We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Driftwood Spars B & B
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St Agnes
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I ate at Driftwood Spars on Saturday evening 6/01/13, I had the best Hallumi starter I have ever eaten it was on a salad with balsamic dressing with sun dried tomatoes and red peppers, very yummy. The John Dory was lovely and the crushed potatoes were lovely. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Manager at The Driftwood Spars B & B, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are very pleased you had a enjoyable meal with us at the Driftwood and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    104
    34
    32
    13
See reviews for
59
161
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shurlock Row, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Sayed here for a long weekend in November. Good comfortable functional rooms and lovely sea views. Excellent food. Friendly staff. The pub is warm & welcoming with a good selection of beer. Will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Manager at The Driftwood Spars B & B, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

A wonderful real ale pub, with a great atmosphere and food. The staff were really friendly, and recommended some good local brews (their own being particularly great). Great location near to the cove!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simon0573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Manager at The Driftwood Spars B & B, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed are real ales and look forward to welcoming you back to sample a few more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Our room was warm and comfortable and the food served in the upstairs bar was excellent.
Hotel is badly let down by very poor service at breakfast. Different waitress every day does not help. Breakfast food is of variable quality. One day waited 45 mins and then left without waiting for breakfast and all we asked for was toast!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melrose208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Manager at The Driftwood Spars B & B, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry you had a negative experience with breakfast during your stay. Since your visit we have tried to be more consistent with our waiting staff and have improved staff training for breakfast service. I hope this this not completely spoil your time with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

The guest info pack states that "The Driftwood Spars is many things but comes into its own as a pub" and this is certainly very true. The pub/bars are cosy and welcoming with log fires and lots of atmosphere. The staff are very pleasant and helpful, food of a reasonable standard, we were impressed with Fish Friday. However as a B&B it lacks a little attention to detail. On the first morning of our stay the breakfast waitress informed us that they had run out of baked beans!but offered to double up on one of the other breakast items as a substitute. On the second morning, there was no Granary bread,only white. On the third morning everything seemed to be ok, although very busy.
The accommodation was ok but nothing special.I cannot help thinking that with a little more thought,attention to detail and negligable extra cost the B&B could be so much better, but that said they seem to do a reasonably good trade with the accommodation. So why bother to go that extra mile and fold used guest towels in the bathroom, replace daily the flimsy disposable plastic beakers - (we had the same ones for three days) or remake the beds using the fancy cushions and decorative "trim" - (ours were just left in a heap on the stool) As I said just a little more thought and attention to detail. It's the little things that make a differance.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrhvic2ria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Manager at The Driftwood Spars B & B, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Thank you for your comments. As a business we have just joined trip advisor so I was unable to respond before. Since your stay we have appointed a breakfast chef who is responsible for ordering breakfast items however our bread is delivered fresh daily and due to circumstances beyond our control had not been delivered on time that particular morning. I have also passed your comments regarding attention to detail in our rooms to our head house keeper. Thanks once again for your comments as a business we can only improve with feedback from our customers. We hope to welcome you here again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We were told about The Driftwood Spars by our camp site manager. Its just down by the beach, right at the bottom of the hill leading down from St Agnes.

Nicely decorated inside, friendly staff and a great selection of ales both local and from elsewhere. They brew their own ales and we tried all four that where available during our stay over a few days. 3 out of 4 of them where great!!! Atmosphere in the pub on a Friday night was cool and with free wifi, we were able to organise/book the next leg of our journey. On both nights we were there, locals struck up friendly conversation with me and my wife. :)

We didn't eat from the restaurant or bar menu, but at a quick glance it was priced modestly and had a great selection of meals (even for vegetarians).

Will recommend this place to anyone that heads down to Cornwall.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbourne3056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Manager at The Driftwood Spars B & B, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Thank you for your comments. I look forward to welcoming you to the Driftwood spars in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed many times over the last 6 years, staff always friendly, food good, beer great. We stayed before we had kids and had two dogs, then stayed several times since the kids along...always made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattcollyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Manager at The Driftwood Spars B & B, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you to the Driftwood for the next 6 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Agnes
0.9 mi away
Beacon Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
St. Agnes Hotel
St. Agnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Agnes
212 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
854 reviews
14.5 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
6.0 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Driftwood Spars B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Driftwood Spars B & B

Property: The Driftwood Spars B & B
Address: 4 Trevaunance Close, St Agnes TR5 0SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > St Agnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St Agnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Driftwood Spars B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Driftwood Spars B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Driftwood Spars Hotel St Agnes
The Driftwood Spars B & B St Agnes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing