We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Can't believe how far downhill the restaurant has gone” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Driftwood Spars B & B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Driftwood Spars B & B
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in St Agnes
Certificate of Excellence
Algarve
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Can't believe how far downhill the restaurant has gone”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We used to enjoy eating at the restaurant and having not been there to eat for a couple of years we looked forward to going back for the Sunday lunch which was always excellent. On walking in the restaurant seemed to have changed, it looked tired and more like a school canteen. We were left hanging around waiting to be seated for quite some time even though there were lots of staff and very few diners. The drinks took a long time and when they came they were wrong, the starters were okay but the veg with the main were overdone and nowhere near as nice as they used to be. The biggest problem (after the food) seemed to be a dis-organised group of young staff without any strong leadership. Having served only 4 of the 5 main courses and with no cutlery for us to eat, the waitress asked if we had everything we needed!

This place always used to be packed on a Sunday and it was not surprising that it was now half full given the change. The couple next to us had a catalogue of errors with their order and finally left without paying after a couple of mouthfuls of the main course as it was so bad.

Such a shame as we are unlikely now to go back having gone there for 15 years.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AW&LW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Manager at The Driftwood Spars B & B, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Thank you for your comments. As a business we have only just joined trip advisor so I was unable to respond to your comments until now. I am very sorry you had a negative experience dining with us. Since your visit we have improved staff training and always have a manager or shift supervisor working on every shift. Once again I thank you for your comments, as a business we can only improve with feedback from our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    94
    27
    31
    13
See reviews for
56
147
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
228 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

This is a nice pub in a lovely cove, almost right on the sea front. It serves great beer (they brew thei own) and the bar has a great atmosphere. However, we also visited for dinner one evening and went up to the restaurant, which by contrast had a quite formal feel (waitresses in uniform) and felt more like an old sea front hotel. The food was OK, but nothing special, which was a shame as the pub itself has such a great feel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trousers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed here a few times over twenty years ago, and after a short two night visit in June this year, we went back at the end of August for five nights. We loved the recent changes to the rooms and the relatively new restaurant area. The pub is almost exactly like it used to be, fine beer and wine, excellent food, good service by friendly staff.

We ate in the bar each night and some lunchtimes, and as we come from Brixham, we like eating fresh fish, although my wife is more experimental with other types of food. We had a wonderful holiday, and at all times the staff were very kind and helpful.

We've already booked a 3-for-2 weekend stay in November, and can't wait to get there.

Room Tip: Room five is quite small but faces away from the rising sun if that bothers you in the early morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrixhamImages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

St Agnes itself is lovely the walk down to the beach is great the driftwood from the outside is also great to look at,so we decided to go in for a drink and something to eat.There was 4 of us and we all had something different the food itself was awfull,i had ham eggs and chips the chips were cold the ham was cut so thick it was awfull the eggs were fine and that was all i could eat,my husband had fish and chips and yes chips were cold the other 2 meals were eatable but not to be rated.We stayed for another drink and in all that time nobody came to see if everthing was fine or even cleaed the plates away, They were still there when we left.The rating i have given is for the food only.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LeicestershireAnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level Contributor
187 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

My second visit to the Driftwood and once again Fab! The Driftwood beers are still superb and the "Craic" is as good as ever . If you want a fun place to go where you will meet young and old , locals & visitors , surfers & drinkers and you join in with ambience this is the place to be! If you want dullness , mediocrity & everything "just so" - try somewhere else! I might sound like a hell raising young surfer but actually I am officially now "an old fart" but still enjoy the craic with the best of them - and the beer!

Went with our two little Frenchie dogs who just love it there. Our food was also great - from a simple short menu , well cooked and nicely presented & served . Great Staff , Great Place , Great Fun - and very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank horacebull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimbledon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We have stayed at the Driftwood many times over the years , mainly as a family with young children and have always looked forward to our stay there . This year we had 3 nights in the family annex (room 10) over the road which has 2 bedrooms (1 double with new ensuite top of the range shower and basin and a second bedroom with 2 beds and a washbasin ) a bathroom with bath and shower attachment and a large living room with TV (terrestial channels only ) and 2 sofas plus an outside terrace with a sea view . This family annex is newly refurbished with new carpet , very comfortable beds , reliable wifi and they were happy put a spare mattress on the floor in the kids' room for our third son. Central heating is also reliable and efficient (unfortunately necessary to dry out from all the rain!!) .
I couldnt have asked for more as far as service goes , any problems were fixed immediately , staff were only too happy to store my 2 bicycles in a locked room for me and staff were generally friendly , attentive and accommodating . Breakfasts were of a good standard with ample portions and they do a great espresso .
Bar staff are (especially Ian) also friendly and will go out of their way to help with a smile.

We will keep coming back !!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindsayWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORNWALL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Had lunch at the Driftwood spars, the bread in the cornish cheese sandwich and onion chutney was slightly stale and un buttered whilst there was only a trace of chutney. The bar area had a most unpleasant odour of wet carpet, we were going to spend a night at the hotel but changed our minds.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
Thank JAZZCORNWALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Agnes
0.4 mi away
St. Agnes Hotel
St. Agnes Hotel
#2 of 4 in St Agnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beacon Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Rosemundy House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
7.9 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
7.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Driftwood Spars B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Driftwood Spars B & B

Property: The Driftwood Spars B & B
Address: 4 Trevaunance Close, St Agnes TR5 0SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Agnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in St Agnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Driftwood Spars B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Driftwood Spars B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Driftwood Spars Hotel St Agnes
The Driftwood Spars B & B St Agnes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing