We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, clean spacious apartment ..ideal”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Barneycot

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Cliff path from Trevaunance towards Trevellas Porth
hang gliders at Wheal Coates
Chapel Porth
Chapel Porth
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Agnes, Truro District, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mandUk
uk
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely, clean spacious apartment ..ideal”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay in a lovely apartment with outdoor seating. The location is
Probably the best in st Agnes being near the village and restaurants and only ten minute
Walk to the cove. Uphill coming back but we got used to it and isn't as far as you think, then
At least you can enjoy a drink in schooners or the driftwood. Also the apartment has everything you need, plenty of hot water and comfy beds. Parking. The owners live next door
And are on hand if need be, but they never bother you. We would definitely return ..

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinamorri...
tinamorrin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 3 nights while on a visit to my nephew and wife in St.Agnes. What a lovely apartment Caroline and Adrian have. It's perfect for four people. And it's spotlessly clean.nice little touches around the place. Its in a perfect location across from the Taphouse restaurant which serves lovely food at a good price. You also must try the Aggie pub which is also quite near. St. Agnes is a lovely place to visit and we will return and we most certainly be booking Barneycot for our stay. Thanks again to Caroline and Adrian for your nice warm welcome.

The Irish clan

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy2306
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our home from home.”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Barneycot for Easter week, and booked in for the same week next year before we left - we've since booked another week in September next year too!
The owners Caroline and Adrian are warm and welcoming, they have fantastic local knowledge and always have recommendations and suggestions for places to visit (and in our case, the best places to eat!) The apartment is attached to their home, and they set a perfect balance of making sure you know they are around if you need them, but not being intrusive.
The apartment is clean, comfortable and thoughtfully equipped (not least with home-made cakes and scones as baked by Caroline!) There was a lovely welcome letter offering the loan of other home/kitchen items should you find that there is something missing from the apartment - although I think you would be hard pressed to do so!
Barneycot is in a good location, set back a little from the main street so it is quiet and gives the feeling of being tucked away, but is only a few minutes walk from a beautiful beach, gorgeous cliff top trails and numerous bars, cafes and shops.
I am sure Barneycot will be our retreat for many years to come.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLW73
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A gem. Immaculate, comfortable appartment in peaceful village location”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We've just come back from our third stay in Barneycot and now couldn't imagine being anywhere else to enjoy the gorgeous local surroundings. The apartment isn't vast, but it's brilliantly thought out for adults and children. It feels both light and airy and also cosy in the evenings. The details make it so lovely to return to; the plate of homemade cakes on arrival, the piping hot shower, the spotless kitchenette, the pretty terrace. Not to forget the lovely owners who are always happy to advise on everything from which coastal walks to take to which restaurant has had a fresh delivery of lobster that day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Impressed by impeccable furnishing and kitchen
Liked least: that we couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinkerbel...
Banbury
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic, stylish and extremely comfortable accommodation!”
Reviewed 11 June 2013 for a stay in November 2012

We stayed at Barneycot last year and had a great time. The accommodation is stylish in presentation and very comfortable - we were made to feel very welcome by the owners.

the village is gorgeous and perfect for a 'get away from it all' break - a very short walk has you on the very pretty beach and there are plenty of walks to be had! a very picturesque area.

All in all, cannot recommend highly enough - brilliant accommodation for a delightful cornish escape - go for it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Style of property, comfort and cleanliness
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay J
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, friendly, creative, private, wonderful, great local food and beer.”
Reviewed 29 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Barneycot is a very comfortable apartment. My husband and I stayed with 2 friends , and we had the best experience. Caroline and Adrian are so friendly, they make you feel very welcome, and let you know you can call on them if you want help, advice or local knowledge, without invading your privacy.
The locals are very welcoming, the pubs are great , the beer is very clean ( our friends were in the trade ), and there is great food to be had. I recommend The Taphouse for food, and The Peterville and St Agnes Hotel for drinks and banter.
Also, the local fish and chip shop is excellent, along with the local butcher, general store, bakery....we couldn`t fault St Agnes at all ... we loved it , and will definitely return, and have recommended Barneycot to everyone we know. Now dogs are allowed, that is the icing on the cake. Which brings me on to Caroline`s " Welcome to our apartment cake !!!!" YUMMY !
We also highly HIGHLY recommend doing Caroline`s jewellery workshop. What a fun - filled day that was ! We wear our rings with pride ( actually , we show them off as we can`t believe we actually made them ourselves !)
With 3 beaches to choose from, I can`t think of anywhere better !
Kay Jackson

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy bed and pillows away from home ! What a rarity !
Liked least: Leaving !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan S
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Compact, but well equipped accommodation in a great location”
Reviewed 8 May 2013 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Although compact, the space is used wisely which made the flat a comfortable base for 2 adults and 2 young children. The open plan lounge / kitchen area is well equipped and tastefully decorated. The owners clearly take pride in presenting the flat in a very clean and well maintained standard. Situated in the centre of St Agnes local amenities are close at hand and there are numerous options for interesting coastal walks.
St Agnes has several options for eating out and the beach is a short (but steep) walk away.
We would book this accommodation again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard / condition of accommodation & location
Liked least: Kitchen / dinning area quite small
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing