We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Waterwheel Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The White Hart(St Austell)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Carlyon Bay(St Austell)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (518)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveller rating
388
108
11
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
388
108
11
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack labradortree fernsb beden projectlovely gardenlost gardens of heliganfriendly hostswarm welcomestayed for nightsan evening mealtea and coffee making facilitiesenjoyable stayfull englishcomfortable rooma lovely place to staybreakfast was deliciouswell worth a visit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
398 - 403 of 518 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had an excellent stay at the Waterwheel Inn. Very friendly, dog friendly and the food was brilliant. Unfortunately the weather was not good so prevented us from exploring the garden but from the inside looking out it looked lovely. The rates and food prices were very reasonable.

Will certainly be visiting again.

Room Tip: Room 8 was very handy for taking the dog out.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for writing such a lovely review. I am so glad that Penny and Jeff looked after you so well in our absence; they are gems!
I am delighted that you enjoyed eating at our restaurant; many of our guests comment on how nice it is to be able to have a relaxed meal after a hard day's sightseeing. I am also glad you were soothed by the sound of the river; I love that too.
I do hope you will return to The Waterwheel next time you are in Cornwall.
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

What a lovely find. Tastefully restored, full of charm and lovely food.
We stayed for one night and couldn't have been made to feel more welcome.
My only complaint would be the lack of mirror in the bedroom. But we will return.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nattydevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is an ideal place to stay if you are visiting the Eden Project or some of the many splendid Cornish gardens that are within a few miles. Four excellent hosts will greet you, two human, the world's friendliest labrador and one of the biggest cats I have ever seen!

This hotel is very pet friendly, provides good food (the full English breakfast will last you all day), evening meals are good, with a wide choice of meat and fish. The sole was superb.

The building itself has been very well restored and has many delightful features. Rooms are comfortable and the bed linen, so my wife tells me, is of very high quality. We will be going back.

Try it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Derek996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

A very pleasant refuge during some wild weather. The Waterwheel is nicely set up with bar lounge and restaurant. Francesca and Mark are good hosts, and we had a really good time. The breakfast is somewhat generous! The location is very good for visiting Heligan, thge Eden Project, and Lands End and the Lizard within easy reach. The China clay museum just up the road is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: All good as far as seen
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I recently booked a two night stay at the Waterwheel for the partners birthday. The location is lovely and the building is an excellent mix of modern features within the old building. We were warmly greeted on arrival and our room was very comfortable with a stream running by the window. We were greeted at the bar by a very friendly black labrador wanting to play tug-o-war with one of his toys and the food in the restaurant on both nights was exceptional in quality and price. The Waterwheel is near to lots of local attractions including Eden and the coast. We are already hoping to visit Cornwall again this year and anybody's first choice for accomodation should be the Waterwheel.

Room Tip: Room 8 has a nice stream running outside to help you get to sleep but is right by the entrance so you can sometimes hear other guests arriving and leaving.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank AlphaOmegaJMAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews