We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half Term Fun in St Agnes”
Review of St. Agnes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Agnes Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in St Agnes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at the St Agnes Hotel for 4 nights over half term with our two little boys and had a fantastic time.St Agnes is an honest and thriving Cornish village and the Aggie Hotel reflects this perfectly. Bill, Di and all their staff go out of their way to make you feel at home and are always friendly, cheerful and welcoming. We stayed in the Family Room which was great - spotlessly clean and neat - really comfortable and plenty of storage even with all the winter clobber that comes with a family of 4...! i have heard of reviews that called this room a broom cupboard. That is ridiculous - if you are looking for 4 star luxury , then this is not for you and the prices reflect that . If you want an unpretentious, comfortable, clean place to stay that's warm and friendly- then give it a go. Breakfasts were delicious although it might be nice to have some fruit and yoghurt on the breakfast bar too sometimes...? In fact - we ate at the hotel every night and the food was great and good value.
We had a great time and will definitely be coming back ... SOON!!! Thanks for everything Bill and Di .

Room Tip: rooms at the front do have a nice view of the church .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABDBtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed in the St Agnes Hotel at the end of our week away to stay in the middle of a village with some evening venues as we had been in a quiet lodge for the 5 days prior to our stay. We were not let down, the hotel has a very lovely and lively atmosphere and is in the middle of town and only a short walk to other restaurants and shops, rather a steep hill though, but not as bad as it looks. We had intended to go out to other restaurants during our stay but the restaurant in the St Agnes provided excellent meals and we had both our evenings out there. Lovely thanks to all.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front may have a nicer view of the church, not sure if the bells, if chimed, would wake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Booked a table for two here to enjoy good food and watch England qualify for World Cup. We both had Cornish haddock, bubble and squeak, poached egg and Hollandaise sauce and it was superb. My wife then had home made sticky toffee pudding with ice cream which she said was light and delicious. I had apple pie with ice cream and clotted cream which was excellent.
PS The football was good too!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We have stayed around St Agnes for the last three years and only just got round to having a meal at the St Agnes Hotel, wish we'd done it sooner, always sat outside for a drink. Not only do they welcome dogs (and we had two) most of Cornwall seem to.

We are meat lovers and we enjoyed two of the BEST, cooked to perfection steaks, that we have ever tasted and we look forward to our return next year. Very friendly staff with Bill in charge.
Jan & Steve Exeter

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank 7stevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

If your thinking of visiting Cornwall then head for St Agnes Hotel in St Agnes!

Staying there was more like a week with friends as it was so relaxing, All the staff including the hosts Bill & his charming wife Di were extremely hospitable looking after our every needs.

After visiting many hotels in Cornwall this was our first time in St Agnes, The Hotel was in the centre of the village overlooking a beautiful 200 year old church.

The St Agnes Hotel was just what we were looking for, full of character, delightful rooms (Wi-Fi & sky TV included) with a beautiful restaurant (excellent variety of food), a very welcoming Bar area, with the benefit of a lovely seated garden area(at the rear of the hotel) to enjoy a drink in the sun.

Whilst staying at St Agnes the hosts Bill & Di were more than pleased in helping us arrange various trips around the area, including a wonderful 3 hour fishing trip from Falmouth (which I would highly recommend). They even cooked in the evening for us the fish that we caught !

All in all a fantastic experience, both myself and my wife will defiantly be going back again in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Without the situation described below, I would have given this hotel 3 stars. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are okay. However, the first floor landing and stairs are shabby and smell of dog and something else not easily identifiable. The reception area is also very messy.

However, the reason for giving one star is because on our third night we were locked out of the hotel, and that I would say is worth a low score on its own. At no time were we told we needed a front/rear key or offered one or told that there would be a lock-up time. We returned at about five minutes past midnight on a Sunday to find the place locked up and in darkness. We rang the doorbell and phoned - could hear their phone ringing but no one picked up. (The managers live in the hotel). We'd been in a restaurant just up the road and did not have coats with us. In desperation, I banged on the front door and fortunately, a guest heard us and opened his window to see what was going on. He kindly got dressed and came down to let us in.

The next morning, unusually and perhaps suspiciously, the manager and his wife were not around. When we paid at check-out, we told the assistant what had happened to us. She apologised but, rather worryingly, said the hotel owners had been told about this before! She said she would inform the managers of our experience.

However, back at home, we didn't receive any message or call from the hotel. I emailed the manager to explain what had happened, in case he hadn't been informed, and to suggest he sort out a proper system for guests' keys. He did not reply. The way I think about this is, if I was manager and two of my guests nearly had to spend the night outside my hotel, I would be mortified, then do everything I could to make amends with them, as well as immediately put in place a proper key system so that it doesn't happen again. I wouldn't just ignore the problem and hope it goes away. And hope it doesn't turn up as a bad review on Tripadvisor.

So, in summary, if you're thinking of staying at this hotel, while it's perfectly okay in most respects, please bear in mind that the management do not appear to have their guests' best interests and safety at heart. And, whatever you do, make sure you get a key from them before going out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank OnSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Sadly we only stayed 1 night but will definitely be back. This place right in the centre of Aggie is full of character. All of the staff were so welcoming and we were lucky to have a family room for the 2 of us. Room 1 is lovely. Loads of space and unlike many family rooms where bunk beds are squashed in this has 2 single beds plus the double. The whole room feels well put together and we had the best nights sleep ever! The room also had sky sports and wifi both of which pleased my husband! Breakfast was really lovely in a lovely characterful breakfast room. All in all a fab relaxed place. Don't miss it if your visiting st agnes or this area. Ps it's also dog friendly!

Room Tip: Ps it doesn't have a swimming pool but I couldn't figure out how to remove my rating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Agnes
0.4 mi away
The Driftwood Spars B & B
0.7 mi away
Beacon Country House Hotel
7.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,285 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
6.8 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Agnes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Agnes Hotel

Address: 11 Churchtown, St Agnes TR5 0QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > St Agnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in St Agnes
Price Range: £90 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Agnes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1750's Building with loads of character with 6 ensuite rooms serving great food every day and evening in our Restaurant or in the Bar area also on our sun deck or if you just like to people watch on our tables at the front. Regular live music and a monthly quiz for a fun night. Now have Sky Sports and Movies in all rooms as well as on our Big Screen for special events. Beach within walking distance, Bill the landlord actually walks Bear our Labrador pup there every morning. Ideal for walkers, surfers and family. We are noted for being Dog & Children friendly and have been acclaimed for having the best Sunday Lunch in the County ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St. Agnes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Agnes Hotel St Agnes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing