We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, bit pricey”
Review of Driftwood Spars

Driftwood Spars
Ranked #4 of 30 Restaurants in St Agnes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$18
Cuisines: British, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are a pub that offers food, B & B and live music, we also host conferences, weddings & beer festivals. Postcode TR5 0RT
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, bit pricey”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Really nice old english pub situated just off the beach. Good food if a tad on the expensive side, but the ambience of the pub is worth a bit more.

Helpful?
1 Thank musickatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    146
    40
    24
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A great old pub and interesting ales.”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

As part of a works bash some of us were booked into this hotel (not me) and we managed a few pints in the evening. Probably later than they would have liked to stay open but they served us with good grace. The range of beers great. There are the usual options of Tribute and Boom Bar but also a couple of their own brews. We also had lunch there the following day and the food was very good and again the service exemplary.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Owner at Driftwood Spars, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Really glad you enjoyed our beers. We take a lot of time & care over keeping our beers in top condition and our brewer is rather good too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Bulging with character”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Driftwood sits close to the beach and is pretty popular with tourists, so gets a bit busy sometimes, but it is really nice and worth the effort. They always have a terrific selection of beers, some from the micro brewery opposite, and they are well kept.

Staff can be a bit variable, most are great fun and have a laugh, but a couple can be a bit surly and don't seem to want to be there. We've eaten there a couple of times too, and for pub food its good, but nothing special, and a bit on the pricey side.

Great place to have a boozy relaxing afternoon and evening!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly Cornish Pub”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Called in to the Driftwood Spars for a quick drink after a fleeting visit to St Agnes. Lovely friendly atmosphere in this traditional Cornish Pub. The bar area is quite dark but this just adds to its ambience and character. We just wish we had had more time to spend there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janibam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Pleasant if a tad expensive”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The best bit first. Fantastic beer, some of which is home brewed. I had a pint of heavy which at 7.2 ABV isn't for the faint hearted or for drivers. Magnificent. We booked a table for the evening which was a wise thing to do. There are several places to eat here including a separate fish bistro open Weds to Sun. We ate in the bar as it had a really nice pub atmosphere. Food was Ok but lacked that "bit extra" which would have done justice to the establishment itself. Bar staff very helpful and professional. I personally thought a couple of the hotel side staff might have been a little more interactive. Worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank THATFOODIEMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Driftwood Spars also viewed

St Agnes, Truro District
St Agnes, Truro District
 
St Agnes, Truro District
St Agnes, Truro District
 

Been to Driftwood Spars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing