We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FRIENDLY HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rosemundy House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St Agnes
Certificate of Excellence
preston lancashire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“FRIENDLY HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Yet another enjoyable stay at the rosemundy.The food was still at a good standard.My only fault was that on one night I asked if I could have the roast but with the salad bar as i had been on the salad most nights.( I was bluntly told that was not allowed) Apart from that I couldnt complain as the rest of the staff were really friendly and helpful.Even on the night I asked if i could have some fresh fruit instead of the desert.
Standards everywhere else was to a very high standard that I have gotten use to from this friendly and hospitable hotel.
If staying in this part of the world the hotel is in a great location for getting round Cornwall.St Agnus is just a short walk but the area is hilly for some beware.
Its not every hotel that has croquet on the lawn and the pool is refreshing after a hard day sight seeing.Would I recommend this hotel the answer would be YES 100% even if it ruins the chance for me to keep it a lovely little hide away.I cant wait to get sent there again looking forward to it

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevethecoachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    39
    14
    10
    1
See reviews for
28
43
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whickham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Spent seven days at this hotel recently and had no complaints.

We arrived two hours late due to a mechanical problem with the coach but were wecolmed by Sharon and her staff and nothing was too much trouble for the friendly efficient staff for the duration of our stay.

We were given a four poster room which was clean and comfortable overlooking a walled garden.

The food in the restaurant was good with plenty of choice for each course and if you couldn`t find anything to suit on the main course there was the option to have a salad from a good selection on the cold buffet.

The hotel is situated in a quiet area in the village and is an ideal base for touring the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We heard of this hotel from friends on a coach trip who were staying.there. I contacted the hotel (Sharon, the manageress) to see how we could join our friends for dinner. The contact and subsequent dealings could not have been better. We were sent a copy of the menu for the night we would be there so that we could pick items that my disabled wife would be able to eat.

When we arrived a portable ramp had been fitted so we could go straignt into the restaurant area where a table had been set up for our party to sit together. ( normally arrangemets are made for coach parties to sit together, and we had a small room off the main restaurant, where we could see what was going on , but had some privacy for a "good old natter". The table had one chair removed and was set up so that a wheelchair could be pushed straight in

There is a good choice on the table d'hote menu and adjustments were made to suit my wife's eating ability.The food was excellent and was served on hot plates. The chicken was the most moist we had ever eaten out. The service was superb and the waiter was most attentive. He even knew that my wife had made special menu choices. There was no rushing, or delay with the courses, and the waiter talked just enough for us to know he was there,and that he cared about doing his job to the best of his ability.

Sharon, the Manageress, could not have been more helpful, and I would suggest that anyone with doubts about the suitabllity of the hotel should give her a ring, or conat by e-mail as I did.

It was a very pleasant evening, and could not have been a better environment to meet very dear old friends

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanhardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Just returned home from staying at this hotel with a mixed review... My bedrooms decor was all very mismatch and contained a couple of cobwebs..made the mistake of pulling the bed out after dropping an earring on the floor lets just say you could sneeze from the dust.. near enough every morning my corridor smelt of smoke..Also my frinds were in rm 27 and they could hear someone elses telly over theirs. On the plus side the resataurant staff were always happy and nothing was too much trouble, as well the food fantastic but found toast abit hit and miss at breakfast (either burnt or like warm bread) but the full english made up for it. Would definately visit the hotel again but for an evening meal only... certainly not to stay

Room Tip: dont pick rm 27 ... would recommend an upgrade for a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alison c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

My impressions of the AA 3* Rosemundy House Hotel, reception is pleasant hotel which tries to have an 'ye olde world' feeling but doesn't quite hit the mark. My room, a single overlooking the pool, appears to be 'tired' in parts and could do with a spruce-up, bathroom appears to be clean on the surface but on closer inspection cobwebs can be found in areas. It appears on the outside this room is little used.

I would also suggest the room lacked any suitable soundproofing, the many and varied nocturnal noises from other guests could quite clearly be heard.

Access to the room is via a long corridor but there doesn't seem to be any order to the room numbers. My room was located on the ground floor which was fortunate as there's no lift to the upper floors which I believe should be a necessity in a hotel that caters for a clientele made up of mainly elderly people on coach tours.

For all the disappointment with the room, I have to say the evening meals were prepared to a high standard and the waiting staff were all enthusiastic and always had a smile.

Adjacent to the dining room was the small bar which required negotiating a couple of steps which would be ok in normal circumstance except when you have to consider elderly or disabled guests.

Overall the first impressions of Rosemundy House Hotel is one of excellent service let down by issues with my room but made up with superb food. The only downside is the apparent lack of disabled facilities.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drag0n98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We shall start with our first impression, I was tripped by a muddy green rug upon entry, not terribly in keeping with the red carpet I might add. Reception was dim and dusty. Upon entry to our room, the first thing I did, as with all hotels was move the net curtain to see my view for the week. Only to be met with dust and dead insects. The room was small and decorated with a mix match set of poor quality furniture. A seat bottom actually fell out in our friends room and was shodderly put back together with a piece of wood. The shower was appaling. I did bring this up at reception to be told there, "was a knack to it". There is no knack, although being told we would have to let it run for ten minutes before use, after thirty I gave up. The one day it was warm enough the pressure dropped halfway through, so much so I had to get out and rinse my hair in the sink. There was a tea tray in the room which was nice and included hot choclate and biscuits a very welcome treat after the awful weather. However the teapot was stained inside and the kettle looked older than myself. There was a hairdryer in the room but I didnt dare to touch mine, as it was covered in some sort of sticky mess. My friend had the same problem. She did bring it up with reception, and it was replaced. I chose to suffer in silence as had already complained a couple of times.
There is a pool table at the hotel which seemed like a fun after dinner activity, however it only just fits in the room it has been allocated. Which appears to be more of a dumping ground for spare tables and chairs. Its difficult to play when the cue hits chairs or failing that the wall every time you try.
On the up side, the hotel had a heated outdoor pool which we werent informed about so was a nice surprise, although as outdoor and given the weather we did not get to use.
Also to mention that the hotel itself serves sandwiches at lunch time, which they do not advertise, but made for a preferable option to walking up the very big hill to the main village.
The dining room was our fabourite place, it was filled with a nice atmosphere, pleasant, but not overpowering music and fantastic food. The waitresses were an asset, pleasant, polite and very helpful when we asked about the village etc. They were all constantly smiling even when we had breakfast at half past seven in the morning. They clearly enjoy their work and it really helps to make the dining experience.
The breakfasts were also worth mentioning, a proper english breakfast sets you up for the day. It was all fresh produce and with real butchers sausages, we actually bought some to take home. Along with pasties from the local bakery which were worth the trip on their own.
Overall the holiday was good, the village was charming, but I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nevertooold_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed here as a party in May and despite the awful weather we enjoyed our stay and the comfort and food provided by this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank france036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Agnes
0.5 mi away
Beacon Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
St. Agnes Hotel
St. Agnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Agnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Driftwood Spars B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
8.2 mi away
Lowenac Hotel
Lowenac Hotel
#4 of 5 in Camborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
14.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rosemundy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rosemundy House Hotel

Property: The Rosemundy House Hotel
Address: St. Agnes, St Agnes TR5 0UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Agnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St Agnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rosemundy House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your The Rosemundy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemundy Hotel St Agnes
The Rosemundy House Hotel St Agnes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing