at Beacon Country House Hotel & Luxury Shepherd Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2023

    Dear Ian. Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay again with us at the Beacon Hotel. It was a pleasure welcoming you all and we look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Cornwall. Kind Regards Nigel, Jayne, Sam, Alice, Gary and Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews