We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”
Review of Duke Of Cornwall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Duke Of Cornwall
Ranked #53 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 January 2014

the duke of cornwall was an excellant stay.very friendly good clean rooms great grub.try thier giant porky burger need a big appetite to eat it but the flavour. best damn burger i have ever had;;.and the three young ladies who worked the bar. hard working polite nothing was to much trouble for them.dont anyone tell me that english girls wont do that sort of work. i say just go to the duke of cornwall and watch those three lovely ladies work.will definately use the duke again

Room Tip: ask for the room with seperate en suite shower room gigantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

Great pub with with some great rooms, I have been upgraded twice to a larger room at no cost. On both visits have been welcomed warmly and the staff have been great and can't do enough for you.

Decent sized car park next to the pub so easy access when it gets a bit chillier.

The room was large clean and comfortable with a massive bathroom. TV, drinks facilities and Massive bar just down a few steps ;)

Will happily go back when in the area, good price as well. I didnt eat here this time other than breakfast and that was great but have done and the meals I saw looked fantistic if a little large.

Chris

Room Tip: Number 7 if free and you won't be dissappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Nice little pub with very clean rooms our room had a shower but the loo was shared & down the hall. The restaurant has very tasty & huge meals as was our wonderful breakfast,the staff were very polite & friendly. It was just a shame though being smokers as we are that the smoking had to be shared with cats that had relieved themselves all through garden bringing flies & unpleasant smells other than that I would definitely recommend it & it was also great value @ £65 the night.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had a great stay at the lovely Duke of Cornwall. The staff could not have been more helpful or considerate. They provided a great little nook in theit beer garden for our tandem to spend the night. The double room we had was clean and comfortable with lots of extras lilke toileties and plenty of tea and coffee. The meal in the pub bar was delicilous and the next day's breakfast was plentiful and beautifully prepared. We would, by all means, return to this well-run estabilishment in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

For the price of a double room I suppose £55 is not bad, but the B&B side is not great.
The bar is great fully stocked hip with all beers & ciders,
The food menu though seems to be geared to American food and not much choice apart from burgers or burgers with bacon !!
Beer garden is also nice.

The double room we had though had damp in the bathroom, a shower that did not work properly and a bathroom the size of a cupboard.
Not to mention that as this pub is situated on a main road next to traffic lights , then getting to sleep is not easy.
I was disappointed especially as its owned by the St Austell brewery but the rooms were not worth the money.
The location is not great either as your not really in walking distance of anywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Very friendly staff, room and en-suite spotlessly clean, good breakfast and a very competitively priced restaurant serving generous portions. Very pretty beer garden and enough parking spaces for guests. I would be happy to stay here again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

great food very welcoming staff. the room was comfortable and very clean. the whole atmosphere was welcoming from staff and customers in the bar to the varying cats! would definitely go back. we were there to go to an event at the eden project and the staff were great in helping with getting us there

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wpb2222410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.8 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
0.7 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
383 reviews
1.1 mi away
Topos Bed & Breakfast
Topos Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 97 in St Austell
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#39 of 97 in St Austell
72 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Elms Guest House
The Elms Guest House
#13 of 97 in St Austell
75 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grange
The Grange
#20 of 97 in St Austell
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke Of Cornwall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Of Cornwall

Address: 98 Victoria Road, St Austell PL25 4QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range: £56 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Duke Of Cornwall 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Duke Of Cornwall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Cornwall St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing