We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a 1980's time warp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rosemundy House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St Agnes
Certificate of Excellence
bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“a 1980's time warp”
Reviewed 12 June 2009

The minute we entered the reception we wanted to run. This place has definitely seen better days. Run down, with pokey rooms and tap water that scalds when you turn on the taps in the bathroom. The food was terrrible and was a bad "takeaway" standard. Motorway service station lodges put this place to shame. The AA star rating they boast must have been awarded decades ago and never reviewed.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank holidaybunnyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    40
    15
    10
    1
See reviews for
29
43
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2007

Although the hotel was excellent in every other respect, the room given to us was certainly below standard. We did not have a proper bathroom, just a small corridor space, a very small dressing table half of which was taken up by the hospitality tray and there ws a shortage of drawers (only 3 in a bedside cabinet). Hotel could not ofer alternative room as the hotel was full. We felt this was unfair as standrd room shown on their website bore no relation to the one we had and thus ours was certainly sub-standard. Room was also exceedingly dark as window was spilt to give light in the wash basin area. If you are going to this hotel ENSURE YOU DO NOT HAVE ROOM 19!!!

  • Liked — public lounges
  • Disliked — the bedroom!
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zoeandken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2006

I frequently stay at this hotel, which is set in a lovely valley within the quintessential Cornish village of St. Agnes. Close to the local shops, 10 min walk to the beach & cliffs & an ideal location for visiting the various tourist attractions in Cornwall. Why do I stay here? Yes, some bedrooms are a bit on the small size & the plumbing could do with some upgrading, but the friendliness of the staff , the breakfast & 4 course evening meal, easily make up for these small shortcomings. I recently spent some nights at a TripAdvisor recommended hotel in Newquay & can tell you that for the same price, the Rosemundy HouseHotel provided much better value for money! At least here you get fresh produce for breakfast (I love their mushrooms!) & if you find the bedrooms a bit small, there are plenty of lounges in which to sit. The hotel has an outside swimming pool & sun area, (open during Summer months),so you don't even need to walk to the beach! Given a 3* rating by the AA, I think this is about right for what you get. You'll need to stay for more than 1 night to really get the feel of the place.

  • Liked — Quiet, lovely situation in a typical Cornish village
  • Disliked — Some bedrooms a bit shabby in places
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank silversurfer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2006

Never again. We had an overnight stay at Rosemundy hotel in Aug 2006 and paid extra for a 'Superior' room. I would have been disappointed even if it had been a standard room. It didn't even have a bathroom, just a very small shower room with a glass door into the room, not exactly private but you couldn't close the door anyway if you were using the basin as there was too little space. It is a lovely hotel with lovely grounds but the room was definately not worth the £112 we paid for it. It was small, the tv was on a dangerously low wall bracket which was in your way as you tried to get into bed. the shower had a notice on the wall saying we should not try to change the temperature or it might fall off! This was not just our room either! I could not wash my hair as the water pressure was too low - after paying £112 at that! I have stayed at travel lodges, good hotels and small guest houses with much better facilities at half the price. We were asked to pay on arrival - ok, but we did not expect to be told the front door was locked at 11pm! There was no-one on reception to take it up with so I decided to wait until I returned from my holiday but then of course they didn't want to know - not what I would call good customer relations!

Helpful?
3 Thank anniep458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Agnes
0.5 mi away
Beacon Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
St. Agnes Hotel
St. Agnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Agnes
206 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Driftwood Spars B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
8.2 mi away
Lowenac Hotel
Lowenac Hotel
#4 of 5 in Camborne
123 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rosemundy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rosemundy House Hotel

Property: The Rosemundy House Hotel
Address: St. Agnes, St Agnes TR5 0UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > St Agnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St Agnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rosemundy House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Rosemundy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemundy Hotel St Agnes
The Rosemundy House Hotel St Agnes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing