We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Waterwheel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waterwheel Inn
Ranked #3 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a one night break to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We don't live far away and being familiar with the location had often thought about sampling the restaurant. It did not disappoint. We received a warm welcome on arrival, the room was small but more than adequate for a one night stay. Dinner was excellent, beautifully presented and tasty. Drinks were reasonably priced with lots of local selections of beer and cider, always good! Breakfast was lovely, a full cooked breakfast, toast, with homemade marmalade, a selection of cereals - and definitely no room for lunch! Thank you Francesca and Mark, we will definitely be back and will recommend The Waterwheel to our 'up country' family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chesster70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    99
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
93
297
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

A really nice place to stay- immaculately clean, beautifully decorated, wonderful food and a warm welcome. We visited with my sister and her husband and stayed two nights- nothing was too much trouble- welcome packs, tea, coffee and biscuits in the room- fantastic breakfasts and super restaurant that gives good options for vegetarians as well as an interesting menu. The food was delicious and very good value served in a lovely restaurant.

As well as a restaurant and conservatory where breakfast is served there is a bar with an attractive area to sit. The garden is lovely, there is a large car park and this is very close to the attractions in the area [Lost Gardens of Heligan, The Eden Project, Charlestown & the Maritime Museum, Fowey, Mevagissy, St Mawes Castle etc]

Delightful place to stay.

Room Tip: An old building so some rooms are larger than others. The pictured room with the red wallpaper and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
How lovely that as our 100th reviewer you have posted such a lovely review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We checked into the Waterwheel Inn for one nights b & b and found very friendly staff who couldn't do enough to make us feel very welcome. On arrival we were shown to our room which was very pleasant overlooking the stream. We then traversed to the dining room for our evening meal of which we chose from the set menus. My husband had a brie starter (he wouldn't give me a taste!), he said it was lush, I had crab cakes, (ooh scrum). Followed by the chicken in cheese and bacon sauce, Absolutely fab but if i wanted to be picky, it needed more cheese in the sauce. Hubby had the tenderloin which he thoroughly enjoyed, cooked to perfection as was the veg and a nice selection to boot. I followed with cheesecake, (oh, I had to share with hubby as he doesn't do puds!) which was rather good. After which we enjoyed freshly made liquer coffees. Nothing was too much trouble and reasonably priced. Well done Mark, Francesca and staff. Carry on the good work. My husband say's Thanks for the homemade lemon marmalade on his toast this morning (absolutely lovely). Oh also for the tour of the garden and well by Kernow this morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DartmoorJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Nice friendly owners (Kernow the dog too) we stayed 2 nights. Excellent accommodation, food! breakfast superb! dinner amazing specials board has a wide selection. Beer selection very nice tried some local ones too, even a local cider a nice local lager too. Mark & Francesca have made great progress in the 2 1/2 years they have been here. we wish them luck for the future

Room Tip: Fitness centre is the lovely Cornwall country side, lots of excellent walks local
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lamby001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Major contenders for hard-working couple of the year, Mark & Francesca are managing to not only run a friendly yet efficient B&B but also to carry out extensive works to the (lovely) garden in their spare (!?!) time. The rooms are spotless and beautifully decorated, the food is absolutely first class and the welcome is second to none. A wander down the garden to see the well and druid chair is highly recommended. We had a fabulous time in Cornwall and this was down in no small part to our stay at the Waterwheel and would recommend it without hesitation. Thank you Mark & Francesca.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the garden, which was lovely. I think all rooms will probably experience n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bumps33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We noticed on arrival that signage in the entrance stated `Arrive as guests and leave as friends` , this is true.
Mark and Francesca are excellent hosts,the bed clean and comfortable, there was a good choice of breakfast with nothing to much trouble.The evening meals are freshly cooked to a high quality and good value.
Mark has built a terraced deck at the rear and was still building a pergola style structure,in his short spare time, it was nice to view his efforts each day.
This did not stop anyone enjoying the garden which is quite extensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north ayrshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

having to leave... Yes sad to say all good things must come to an end. We spent 7 glorious days here with Mark and Francesca, Kernow and of course Bailey. When did 7 days disappear into fewer? When you are enjoying yourself that's when. What a super place this is, run by 2 fantastically enthusiastic young people. Where on earth to they get the energy?

From the minute we arrived the Inn was run with endless efficiency, you were made to feel welcome from the minute you dropped off your luggage. Rooms are a delight with excellent views, bedding is beautiful with lots of wee personal touches. By the end of our stay we felt as though we belonged, like family and thoroughly at home.

It is a brilliant place to relax you into your day and a peaceful place to wind down after a busy day touring around the sights, places and sounds. Ideal it what is it. The grounds are gorgeous and given time could be a close contender for the Lost Gardens.... check out the druid chair and chapel. Me? I lost my fotos... pressed the wrong button, so will have to go back for more some time... hahaha there's method in my madness!.

Now as for the eating part of our stay.... breakfast was all and more, Mark you are a gem and Francesca well ... fabulous... your omelettes... to die for. Dining in at night was a taste sensation with Chris and Mark on kitchen duties. Hard to think what my most favourite was but I will share with you is their home made lemon posset which surely is the very best you will ever taste.

Oh Mark and Francesca you have no idea how much I hated to leave and honestly I was almost in tears when we said ciao! So look forward to visiting again. Both Bill and I so enjoyed our stay at the Waterwheel Inn!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loulouNorthAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
1.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
2.2 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterwheel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterwheel Inn

Property: The Waterwheel Inn
Address: Bodmin Road | Trethowel, St Austell PL25 5RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterwheel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterwheel is situated in a wooded valley beside a river. We offer bed and breakfast accommodation in our fourteen en-suite bedrooms. In the evenings guests can have a drink in the licensed bar and eat in the on-site elegant restaurant, or a 10 minute brisk walk will take them into St Austell town centre. There is a delightful terrace and garden to explore and an ancient well, Druid's chair and waterfall at the bottom of the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterwheel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterwheel Hotel St Austell
The Waterwheel Inn Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing