We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Waterwheel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waterwheel Inn
Ranked #4 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Simply Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just enjoyed a three night star at the Waterwheel Inn. From the minute we walked through the door we were made to feel extremely welcome by Francesca, Mark and especially Kernow. The food was tremendous and we recommend you have at least one evening meal here. Breakfast is excellent with plenty of choices. The Inn itself is a very welcoming and interesting building that has clearly been brought back to life thanks to the efforts of Mark and Francesca. Don't miss a trip to the well at the bottom of the garden while you are there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glen077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Kernow should be on the payroll; he does take his welcoming greet very seriously!
The building is interesting, built in the 1780s and it has been a pleasure to restore and we look forward to continuing to make it even more beautiful. I'm so glad you loved the place as it makes all the fort worthwhile.
We hope to welcome you back some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    97
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
93
295
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is a lovely inn with very comfortable rooms, a delightfully relaxing ambiance, superb food and warm, welcoming hosts. We stayed for four nights along with our dog and can give nothing but praise for the whole experience. The decor is relaxing, with an eye for detail, and the gardens are absolutely beautiful. Our room was well-designed with everything we needed, again with an eye for detail.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnNSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review. We really hope that our guests have a relaxing time while they are here and enjoy good food, comfortable surroundings and of course we absolutely love it when they love our garden which as you know is our own "Lost Garden" in the process of being found!
The patio stones arrived today so keep an eye out on the website for the next 'makeover'!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Chose the Waterwheel Inn because of its proximity to Eden Project. It is also very central to many other places. A very reasonably price for a three night stay. Our room was small but ample clean and comfortable, a great deal of thought had gone into guest's needs. Breakfast was great, taken in the conservatory and one of the best cooked breakfasts we have had and plenty of it. We enjoyed three lovely evening meals in the restaurant. We wish Mark and Francesca every success with the Waterwheel, (and of course Kernow the dog) and hope to return sometime to see the finished terrace and gardens "quite an undertaking"

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We are lucky to be so close to The Eden Project and The Lost Gardens of Heligan which are both such fabulous days out and being fairly central, it doesn't take long to get to all the other beautiful places that Cornwall has to offer either.
We will be working really hard so that when you do return we will be able to prove your title wrong!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

As we only had one night we just thought as long as we have a place to sleep. My word how amazing is this place! The gardens amazing and we can't wait to come back especially when the gardens completed. Rooms spotless comfortable beds everything we needed. Me and two teenagers absolutely loved it. Dined in the restaurant food was to die for and very reasonable. Lovely filling breakfast with lots of choice. All in all we loved st Ives but would deliberately pass through st Austell again just to stay here once more. Lovely thankyou Franchesca.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niknakn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
"Just gorgeous" - I love that! We think it is gorgeous too so I am glad it appealed to you and that also two teenagers loved it too.
We have increased the breakfast menu this year to ensure that there is plenty of choice other than the full English breakfast and the Belgian waffles have been particularly popular with the youngsters.
Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

B&B with a difference. Character building which has a wonderful tropical garden, Clean and comfortable well equipped rooms which are decorated in modern style. Food is excellent and good value, serving wonderful breakfasts and good value Evening meals. Hosts Mark & Francesca are friendly and helpful and aided by Kernow the dog made our stay very enjoyable.
Easy to find on the outskirts of St Austell. Would definitely recommend to others and will stay again sometime.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryh334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
The building is full of character and history as it was the last working Blowing house in Cornwall, smelting tin, hence the waterwheel although the original wheel would have been made of wood. Another project for Mark I think!! The garden is still a work in progress (aren't they always?) but it is taking shape and the numerous enormous tree ferns and waterfall certainly add to the tropical feel. Hopefully you will come back one day and see the 'finished' product
Thank you for taking the time to post a review - it means a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Lovely stay at The Waterwheel Inn
Very clean, well equipped rooms. Lovely meal in the restaurant in the evening.
We were also lucky to have fabulous weather.
Very sensitive smoke alarm in our room which went off whilst i was drying my hair!!
Would definitely recommend to others

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Better a sensitive fire alarm than a defective one I suppose but at least it made a memorable stay for both of us! I'm glad you still had a lovely time here and hope you bring the good weather here again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed for four nights , excellent hotel great food both the English breakfasts and the evening meals in the restaurant , wonderful hosts Francesca , Mark , Kernow the dog and Bailey the cat . Very clean and comfortable rooms in all excellent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilHill27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for posting this lovely review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the meals both in the restaurant and breakfast.
Mark and I hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
1.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
2.2 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterwheel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterwheel Inn

Property: The Waterwheel Inn
Address: Bodmin Road | Trethowel, St Austell PL25 5RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterwheel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterwheel is situated in a wooded valley beside a river. We offer bed and breakfast accommodation in our fourteen en-suite bedrooms. In the evenings guests can have a drink in the licensed bar and eat in the on-site elegant restaurant, or a 10 minute brisk walk will take them into St Austell town centre. There is a delightful terrace and garden to explore and an ancient well, Druid's chair and waterfall at the bottom of the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterwheel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterwheel Hotel St Austell
The Waterwheel Inn Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing