We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable”
Review of Duke Of Cornwall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Duke Of Cornwall
Ranked #45 of 96 St Austell B&B and Inns
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Nice little pub with very clean rooms our room had a shower but the loo was shared & down the hall. The restaurant has very tasty & huge meals as was our wonderful breakfast,the staff were very polite & friendly. It was just a shame though being smokers as we are that the smoking had to be shared with cats that had relieved themselves all through garden bringing flies & unpleasant smells other than that I would definitely recommend it & it was also great value @ £65 the night.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    16
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
8
27
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had a great stay at the lovely Duke of Cornwall. The staff could not have been more helpful or considerate. They provided a great little nook in theit beer garden for our tandem to spend the night. The double room we had was clean and comfortable with lots of extras lilke toileties and plenty of tea and coffee. The meal in the pub bar was delicilous and the next day's breakfast was plentiful and beautifully prepared. We would, by all means, return to this well-run estabilishment in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013

For the price of a double room I suppose £55 is not bad, but the B&B side is not great.
The bar is great fully stocked hip with all beers & ciders,
The food menu though seems to be geared to American food and not much choice apart from burgers or burgers with bacon !!
Beer garden is also nice.

The double room we had though had damp in the bathroom, a shower that did not work properly and a bathroom the size of a cupboard.
Not to mention that as this pub is situated on a main road next to traffic lights , then getting to sleep is not easy.
I was disappointed especially as its owned by the St Austell brewery but the rooms were not worth the money.
The location is not great either as your not really in walking distance of anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Very friendly staff, room and en-suite spotlessly clean, good breakfast and a very competitively priced restaurant serving generous portions. Very pretty beer garden and enough parking spaces for guests. I would be happy to stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

great food very welcoming staff. the room was comfortable and very clean. the whole atmosphere was welcoming from staff and customers in the bar to the varying cats! would definitely go back. we were there to go to an event at the eden project and the staff were great in helping with getting us there

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wpb2222410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I like real ale, so the fact that this establishment had 3 St Austell beers on handpump was a winner. The restaurant was also really good value for substantial portions. The breakfasts, including fresh fruit, were very good, and the whole thing was only £35 per night. If you are staying with strangers for a few days, friendliness and security and cleanliness are paramount and I would give then 10/10 on all of those. The Duke is up a large hill about a mile out of town, and bus services are at best one an hour, and dont call at the railway station, so good for hikers -otherwise avail yourself of the local taxi services. All of the staff were particularly nhelpful & friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms have en-suite showers, but not toilets, so you may wish to bear this in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnClementHarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2013

What a lovely surprise this B&B turned out to be , we had booked this as a base in St Austell to enable myself and two friends to visit another friend who lives in the village , we were warmly welcomed and shown promptly to our rooms , which were extremely clean and beautifully decorated ,complete with lovely fluffy white towels !!!!!! .the only downside was the communal bathroom ,but even that was spacious and very clean with a massive bath !!!! The food was so excellent we stayed there for our evening meal and the breakfast which was included was excellent ,we then booked in for a variety lunch ( with free dessert) . Overall we were very very impressed with everything this B&B had to offer , and the icing on the cake was a absolutely stunning beer garden which was tucked away behind the place the owners had worked so hard to make it a real haven to sit and enjoy a cold beer in the sunshine (or rain as it had a heated glass gazebo),also would like to add that the staff and owners were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble , thank you for making our stay so lovely .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.9 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
0.8 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
367 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 16 in Par
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gwyndra House
Gwyndra House
#24 of 96 in St Austell
83 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Arches B&B
The Arches B&B
#11 of 96 in St Austell
214 reviews
1.2 mi away
Providence Farm B&B
Providence Farm B&B
#36 of 96 in St Austell
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke Of Cornwall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Of Cornwall

Property: Duke Of Cornwall
Address: 98 Victoria Road, St Austell PL25 4QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Duke Of Cornwall 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Duke Of Cornwall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Cornwall St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing