We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for”
Review of Sunnycroft

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunnycroft
Ranked #87 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Stayed in November as part of a Groupon and stayed in 'the annex' (as mentioned before this was quite a small room and looks like a converted garage). Now, lets look at this for what it cost; Brilliant. Warm, dry, own front door, come and go as you please and brekkie was fab. If I had to pay the full advertised price to stay in this room I would have been less than pleased. I susspect that these rooms are the deal rooms? I know that's what I would do.

Other than that, the owners were a delight and even though it's on a busy road it's not too noisy and it's great for getting out and about!

Would I stay again? Quite possibly yes.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mouhag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2013

Sunnycroft is wonderful having stayed there for a winter breakaway where we were able to re-charge our batteries.
Lovely and warm felt really cosy and welcoming. Our room was lovely with everything we required and one would expect to have in a modern bed and breakfast.
Location is very central where it is easy to gain access to many of the local attractions.
We would have no hesitation in recommending Sunnycroft to our friends.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Having booked through Groupon the pictures and comments came across very well. The Groupon price was excellent for a two night stay with continental breakfast. The 4star however is debatable. Firstly it is situated on a main road and can be quite noisy at certain times of the day. The wifi is ok when it works. The most disappointing part was the shower - well you couldn't really call it a shower more of a dribble. When mentioned was told it happens when other people shower as well but have experienced it when no one else was around. Said was going to be looked into and as far as we can see nothing has changed. For a 4star this is not acceptable. It is a great location however for Eden Project, Newquay & surrounding areas. The host was very helpful and polite. Would consider this no more than a very average 3star at a push.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheKiwi1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjiecornwall, Owner at Sunnycroft, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

Thank You for your review it is always good for us to learn through guests experience and comments.
There are a few things in your comments we would like to address for other guests coming to stay with us at Sunnycroft.
Firstly we were sorry to read you thought we should be graded 3 Star rather than the 4 Star . We are graded every year with the AA and this based on all our accommodation.
We are situated off a main route road which if googling us you would of seen our location as we are centrally located in St.Austell
The Wifi we were un aware you were having any difficulty as up until now have had no complaints on this service which is Free to all our guests and we are on the fast Broad Band connection.
The Shower in the room you stayed in did have a fault which was looked at for you. However at the time of inspection it seemed to be running well. On the day of your departure you informed us at that the shower was still not working that well. I can confirm we called in a plumber who changed the head and is now working well. However on this occasion we are so sorry that the shower was not working at it's full capacity.
Once again thank you for your review we take it in the greatest respect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

The website states " this 4-star guest house offers a blend of charming period character and modern comfort and luxury, with free Wi-Fi available throughout", so we was very disappointed to not be staying within the house but was located in what appeared to be the original garage of the house which was converted, room no 6. The room had no wardrobe or remote for the TV, also we could not access the wi fi, James did advise that this may happen and we would need to go in the main house. We did ask to be moved to the main house as there were empty rooms but James advised that they were allocated to guests the following night so was not prepared to move us. We found this very unhelpful and could not understand the reason given as we were not given a allocated room number prior to our arrival so why would other guests? There is no mention on the website of the possibility that you may not be staying in the main house or any photos of the converted garage. Disappointed...

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nichola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjiecornwall, Owner at Sunnycroft, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

We were sorry again as we did respond to your email that you were disappointed in your room allocation it is never nice to read negative reviews.
We would like to respond for future guests reviewing our reviews. We have 7 rooms and being a Bed and Breakfast we do not have standard set rooms. They are all different but all decorated with the same design and all our guests can can enjoy all our facilities.
With the comment on moving rooms this was a deal break with large discounts with people mainly requiring the most popular of weekends. We were generally unable to move you with been fully booked otherwise we would of from the outset.
All rooms that allocated when guests booked are informed of their type and location within and out of the property.
We do not have converted garages they are purpose built buildings that we class as an annex. All rooms which are fully described on our website which was also given on the deal which we hope people would go on to before making any bookings
We receive many happy guests that stay in our annex rooms but sorry on this occasion you were un happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Have spent 3 nights at Sunnycroft with my mother on a trip to Eden Project. Lovely accommodation and fantastic breakfast. Ideal location. Can't understand the gripe about the noise.We had a lovely peaceful stay. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mwhite136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Situated on a very busy and noisy road so get hot with the windows shut or get woken up early with traffic. Room nicely done out but small and not sure why it was more expensive than a similar place in Kendall used two weeks previously. Owner very nice but hosting your mates with loud music until very late is not on. Better off in a conventional hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

We arrived a little early on the Saturday of August bank holiday weekend and was greeted by James who gave us a tour and showed us to our room. When we booked on the groupon deal I spoke with Sally from sunnycroft and was advised the size of our room and that it's most suitable for a single but would let us use it as a double. We had a few issues with the booking as I recieved a payment email with apologies from Sally that she had over quoted us on price - a nice surprise. I e-mailed at a later date to ask if we could arrive a day later and stay an extra night, I never recieved a reply so called, spoke to Sally who advised the change had been made. I never recieved an email notification so called again a week later and Sally advised the change had never been made, I also asked for an upgrade as I was worried about the room size now after reading the reviews. Sally said they were now fully booked. The room to our pleasant surprise was not squished at all and the bathroom was plenty big enough, we only stayed for 2 nights so a wardrobe and drawers was plenty. The lack of shower curtain was a worry and the cobwebs in the bathroom was the only fault to be found in the
room. Water and glasses were stored in the bathroom however I think this was due to lack of work space, shower gels and shampoos are refilled, and waking up to the smell of bacon was a real treat. Our deal only included cereals and toast for breakfast however we could have upgraded for £3.50 which seemed very reasonable as it looked delicious. We enjoyed our stay immensely and this was mainly down to James who was very welcoming, informative and a great host!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodloversclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
2.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,595 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 16 in Par
107 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
0.5 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
384 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ancient Shipbrokers
Ancient Shipbrokers
#2 of 4 in Pentewan
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnycroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnycroft

Address: 28 Penwinnick Road, St Austell PL25 5DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range: £48 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Sunnycroft Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing