We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyable visit”
Review of Sunnycroft

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunnycroft
Ranked #88 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable visit”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We had a great stay at Sunnycroft on a Groupon deal. The breakfast was really enjoyable and James is very hospitable and keen to please. Check out The Polgooth Inn nearby for a great meal.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angiejones100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    23
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Visiting a relative in the area and came across a Groupon deal for this place - well worth the money, would definitely return again. James, the host, is very welcoming and helpful. Room - nicely decorated and comfortable with a huge bed, en-suite only has shower but you can't have everything. I would agree that the lounge is somewhat small but this was not an issue in our case.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 51angler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The House is tastefully decorated to a high standard, bed was lovely and comfy and a very warm welcome awaiting you. However there were just a few small little niggles, there is room for approx. 12 guests or more and only 4 guests can use the lounge and although the conservatory is a lovely place to have breakfast it is quite cramped. We stayed in room 4, spotlessly clean but very small and it wasn’t always easy for the 2 of us to negotiate around simultaneously and the en suite is the smallest I have ever witnessed! With the TV being minuscule too. Ladies sanitary products could not be flushed down the loo, which is fine, but a bin with a lid would have been preferred for such a private time. Just a word of warning though if you want a cooked breakfast you need to order the night before. We weren’t advised of this and dipped out. This Hotel is perfect if you get a voucher but we paid £175 for 2 nights and it really wasn’t worth the money

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pilthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Highly recommended. Very friendly service from the outset. The room was comfortable and well stocked with tea and coffee - the en-suite bathroom was great!

Generous breakfast served in the conservatory was excellent, with fresh coffee being a particular favourite! James, our host, was very helpful and informative, and took extra care to see we were enjoying our stay.

As I say, absolutely recommended.

Ed + Helen

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward_J87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I stay here on business when visiting St Austell. James is a fantastic host where nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are well appointed, warm and very comfortable. James does an amazing cornish breakfast with delicious freshly brewed coffee (one of the things I am most fussy about!). This friendly, lovely B&B is so good, I have made it our company's preferred accommodation in Cornwall and have already booked myself in there for my next vist in January. I really can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emster040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton,South Africa
Level Contributor
208 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

James & Sally the proprietors are really pleasant, with a helpful attitude, and James serves a great breakfast in the bright garden room. We stayed 2 nights, in the front room upstairs, (overlooking the garden,) which was spotless, (first prize), with bathroom-en-suite. Bus to Heligan Gardens walking distance. Bit far from the train station to walk. Found a carboot sale down the road - a little bonus. Just walking around the area is very pleasant & we found the weather in November just perfect.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilda18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Fl
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Unfortunately I was using buses and trains and there is no bus service nearby. I had to take a taxi to get to the bus station each day and the cost added up.
I had a single and as it had a queen size bed there wasn't much room. To open the closet, I had to move my suitcase. However, the comfortable bed made up for that.
James was a terrific host and the complimentary hot breakfasts were something to look forward to. The coffee was especially delicious. The best I had in Cornwall.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suger1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
2.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,517 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
474 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 17 in Par
100 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ancient Shipbrokers
Ancient Shipbrokers
#2 of 4 in Pentewan
30 reviews
3.1 mi away
Penarth Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnycroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnycroft

Property: Sunnycroft
Address: 28 Penwinnick Road, St Austell PL25 5DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunnycroft 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sunnycroft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnycroft Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing