We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay in a brilliant location!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 2 Stippy Stappy

No. 2 Stippy Stappy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
No. 2 Stippy Stappy
Front garden of No. 2 Stippy Stappy Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
No. 2 Stippy Stappy
Front garden of No. 2 Stippy Stappy
Kitchen
sitting room
sitting room
dining area
bathroom
bathroom
bathroom
Master bedroom of No. 2 Stippy Stappy
Master bedroom of No. 2 Stippy Stappy
Master bedroom of No. 2 Stippy Stappy
Twin bedroom of No. 2 Stippy Stappy
Twin bedroom of No. 2 Stippy Stappy
Enclosed private and safe garden of No. 2 Stippy Stappy
Front garden of No. 2 Stippy Stappy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Agnes, Truro District, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Coastal71...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay in a brilliant location!”
Reviewed 14 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This is our second stay at 2 Stippy Stappy. As previously, it was perfectly clean and welcoming. The trees that line the path directly outside the cottage that leads to the beach have been cleared to make it even easier to access Trevanance Cove. There is new furniture in the garden which is a bit of a sun trap and a tv / dvd to entertain the kids. We used some of the excellent local guidebooks and maps provided in the cottage to do several walks in and around the area, both towards the beacon and along the cliffs. Driftwood Spars down at the cove has great beers brewed by themselves which are worth tasting in detail! Also recommended is the Cornish Pizza Company. We will definitely return to the cottage in the future and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere with contemporary decor in a traditional fisherman’s cottage setting.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal71...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant stay at stippy stappy!”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A fantastic place to stay for the family! The place was perfectly clean and ready for our arrival. Brand new kitchen and lovely decor shows that the owner has great taste and has combined this with a homely feel. The beach is a short walk down the path outside the house to the cove and there are plenty of breathtaking walks in the area. The village is great with plenty of places to eat and drink. We would highly recommend staying here and will definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2017
So glad you had a great holiday, we really appreciate your time writing a review and look forward to welcoming you back to Stippy Stappy soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowdenboy
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“NICE NAME - NICE PLACE”
Reviewed 1 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and myself, both in our 60's, stayed at 2 Stippy Stappy in the last week of June 2017. It was the first time we have visited this area so we were unsure what to expect.
The Grade 2 listed cottage is clean, well equipped and has a number of "little touches" from the owner to ensure you have a pleasant visit.
St. Agnes is a picturesque Cornish village with a good variety of shops, restaurants, coffee shops, take-aways and pubs.
As previous reviews allude to, this is a nice comfortable property to stay in and we only had one problem with the cottage itself in connecting to the WiFi. The information book in the cottage incorrectly lists a BT router & password but in fact the router is a Vodafone one with the password on the back of the unit. As "non-techies" we were on the verge of contacting the owner when we eventually sorted it out.
Also worth mentioning is the position of the cottage for access and car parking. It is positioned about 100 yards down a steep hill - Town Hill - and Stippy Stappy with its 9 cottages is actually a very steep footpath off this road. People with limited mobility problems take note.
We had difficulty with car parking near the cottage. There is room for 4 cars only to park on Town Hill opposite the cottages but unfortunately we were unsuccessful in being able to park there during the whole week. Any attempt we made to "temporarily" park outside these spaces for loading/unloading only led to obstructing and therefore annoying drivers and pedestrians. To check if any of the spaces are available you are in the one-way system down the hill - if none are free you are forced to carry on down to the bottom to see if there is any street parking down there - and then a steep walk back up. If there are no spaces there - you end up back in the one-way system around the village to check for spaces in the centre which we found to be very "hit and miss". After a while, we gave up on this looping around and simply parked in the central car park (honesty box in operation) about 5 minutes walk away.
If it is a necessity for you to have your vehicle parked close to this property then you may have a problem here.
The above said, we enjoyed our week in this cottage with all St. Agnes and the local area had to offer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2017
Hi, thank you so much for your review. Apologies re the wifi passcode, we changed service providers the week prior to your visit and completely forgot to change the passcode in the information book. Really helpful of you to point this out - I will get it changed immediately, thank you.

I'm sorry you didn't manage to park easily or secure temporary parking. I am aware one of the cottages is having some building work done with likely building vans there. The majority of the time it is fine but like many cottages in the village we do not have a private designated parking space.

We recommend parking in Trevaunce road if you are unable to secure a space. This is just around the corner and always has plenty of roadside spaces. This is closer than the main village car park. Luckily our cottage is at the top of the Stippy Stappy row and therefore less than 20 yards from street parking.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we really appreciate your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally H
Northwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A relaxing, cosy stay”
Reviewed 14 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had a really enjoyable stay at 2 Stippy Stappy. It was really well maintained, very clean and had all the equipment and facilities needed for a relaxing holiday. It is a unique cottage that has quite a modern feel inside but manages to keep its special features. There a also few special little touches that make it feel friendly, for example we had a fresh vase of daffodils sitting on the dinning table which smelt really nice on our arrival. Sarah was very friendly and helpful, and was very swift with correspondence.
The cottage was well situated between shops, eating places and the beach, none of which were more than a few minutes walk away. We enjoyed daily walks to the beach and visited several of the local pubs. We especially liked the Driftwood Spars, which served really good food, and ales. It also accepts children and dogs.
We would definitely recommend this to others. Thank you for a really relaxing stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katoxbroa...
Merthyr Tydfil
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage ”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I'm writing this on the last night of our holiday as we head home very happy and very relaxed. We've had a wonderful week in Stippy Stappy and cannot wait to return. We have stayed near St Agnes before but have loved being in the village and within walking distance of the shops, pubs and the beach.
We have eaten out at a number of local places and would recommend all of them. All the places we ate were very welcoming and the food delicious.
As for Stippy Stippy, we have fallen in love with this wonderful cottage. It has everything you need for a lovely, comfortable holiday and i cannot recommend it highly enough. We very much hope to return one summer

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2016
So lovely to read you have had a good stay and thank you for your very positive comments. We are really pleased you had a good week in St Agnes - it is perfect any time of the year. Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Stippy Stappy and we really look forward to welcoming you again. Thanks also for taking the time to share your thoughts online. Safe journey home today, Best Wishes Sarah and Steven
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect cottage in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second time we have stayed at this delightful cottage and thoroughly enjoyed both stays. The cottage has been equipped to a very high standard. The kitchen and bathroom all seem to be brand new, including all the pots and pans etc. The garden is a little sun trap and we enjoyed having BBQ's out there.

The bedrooms were very comfortable and the level of detail across the cottage is just so welcoming. We have a small toddler which we told the owners ahead of arriving, and a cot and high chair were left on arrival. The owner was very helpful and genuinely wanted to ensure we had a nice stay.

The cottage itself is located right in the heart of St Agnes which is an up market cornish village. Heading into the village you have pubs, restaurants and coffee shops, a bakery and local fruit and veg shops. Head down the hill and you are less than a 10 min walk to the beach, great for surfing and kids. Again lovely places to eat and drink along the way. We hardly felt the need to get in the car once as everything is on the door step. We hope to return again next year as its such a stunning cottage, in a prime location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The furnishing are lovely, location ideal with everything on your door step
Liked least: The walk up the hill from the beach. Although a beer at Genki is rewarding!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robday
Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautifully equipped little cottage”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is our third stay at No 2. It was great on our first two visits, it's even better now after a bit of a refurb. No 2 is centrally situated in St Agnes close to the bakery (100 yds) which sells authentic Cornish Pasties. There are close by a pub, little supermarket which caters for all your needs, fish and chip shop, fresh fruit and veg shop, pizza shop, 1st class butchers and many more independently owned craft and art shops. Two great coffee shops, Genki on the way to the beach and a new one called the Sorting Office up town. All within 5 minutes walk.
Great places to eat at the Driftwood Spars pub down at the cove with its own micro brewery, The speciality beer being Alfie's Revenge. Also the Taphouse centrally situated for great fish dishes. We spent a lot of time walking on the South West footpath which has fantastic coastal views which ever way you go. We also had a day in Truro with its fine Cathedral only 8 miles away. The cottage also has fast wii if a great tv with CD player and blue tooth speaker which we paired with our smartphone to play our music. I can go on and on about how good No 2 and St Agnes is we will be back again cos there is still so much to do and see. Did I mention the 1st class surfing at the safe and life saver controlled beach, great to watch even if you don't surf.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Closeness of all amenities and quality of cottage furnishings and decor.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing