We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous weekend get-away”
Review of The Waterwheel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Waterwheel Inn
Ranked #4 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend get-away”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I came across this lovely little hotel while searching through some of the more "fancy" hotels in Cornwall.

Am so glad I ignored these and instead booked a 3 night break here for me and my hubby. It's been a tough year and we needed a change of scenery.

Francesca and Mark who own The Waterwheel are lovely, genuine people. They currently have 8 rooms and this makes for a more intimate scene and they get to know you unlike big hotels where you are just a room number. They took over The Waterwheel a year ago and are making some fabulous changes. The conservatory was finished just after we left so we sadly were unable to have our breakfast in it but could tell it would be lovely when it was finished. The on site restaurant is just amazing. They do an early bird offer of 3 courses for £14.95 and please do not think you will get inferior food as that was so not the case. The food was delicious and the presentation I would say 5 star. My hubby had the steak one evening when we didn't want a 3 course meal and it just melted in the mouth and I had the cornish crab cakes which were divine.

Have not got anything bad to say about The Waterwheel Inn and will gladly recommend it to friends/family or anyone else who wants to listen. We will be going back soon.

Finally, it is so well situated. Just a short drive to The Eden Project and lots of lovely places within an hours drive and then when you return tired and weary you can have a relaxing drink in the bar and not have to drive anywhere to get your dinner - unless you choose to that is.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cclarke120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    99
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
94
298
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hessle, East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We had booked in advance to stay here for 4 nights B&B. We decided to check in on our way back from a day out (about 4pm) No-one about, no signs up for guests, the place looked like a building site with a mobile caravan in the car park, car park full of pot holes, property looked like it was falling down, garage door off & stood to one side. My partner went round the back (to supposedly the garden) & found a guy. He begrudgingly came & spoke to us & half heartedly showed us through. I have seen some things in my time but this place was not only dirty but dangerous too. He never introduced himself but took us through to the bar area. There were wires hanging down from behind the bar!! I said to my partner I don't like the look of this place or the atmosphere but we'll look at the room. When we went upstairs there were air fresheners in every socket you could see. I was full of cold but could smell and taste it through my cold as well as the smell of paint. Obviously trying to hide something. He showed us to the room and basically left us to it. When he left we noticed skirting boards had not been jointed properly & holes & gaps not filled, the matress on the bed was awful couldn't have slept on it, the wardrobe looked like the leaning tower of Pisa! the bathroom door had just been bought & put on not even been painted. In the bathroom they had put a new toilet roll holder on but had not filled the holes & painted over where the last one had been, the fan was full of muck and mould then there was the shower!!! The mould around the shower tray was almost enough to make you sick. I wouldn't even expect a homeless person to take a shower in it. It was one that was set back so if you had drawn the shower curtain, even with the light on, you wouldn't have been able to see to get showered. My partner is a lads lad & would sleep and get washed anywhere but not here. We decided we would refuse the room & go speak to them about it & see what they where willing to do about it. We went back to the bar. No-one about again. Walked through the restaurant & noted how dirty the tables where. They had put clean cutlery on the table ready for evening meals but had not wiped them down so ring marks, crumbs & food still left on the tables. We found a woman decorating. Explained to her & she went on the defensive straight away. I upset her by telling her the room was dirty. Didn't offer to look at the room with us, offer us another room or anything. She told us the room was newly refurbished!!! Really??? We said the room is nothing like those on the website. She said she hadn't uploaded the room to their website yet!!! We said we wanted our deposit back but she refused. We left & luckily my mum was renting a self catering place so we slept on the sofa. We had booked through laterooms.com so rang them. The girl we spoke to was rude & obnoxious. She rang the B&B & the woman from the B&B lied to the girl at laterooms & told her they had offered us another room. Would we sleep on a sofa over a bed?? It wasn't until the manager at laterooms called us back 2hrs later that he understood where we were coming from. I'd even taken pictures. Still not been able to get my money back. DO NOT STAY HERE OR EAT HERE YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!!!!

Helpful?
7 Thank Jemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Gosh, where do I start to address this young ladies issues? Yesterday we celebrated our first year at The Waterwheel Inn and in that time we have worked tirelessly to bring this old, previously neglected building back to life. Guests can be assured that The Waterwheel Inn has stood for nealry 300 years and will not be falling down anytime soon! The front entrance is not particularly inspiring; it was formerly the working part of the house, the carpark does have pot holes and there is a mobile home on site where have to live until such time when we can rebuild the garage block to provide disabled accomodation and living quarters.
The bar ceiling and walls have recently been replastered and once painted will have lights fitted but at present the wires are not live and therefore are no danger to us and certainly not our guests.
The couple arrived about an hour before the earliest check-in time and finding the door locked, wandered round the back to find us in the conservatory painting. We are sorry that we were not more welcoming or that there was a smell of paint. At the time the conservatory was not being used as we had just had a new roof and flooring fitted. It is now however finished and beautiful and a wonderful place to have breakfast and gaze at the beautiful (if rain-soaked) garden.
Their room had been only recently been finished having been completely replastered, new window seat, skirting, curtains and carpet and the prevous occupant in the room had written " Greta experience and very good accomodation" which does not seem to match with this ladies' description. The room and en suite were absolutely clean but there is some mould within the silicone which will be rectified when we put in the new shower enclosure. We have not glossed the new primed bathroom door because obviously that would cause our guests some discomfort which we obviously want to avoid.
I did not offer this couple an alternative room as the young ladies behaviour and attitude made it perfectly clear that this would have been a fruitless gesture. Interestingly the excellent review headed "Half way between Eden and the Lost Gardens of Heligan" was posted by a couple who were able to book the room because of the revewers cancellation.
What a contrast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix en Provence, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Four of us stayed here for 4 nights thanks to the generosity of my parents and had a very pleasant time. The room was clean, tidy and well furnished, if a little cramped. The rest of the place was comfortable with a large comfy area near the bar that allowed us to sit and chat which was a godsend, a lovely restaurant that I highly recommend and a conservatory that was used for breakfast. The welcome was warm and friendly from all of the staff, even extending to discussing their improvements in the garden. Our friends who had accommodation elsewhere (tried to book too late!) were also made very welcome even though they were only visiting. The garden (suffering from the damp conditions) is clearly going to be a feature and I think it will be a wonderful outdoor venue - if the rain stops!
I would not consider going elsewhere in the region

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon0362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had no booking and chanced across this delightful B&B; Mark & Francesca are on the cusp of something wonderful here. Having spent the afternoon at Heligan we checked in and thoroughly enjoyed a superb 3 course evening meal (£26/head) which wouldn't have been out of place in a 5 star restaurant. Our room (£65/night) was clean, bright and comfortable with wonderful fresh white bedding and although we faced the main road we weren't troubled with traffic noise in the slightest. After a full Cornish breakfast ("guaranteed to spoil your lunch"), we headed off to Eden. We would certainly return and I look forward to seeing the completed conservatory and extensive garden (it really does go on and on and on and on).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolDiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife, myself,son and daughter in law stayed here for 4 nights celebrating a birthday and were joined for dinner each night by two further friends.
Bedrooms and en suite bathrooms , though slightly cramped, were newly decorated, nicely furnished with comfortable beds and warm in the unseasonable April weather.
Very attractive and comfortable dining room and sitting area , all newly refurbished.
Dinner each night was excellent,. The verdict of my son( resident in France) our widely travelled friends and ourselves was that the choice of menus and the cooking outclassed, by far, many 4 & 5 star restaurants.
Cost: very reasonable for the accomadation, amazingly good value for the cooking.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandb_boskenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgwater
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

congrats to the chef we had a fantastic meal good value for money you can see the refurb is going well restaurant was lovely done keep up the good work on the rest of the place pls do out the front it does let you down a little

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2012

February in Cornwall, rain, fog, cold, miserable....sounds like a recipe for disaster. However, if you can spend all day with a paint brush and then wait on tables all evening and keep a smile and an air of jollity then you may understand how this establishment works. True, it is obviously work in progress; true, it is somebody's dreams and ambitions, but what they have achieved so far is commendable.
Our room was clean and simply but tastefully decorated, with a very pleasant view over the garden which would have been a delight to explore had the weather been more clement. Our en suite bathroom was indeed compact, which may not suit everyone, but was adequate for the purpose and clean. True, there may be the odd little grumble such as only one tiny tablet of soap provided and no chair in the room, but it's not because the hosts are not caring but simply that they cannot do everything at once and are obviously working very hard.

We stayed for 3 nights and ate here each evening. We were very impressed with the standard of food and its presentation. Of particular note to us was the whitebait, excellent!
It is obvious a lot of effort is being made to improve the Waterwheel Inn and if it all comes to fruition, we may have to book well in advance! We wish them well.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topcat62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
1.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
2.2 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterwheel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterwheel Inn

Property: The Waterwheel Inn
Address: Bodmin Road | Trethowel, St Austell PL25 5RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterwheel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterwheel is situated in a wooded valley beside a river. We offer bed and breakfast accommodation in our fourteen en-suite bedrooms. In the evenings guests can have a drink in the licensed bar and eat in the on-site elegant restaurant, or a 10 minute brisk walk will take them into St Austell town centre. There is a delightful terrace and garden to explore and an ancient well, Druid's chair and waterfall at the bottom of the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Waterwheel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterwheel Hotel St Austell
The Waterwheel Inn Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing