We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but poor room location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Rosemundy House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St Agnes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Have just spent a week here and the hotel, set in its own grounds, & staff are lovely. The food is amazing but unfortunately my room, although comfortable, was on its own right by the kitchen so was warmer than I'd like and rather noisy at 630am! Not good if a lie-in was planned. I had been told the staff finished around 8pm which was fine, but no mention was made of their early start!!!
I would recommend this hotel providing the room booked wasn't the one I occupied.

Room Tip: Not the one on the ground floor by the kitchen - room 33
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just returned from a six day holiday at the Rosemundy. What a delightful place to stay. Full of character and history,
Pleasant, professional, helpful staff, clean rooms and excellent food.
Lovely grounds and surrounding area.
Would recommend a holiday there to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had a meal for two as guests at Rosemundy but found the bill to be very expensive. Three course meal without coffee or drinks £28. Meal OK but not brilliant for the amount requested.
Not fully recommended sorry!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank PATRICIA s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon M, Manager at The Rosemundy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Diner
Thank you for your review regarding your experience here with us. We pride ourselves on our excellent cuisine and are sorry to hear of your disappointment, however our evening menu is a four course menu plus coffee served from the bar which it states on the menu. This unfortunately may not have been made aware to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

On coach trip in June 2014 and had very comfortable, clean twin room. Staff friendly and very helpful. Food was good and plentiful with choices for each meal. While it is an old building full of character it is well appointed. Did not use swimming pool. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with walking/stairs, request a downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Virginia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

After reading reviews on here, we decided to search for a coach tour that stayed at this hotel, as transport round and about is essential. and we felt it was too far to drive ourselves.
I am so glad we managed , as from the moment we arrived ,the hotel and its staff were a delight.
Sharon welcomed us on the coach, and then we were given the keys to our room.
The hotel is a very old building , and therefore it is nothing like modern soulless hotels. It is delightful and quirky! there is no lift,which is no problem as the hotel provides very willing porterage.
We had upgraded and had a lovely bright light airy room (no3) where the quality of sleep was excellent.

Very good choice of breakfast menu, the hot part being cooked to order (wonderful poached eggs!) and the usual choice of cereals etc, piping hot tea.

Dinner at night was , the best choice we have ever had in almost 50 years of coach holidays, and certainly one of the best cooked. good choices of starter, a soup, good choice of mains, (meats, fish, vegetarian and also a salad bar option) and choice of sweet, well pudding really, yummy ones with custard!! then coffee or tea served from the bar.
One tiny tiny thing was, I would have liked a green salad from the salad bar to have with my amazing fishcakes instead of the vegetable,

Talking of the Bar. We had intended to go out before dinner for a drink on an evening, but the beer from the bar (Tribute) is so well kept, and the bar, and Peter , the Barman, so friendly, we didn't bother going anywhere else.

It was a huge difference to be treated like 'real' guests , rather than an inconvenience that we often feel as part of a coach party.and I would like to try to go again at a warmer time of year when the pool is open, and we could enjoy the beautiful grounds better.

All the staff are friendly , and helpful, but a special thank you to Bethany, who just made us smile!.

Room Tip: worth upgrading, let them know what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJBAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have just had a three night break at this hotel-and what a relaxing, peaceful place to stay. My alarm call in the morning was a glorious dawn chorus! Staff were incredibly friendly and hospitable and the standard of food was exceptional. Apparently the only food they "buy in" is the ice-cream, everything else is made from scratch-and you can tell...brilliant!

Yes, the room was a little dated, but it was clean and comfortable. It had character and beats the big name hotels that have no character at all!

I hope you enjoy your stay here as much as I did!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank izzi t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My daughter and I managed some respite from looking after my wife.
You relax once you enter the hotel.
Sharon - as always - was there to welcome us, taken to our rooms, and got us a pot of coffee - with hot milk! Always a smile.
Dinner was excellent. Wide variety of food made on the premises.
Relaxing evening, with a quiz and the chance to meet other people.
Good night's rest and an excellent choice of breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alanhardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Agnes
0.2 mi away
St. Agnes Hotel
St. Agnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Agnes
219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beacon Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Driftwood Spars B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,271 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rosemundy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rosemundy House Hotel

Address: St. Agnes, St Agnes TR5 0UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > St Agnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St Agnes
Price Range: £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rosemundy House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your The Rosemundy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemundy Hotel St Agnes
The Rosemundy House Hotel St Agnes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing