We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Sunnycroft

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunnycroft
Ranked #88 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed for two nights at Sunnycroft and were not disappointed.
A great welcome, useful advice about the locality/eateries etc. Clean and comfortable room, very tasty breakfast and nothing was too much trouble for our host James.
Would highly recommend Sunnycroft both for location to Cornwall attractions and for the quality of accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tradburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    23
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Warm reception, good room, very good breakfast in their beautiful solarium.

We had to leave our bicycle outside .

Room Tip: Room at the back more calm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planeur46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay at Sunnycroft. It was ideally located for visiting the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan.
James was very helpful in giving us precise walking directions from the station and we received a warm welcome upon arrival. Our room was attractively decorated with luxury fabrics and a huge bed. We also appreciated the little extra touches like quality toiletries, a robe and shower cap. Although our room was at the front of the house we were not disturbed by the road noise. The communal areas were also welcoming and it was lovely having breakfast in the conservatory.
As other guests have mentioned, the breakfast was excellent, well cooked and just the right amount. It was nice to have a variety of fresh fruit as well.
James recommended we visit the harbour in Charlestown for dinner and we spent a very enjoyable evening wandering round the area before dining at the Rashleigh Arms, which I highly recommend for great food and very friendly service.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poots-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Hi, just returned from a Mon to Fri break with my partner and his mother. We all enjoyed it very much. James, Sally and his mother were very nice and very friendly and did all they could to be helpful to us. We were allowed to use the place as our own even though it was not a hotel. The plus side is the hospitality, the breakfast, the cleanliness and the fact that nothing is too much trouble for James. Davids mothers room was lovely and big and quite luxurious. Our room was disapointing as it was too small for us really but it didnt matter as James allowed us to use the guest lounge too which was lovely so no moans!! None of us heard the traffic, none of us heard the other guests, it was peaceful and very nice. We will go again and I would recommend this B and B. Thankyou for everything from David and Hilary and Edith x

Room Tip: Ask for room 3, Eat out at Fowey at The boathouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HillbillyBeccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

We stayed for 2 nights. The breakfast was lovely, the king size bed was very comfortable and owners friendly. We would go back to this B&B again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOPKINS29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjiecornwall, Manager at Sunnycroft, responded to this review, 29 January 2011
Many thank yous for your kind review it is very much appreciated we hope to see you again in the future take care best wishes Sunnycroft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We stayed for 2 nights in October 2010 and chose to stay in St. Austell because it's close to the Eden Project.

Our room was a small double and, as previously stated, it really is small. We knew before (the owner was actually phoning us to confirm we're still happy with the choice) and weren't surprised by it. The interior is very nice, the whole house is tidy and clean. The breakfast was really good and it was nice to sit in the conservatory.
On a separate note - we had dinner at the Rashleigh Arms in Charlestown Harbour, which was good, inexpensive pub food and I would recommend this place very much. On the second evening we had dinner at the restaurant in Charlestown Harbour called Wreckers and it was overpriced and the food was lacking flavour, although the portions were huge and the place packed. Maybe a fried option would have done the trick?
A taxi from the b&b to the harbour were £7.50 return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCBB2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjiecornwall, Manager at Sunnycroft, responded to this review, 29 January 2011
Many thank yous for your kind review it is very much appreciated we hope to see you again in the future take care best wishes Sunnycroft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Sunnycroft as the room we stayed was beautifully decorated and very clean. Despite reviews that the location of Sunnycroft is on a busy road we didn't hear the traffic at all. The room we stayed was well equipped with everything you would require, ironing board and iron, hot and cold drinks facilities, hair-dryer and even bath robes and a very comfortable bed especially for someone like me who is heavily pregnant.

James the proprietor was very friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the area which is helpful especially if you've never visited Cornwall before.

I would definitely recommend Sunnycroft to travellers and especially the breakfast too as it was very delicious.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahliu021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjiecornwall, Owner at Sunnycroft, responded to this review, 7 September 2010
Many thank yous for your kind review it is very much appreciated we hope to see you again in the future take care best wishes Sunnycroft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 17 in Par
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ancient Shipbrokers
Ancient Shipbrokers
#2 of 4 in Pentewan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnycroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnycroft

Property: Sunnycroft
Address: 28 Penwinnick Road, St Austell PL25 5DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunnycroft 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sunnycroft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnycroft Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing