We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Waterwheel Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The White Hart(St Austell)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Carlyon Bay(St Austell)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (518)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveller rating
388
108
11
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
388
108
11
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack labradortree fernsb beden projectlovely gardenlost gardens of heliganfriendly hostswarm welcomestayed for nightsan evening mealtea and coffee making facilitiesenjoyable stayfull englishcomfortable rooma lovely place to staybreakfast was deliciouswell worth a visit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
384 - 389 of 518 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in April and received a warm welcome from the hosts. The ground floor is mainly taken up by the spacious bar and dining room. The food was excellent, both evening meals and breakfast. A cut above your standard English B&B. Grounds undergoing maintenance and building at the moment for what will be a stunning addition to the property.
Rooms are well laid out and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willimh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. I like the phrase 'a cut above your standard English B&B', I may just have to use that somewhere! The garden renovation will probably take a decade but at least it is a pleasurable project and we have exciting plans for it. The newts and frogs seem to be enjoying the new ponds. We hope you will be able to return one day to see the progress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Friendly hosts, spotless and comfortable room which was beautifully decorated with powerful shower and separate toilet. We had dinner on both evenings of our stay, good varied menu with specials board, food was excellent, breakfast too. In a great position to visit other areas of Cornwall. Our stay exceeded our expectations and we would not hesitate to recommend and would definitely return.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you, I'm glad you loved our triple room. We virtually gutted the room last year which gave us a good opportunity to upgrade the shower. I used to cook the breakfast and thought I did a pretty good job but hard as it is to admit it, Mark's are better!
We do hope you get an opportunity of returning soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Fab 4 night stay at The Waterwheel Inn, together with our Yorkie. Room bijou but beautifully appointed, food excellent - breakfast and dinners. Exceptional welcome and superb service from the Kiwi's, Geoff and Penny, who were looking after the Inn during our holiday - they really made our break special! Location brilliant for exploring the surrounding area, so convenient for Eden Project, Lost Gardens, Mevagissey, etc. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Geoff and Penny are a 'wonder' and I am so pleased that while we were away they looked after you so well (we knew you would be in safe hands!).
We are so lucky to be so close to such amazing treasures such as The Lost Gardens of Heligan and the Eden Project and most of Cornwall is within and hour's drive so I am glad you found it to be a convenient base.
Thank you for the recommendation and for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

the whole experience was great. being greeted by hosts ( incl dog and cat ) to superb evening meal. Clean and tidy rooms. Wonderful breakfast in the conservatory. Garden and munnercuddle worth a visit. Good walk/run along clay trail.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 340paul01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for this lovely review. I was very impressed that you had the energy after all your exploring to do a 7 mile run on the clay trail (sorry about the hills!). We feel very lucky to have this off road cycle route next to us. Intrepid visitors can even use it to walk to The Eden Project if they have the stamina. You were lucky to see the Holy Well at the bottom of the garden at just the right time with the huge rhododendron trees flowering.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed at the Waterwheel Inn for 3 nights and used it as a base to visit Helligan, Eden Centre and Trebah - and we hope to return to see what Mark and Francesca have achieved with their own garden in the future. We found the atmosphere delightful and relaxed, and the food - both dinner and breakfasts great. The Inn is a good centre for visiting many of the sights of Cornwall - and it was nice to return to cosy environment of an evening.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

We like to think that ours is another 'lost garden' in the process of being found!
We're glad you enjoyed the cosy and relaxed atmosphere which is just what you need after a busy day exploring. There are plenty more beautiful gardens down here so we hope to see you again.

Mark and Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews