We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely buget room”
Review of Sunnycroft

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunnycroft
Ranked #88 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely buget room”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I booked this trip through Groupon which meant getting a budget room, however the room was suited to exactly what we wanted. It was small, but a cosy small. The perfect room to come back to after day of exploring Cornwalls coasts. The hosts were amazing and did everything they could to make us feel welcome. The breakfast was nice, for £3.50 my partner upgraded to a full English but for value the basic breakfast was the best option. Overall a great stay!

Room Tip: The garage/budget room were brilliant for coming and going without worrying about disturbing the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hl8463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    23
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Ok, so we bought this via groupon for £89 for the 2 nights stay plus £10 to get weekend dates. Luckily we never paid the £79 rrp per night on this as i think i would have walked out...

Got to the B&B early evening and was told about full English breakfast being an extra £3.50 per person, which i could see my partner wasn't happy about. So warning here is to read the small print, as 'buffet breakfast' includes cereals, fruit, juice and yogurt only.

We were shown to our room (No.5) which was an annexe round the back. Adequate. The shower is pants, bits of mould starting to appear, towels small and frayed, very basic. There were biscuits, kettle and tea bags so i was happy.

Bumped into the male owner (James i think) who was very polite and did his best at all times.

A bit of a squeeze to sit at breakfast.
B&B the main A road.

We had a great time visiting most of southern cornwall so we had a good time in any case.

Compared to others i have stayed at Poltarrow Farm and Edenview its a 2/3*.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaz1234Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed in Sunnycroft for my birthday. We were in the annexe(room 6) and did not found it as bad as some reviews suggest it is! The room in itself is nice and simple. It is not the biggest room in the world but my partner bought it on groupon, you have what you pay for!
The bathroom was nice, I had a lovely bath.
The best part about our stay was the breakfast made with very fresh fruits and nice coffee.
We found the staff really nice and helpful, James suggested us some nice places for food and going surfing.
We were not so keen on St Austell though, it seemed really empty for a saturday night.
Peranporth was really good for surfing!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coconuts29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

Sorry this is late but experienced sunnycroft in December. Beautiful rooms with designer furniture fabrics and fittings. It was lovely to be able to come and go as you please without being "mobbed" by pushy owners. James the owner cooked a magnificent breakfast and nothing was too much trouble. Attention to detail and requests were welcome. Will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kernowlobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2013

on arrival was greeted in such a lovely way and made to feel so welcome. we were given the most beautiful comfortable room.

It was in an ideal location and close to all ammenities. And we used this to our advantage to see places like eden and heligan.

The breakfast was just fantastic with excellent service. We will definetly return and will be booking here again.

thank you for a wonderful break away.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscarness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We booked via Groupon in early December for 2 nights stay in April. We booked a twin room but were given a double which we were not pleased about. Everything was clean but all very tired even the towels were frayed. The room was very cramped, nowhere to hang clothes apart from a home made bracket, which could not be reached if you are short. The shower was woefully under powered and came out more like a trickle. The breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Always check with the owner what you have booked, ie if you want a twin make sure they confirm in wr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Nice guest house in a residential area on the main road through town. Good value price and pleasant rooms. The breakfast room is a greenhouse type extension which is very nice. It is walking distance or short drive to a KFC and McDonalds. Owners were very helpful and we had a pleasant one night stay as we were heading to the Eden Project which is about20 minutes away by car. We would recommend staying here and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 587Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 17 in Par
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ancient Shipbrokers
Ancient Shipbrokers
#2 of 4 in Pentewan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnycroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnycroft

Property: Sunnycroft
Address: 28 Penwinnick Road, St Austell PL25 5DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunnycroft 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sunnycroft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnycroft Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing