We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Friendly B & B”
Review of The Arches B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Arches B&B
Ranked #11 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

When we arrived we were welcomed by Nikki and asked if we needed a hand to carry luggage to our room. Then as we were shown to our room we were presented with flowers and a bottle of wine from Nikki to celebrate our wedding anniversary.We then went downstairs to a lovely cream tea...
The Blue Room was comfortable, clean and a decent size. With en-suite, fridge, TV and Tea and Coffee making facilities.
Morning breakfast was delicious, especially bacon the way I like it and the scrambled egg made with clotted cream..
Ideal location for Eden Project, Lost Gardens of Heligan, Mevagissey and various other cornish towns and attractions.

Room Tip: Blue Room Recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelC466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Arches B&B was spot on. Nikki and her beautiful dog Kendra were perfect hostesses and nothing was too much trouble. I really love good, honest & down to earth individuals and Nikki fit the bill, it was an absolute pleasure staying here.
It is well organised, breakfasts are very tasty and the room was well stocked with tea making facilites and a fridge, spot on, everything you could ask for. Bed was sooooo comfy, we were reluctant to leave it and even though the other rooms were in close proximity, it was astoundingly quiet, we had the best 2 nights sleep we've had travelling in a long time! I will say the bed was a bit close to the wall so we banged our knees a couple of times walking past it to get out of the room - this is a small price to pay for a great nights sleep though!

I will say that we drove past the entrance to the teeny weeny car park a few times when we first arrived here, be prepared as it is a sharp bend and a small steep hill (as is most of Cornwall!) and probably only good for little cars like mine!
Location was great, only a short 8 minute walk down the hill into town and Nikki had VIP discount cards for the local restaurants which came in handy (20% off Frankie & Bennys? Don't mind if we do!). It is also a short drive to the Eden Project and to Charlestown (don't miss Carylon Bay - try and see it before it gets built over!).

We've already warned Nikki that we will be back and this is where we will be staying! :D

Room Tip: Red Room - opposite the bathroom, looks out over the Arches and the bed was the comfiest bed ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We had a brilliant time in Cornwall. Stayed for 5 nights, The Arches is a brilliant place to stay. Makes an ideal base for visiting different resorts. We had our dog with us and found it to be very pet friendly.
Room was cleaned each day and the breakfast was excellent with great choice.

Hostess Nikki is very welcoming and nothing was any trouble. would defiantly stay again and recommend a stay at the Arches. excellent value for money

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We spent a week at the arches, and found nikki to be a welcoming, friendly hostess.
The previous comments regarding the parking are true, but parking in Cornwall can cause problems, and although we sometimes had to ask nikki to move her car, we were never inconvenienced.
The bedroom was comfortable, clean and everything we could have asked for. The fridge was an unexpected nice touch, keeping drinks cool. We were in the blue room and did not suffer from any noise, so cannot comment on the traffic, but having walked into town several evenings, we cannot believe that the traffic is busy enough to warrant keeping windows closed.
The breakfasts were very good - and very filling. Lunch was not needed!
The arches provides a good base for exploring Cornwall and were we to return to the area, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JASBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Yet again a lovely warm welcome, a homemade cream tea on arrival which was yummy. Had the blue room this time. Loved the bed. There was a clever idea of a bird feeder on the window so saw lots of different birds who were quite happy to come and eat while you watched. thoroughly enjoyed my full English breakfast before off sightseeing. Thank you Nikki and Kendra for another lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laski950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at The Arches. We were travelling with a friend, so booked the unit on the top floor. It was very spacious, had plenty of natural light, and was well equipped with a dining table, large television and tea/coffee making facilities in each of the bedrooms. The good sized bathroom had a somewhat creaky floor but that was no issue for us, we just hoped we were not disturbing anyone below. Our host, Nikki, was helpful and informative. She was able to provide us with some ideas for day trips and sightseeing. Her breakfasts were the ideal start to the day, with a wide variety of choices from fresh fruits and cereal, toast and jams, to a full English made to order. The highlight of our stay was the addition of Kendra, Nikki's beautiful dog. Gentle and relaxed, she was always happy to have a pat. That said, Kendra knew her boundaries and never stepped foot out of the entrance area.
We happily recommend The Arches. I know we will be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Nikki is an excellent hostess who provides an excellent cream tea upon arrival and clean comfortable accomodation including an excellent plenty of choice breakfast which sets one up for the day.
The Arches is located a short walking distance from the town where there is a choice of pubs providing good food and drink.
The Eden Project and Lost Gardens of Heligan are a short drive away and there are also good beaches within a short drive away.
We consider that this place provides a good base for exploring both north and south coasts and is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toxoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
0.2 mi away
Topos Bed & Breakfast
Topos Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 97 in St Austell
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Waterwheel Inn
The Waterwheel Inn
#3 of 97 in St Austell
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gwyndra House
Gwyndra House
#19 of 97 in St Austell
87 reviews
1 mi away
Duke Of Cornwall
Duke Of Cornwall
#55 of 97 in St Austell
64 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arches B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arches B&B

Address: 78 Bodmin Road, St Austell PL25 5AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range: £52 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Arches B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Arches B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arches B&B Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing