We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Driftwood Spars

Driftwood Spars
Ranked #5 of 27 Restaurants in St Agnes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$18
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Groups, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a pub that offers food, B & B and live music, we also host conferences, weddings & beer festivals. Postcode TR5 0RT
Malmesbry
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Visited for lunch a couple of weeks ago. The pub was quite busy, but the staff were very pleasant and welcoming!
I ordered chicken wrapped in pancetta from the specials board which wasn't brilliant. The sauce was incredibly peppery, totally overpowering. It was served with roast potatoes - most we're undercooked whilst one was so firm, I couldn't get a knife through it!
My sister ordered mussels, which were lovely, big specimens sadly floating in a thin, grey liquid, with again pepper as it's only flavour.
My husband ordered Hake, which he said was fine though again the potatoes were completely undercooked.
Despite the position I don't think we'd return or recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    130
    36
    22
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“What a poor experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This used to be a 'must go to' pub every time we visited St. Agnes, several times a year.
Not only did it lack its usual buzz but the bar staff were surly, disinterested and just plain rude. On a clear warm day the place was hardly busy.
The recommended fish and chips - type of fish undisclosed but on asking when served, was whiting. I have never seen whiting on sale anywhere. It can hardly be considered an expected or favourite choice when the sea is just 100 yards away. It all lacked crispness and served without presentation either on the plate or by the staff.
Oh dear! We'll think twice before seeing whether we were just unlucky or if things really have slipped.
Maybe we'll have the fish and chips from across the road at Josh Lucy's place and drink the local beer in the pub, with a tolerant smile will be the way forward.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank normalguy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
133 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Restaurant or Bar = Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Made 3 visits to the Driftwood Spars during our week in St Agnes.
A lunch in the bar of tasty mackerel was good.
A dinner in the bar of the night special of hake was so good that everybody in the bar was ordering it (& universally loving it).
The 'wild' sea bass in the restaurant enormous & amazing as were the starters of scallops wrapped in bacon & octopus in paprika/chilli.
Friendly service & lovely surroundings wherever you are in the Driftwood Spars make it a great place to eat, or just drink! As Mrs Supernello found as she got attached to the 'Rattler' cider.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SUPERNELLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Impromptu lunch with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

They had been before and recommended we try it. The food was lovely and the non drivers enjoyed some of the local ale. We will be back :-)

Helpful?
Thank brightspark89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favourite pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

A very cosy pub in the best location. Food and drink tastes lovely and is very well priced. Friendly people and highly recommended!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Driftwood Spars also viewed

St Agnes, Cornwall
St Agnes, Cornwall
 
St Agnes, Cornwall
 

Been to Driftwood Spars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing