We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Eden break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Waterwheel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waterwheel Inn
Ranked #4 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Eden break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is an ideal place to stay if you are visiting the Eden Project or some of the many splendid Cornish gardens that are within a few miles. Four excellent hosts will greet you, two human, the world's friendliest labrador and one of the biggest cats I have ever seen!

This hotel is very pet friendly, provides good food (the full English breakfast will last you all day), evening meals are good, with a wide choice of meat and fish. The sole was superb.

The building itself has been very well restored and has many delightful features. Rooms are comfortable and the bed linen, so my wife tells me, is of very high quality. We will be going back.

Try it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Derek996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    97
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
93
294
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

A very pleasant refuge during some wild weather. The Waterwheel is nicely set up with bar lounge and restaurant. Francesca and Mark are good hosts, and we had a really good time. The breakfast is somewhat generous! The location is very good for visiting Heligan, thge Eden Project, and Lands End and the Lizard within easy reach. The China clay museum just up the road is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: All good as far as seen
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

I recently booked a two night stay at the Waterwheel for the partners birthday. The location is lovely and the building is an excellent mix of modern features within the old building. We were warmly greeted on arrival and our room was very comfortable with a stream running by the window. We were greeted at the bar by a very friendly black labrador wanting to play tug-o-war with one of his toys and the food in the restaurant on both nights was exceptional in quality and price. The Waterwheel is near to lots of local attractions including Eden and the coast. We are already hoping to visit Cornwall again this year and anybody's first choice for accomodation should be the Waterwheel.

Room Tip: Room 8 has a nice stream running outside to help you get to sleep but is right by the entrance so yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank AlphaOmegaJMAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Very good overall. Very friendly staff, excellent food and good company. Room clean and comfortable, all you could ask for a night away from home. Pet friendly with a very friendly labrador to greet you. Good car parking fascillities and easy reach for most points in Cornwall

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Mark and staff made ourselves and family very welcome during our New year break..Great location for the Eden Project. The rooms were clean and tastefully decorated.Breakfast was excellent a real full english!! The added bonus of a restaurant and a pleasant lounge with bar area was a big plus, especially during winter months.Thankyou. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

8 of us enjoyed our walking holiday based at the Waterwheel. Francesca, Mark and Kernow made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent and could not be faulted. The rooms are tastefully decorated. We all look forward to returning

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cymraes55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Lovely place to stay. Exellent host, clean and friendly place. There was a problem to find the location on Sat Nav, but finaly get there. Will come back again and recomend this B&B to friends. Thank you to Francesca and Mark.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basia1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
1.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
2.2 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterwheel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterwheel Inn

Property: The Waterwheel Inn
Address: Bodmin Road | Trethowel, St Austell PL25 5RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterwheel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterwheel is situated in a wooded valley beside a river. We offer bed and breakfast accommodation in our fourteen en-suite bedrooms. In the evenings guests can have a drink in the licensed bar and eat in the on-site elegant restaurant, or a 10 minute brisk walk will take them into St Austell town centre. There is a delightful terrace and garden to explore and an ancient well, Druid's chair and waterfall at the bottom of the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterwheel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterwheel Hotel St Austell
The Waterwheel Inn Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing