We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cornish delight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rosemundy House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St Agnes
Certificate of Excellence
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“cornish delight”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have just had a three night break at this hotel-and what a relaxing, peaceful place to stay. My alarm call in the morning was a glorious dawn chorus! Staff were incredibly friendly and hospitable and the standard of food was exceptional. Apparently the only food they "buy in" is the ice-cream, everything else is made from scratch-and you can tell...brilliant!

Yes, the room was a little dated, but it was clean and comfortable. It had character and beats the big name hotels that have no character at all!

I hope you enjoy your stay here as much as I did!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank izzi t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    40
    15
    10
    1
See reviews for
29
43
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My daughter and I managed some respite from looking after my wife.
You relax once you enter the hotel.
Sharon - as always - was there to welcome us, taken to our rooms, and got us a pot of coffee - with hot milk! Always a smile.
Dinner was excellent. Wide variety of food made on the premises.
Relaxing evening, with a quiz and the chance to meet other people.
Good night's rest and an excellent choice of breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanhardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Annes England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Our experience was very similar to other reviews - the staff were excellent and always helpful. The food was much better than expected, especially the cooked to order breakfast.

The bedroom was pretty awful: very small with a tiny bathroom which at a first glance was clean and tidy but on closer inspection was dusty with hairs on the bath. In fact everything was small including the TV, bath towels and light bulbs (8w) with 6 assorted coat hangers in the wardrobe. The whole room was in need of updating, probably with a decent shower instead of the bath, new furniture and soft furnishings.

The public rooms were of a very good standard.

The hotel really needs upgrading and attention focussing on the important details.

Overall a very mixed experience

Room Tip: Book a different hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NWCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel with a group in March for four nights. It was a very good hotel for what it is. We had the advantage of a de luxe room (Room 30) which (as they say !) boasted a very large bed, a settee, plenty of cupboard space, a bath with shower over etc. Of course there were failings due mainly to the age of the building itself but they could have a better TV (the hand control didn't function properly which was frustrating at times) and the range of programmes was disappointing. The facilities in the bathroom could be better - shelves for items, hooks for clothes etc.And maybe the tea/coffee tray could have been more welcoming but these are minor nuisances.

To counter these were the staff, all of whom were polite, efficient and pleasant. Nothing seemed to faze them. There was a good dining room with bar adjacent. Here was the highlight of our stay - the food !! Really really good - well done everyone: a different menu every night with several choices to suit all tastes for the four courses including soup. Vegetables were served by the staff rather than dumped on the table. We all relished the results ! On one evening afterwards a fiendish quiz had us racking our brains and falling in all the traps set for us !

As to the position of the hotel well you will need a car to take advantage of its position as I couldn't see any public transport nearby but it meant it was quiet at night and no roaring traffic.

Would we recommend it ? Yes indeed ! Especially for that food .....

ASTRO TRAVEL
Cheltenham

Room Tip: Go for an upgraded de luxe room if possible as some of the rooms were apparently quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Astrotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our stay was very average. The rooms were small. They have new televisions in, but batteriea had gone in our controller. Something we feelt should have been checked before our arrival. The room was quite clean but the tea and coffee tray needed a new one as did the kettle. The bathroom was clean but slightly dusty. There are 3 lounges at the hotel which were nice. Nice decorated. The no drinks lounge was beautifully decorated however was very cold. We had to get help with the television in the television lounge. The bar was nice we went in it before dinner. Well decorated and warm. Nice barman with lot of knowledge. However dusty with cobwebs and pictures hanging slanted bits underneath seating missing. Resturant was good. Well decorated. Clean. No cobwevs or dust as were in corner. but light out above us for 3 days. Staff were fantastic. Very smiley. Met the famous hannag she was as promised. Rest of staff were lovely. Met annah and little boy helping her. Good family enviroment. Food was good. Complaints on one night about chicken not being cooked. My wife and I finished ours and were fine the next day. Everything is quite peppery though. The breakfast already had pepper on even though we have it on our table. Also toast was hard ever morning should be given after breakfast or have toaster. Tea was nice and hot. Real butter is good. The soup was peppery. The desert was very nice. All in all everything that was good something else let it down. Average hotel. Average stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank extremecountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon M, General Manager at The Rosemundy House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear that you felt your stay with us was 'average'. All remote controls are tested prior to arrival however from time to time batteries do die when the remote control is next switched on. I am sure if you reported this, the batteries would have been replace immediately.

We take pride in the cleanliness of the hotel and can only say that the dust / cobwebs you found were an oversight and I will be making more spot checks throughout the day to ensure this does not happen again.

The Rosemundy House Hotel is a converted county house where some bedrooms are larger than others as we are not a purpose built hotel. All our bedrooms meet / pass the AA measurements required for 3 star certificate however upgrades or requests for larger rooms are available.

Regarding the slanted picture, I know exactly which one it is as it hangs on a crooked wall which unfortunately we cannot do anything about. One of the kick boards below a bench in the bar area was removed due to being damaged, this has now been replaced.

Traditionally condiments are on dining tables to allow the diner to add extra seasoning if required. We would have happily served unseasoned meals on request.

Thank you regarding how nice you found our lounges and how well the hotel was decorated. I will also pass your praises onto Hannah and Peter. I will endeavor to make any future stays with us above average.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

A lovely hotel. One of the best I have been on my many coach holidays with many firms. Friendly staff Hannah still has the giggles. Great food and plenty of it. Nice comfortable room with plenty of storage space. Didn't feel like second class visitors like some places make coach parties feel. I award it 10 out of 10!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Hazel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleator, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed in room 17. It was very small with mis-matched furniture and patched patterned carpet. There was no bath and an inadequate shower. In the hottest week of the year we couldn't turn off the bathroom radiator. The food however was good, although at breakfast there was no fresh fruit.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon M, Manager at The Rosemundy House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and your points have been taken onboard.
I am sorry to hear that you did not find your bedroom satisfactory and that you would have preferred a bath en-suite. I have checked your orginal reservation and there is no mention of a bath en-suite as preference.
I am glad you enjoyed our food and have passed your comments regarding fruit at breakfast onto chef.

Again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Agnes
0.5 mi away
Beacon Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
St. Agnes Hotel
St. Agnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Agnes
206 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Driftwood Spars B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
8.2 mi away
Lowenac Hotel
Lowenac Hotel
#4 of 5 in Camborne
123 reviews
14.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rosemundy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rosemundy House Hotel

Property: The Rosemundy House Hotel
Address: St. Agnes, St Agnes TR5 0UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > St Agnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St Agnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rosemundy House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS and Agoda so you can book your The Rosemundy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemundy Hotel St Agnes
The Rosemundy House Hotel St Agnes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing