We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lewsey Lou's

Lewsey Lou's
Ranked #21 of 27 Restaurants in St Agnes
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Not sure what some of the other reviewers are talking about, maybe they are used to the rubbish that is served elsewhere. If you want a proper fish and chips this is the place to go! Great, fresh fish, decent salad and delicious chips that don't look like they've been served straight out of a supermarket packet or over the counter of a fast food chain. The grilled fish is especially tasty with a Driftwood brewed beer.

Very friendly service and very accommodatingly cooked our dinner ready to be picked up at 8 so we could have a drink at the pub first.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    28
    13
    11
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Chips ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Today we visited 'Lewsey Lou's' fish and chip shop in St Agnes for the first, but not last time.. We had the very best chips we have ever eaten.. Cooked to order, whole potato chips (skins on), then to make the whole experience even better, they were served in a recycled environmentally friendly box. Delicious. We will be back soon to try the fish, if the chips are anything to go by it will be wonderful..

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fish takeaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Lewsey Lou's is much more than the average fish & chip shop. As an alternative to standard cod & chips they serve freshly grilled local fish served with an imaginative choice of sauces. Our meal of grilled fish, Thai sauce, mushy peas and sauté potatoes was excellent and well worth paying a bit extra for. Lewsey Lou's is great for coeliacs and people who need a gluten-free diet as grilled fish are available as an alternative to battered. I'll definitely be returning next time I visit Cornwall!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not nice at all. they serve wedges not chip. & very very expensive for what it is”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

fish & chips not nice, very expensive for what it is. fish small aswell, for what we paid for, should of been a lot bigger.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank trevchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fish & chips to dream of”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

I'm not a big fan of British cuisine (sorry!) but I do crave Lewsey Lou's fish&chips half a year later. Walking on the coast path from Perranporth to St Aggie, it was a well deserved lunch and perfect with the lemony tartar sauce. Divine! I'm going back next summer, that's for sure.

Helpful?
Thank BeeJay_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lewsey Lou's also viewed

St Agnes, Cornwall
St Agnes, Cornwall
 

Been to Lewsey Lou's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing