We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B with a yummy breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunnycroft

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunnycroft
Ranked #89 of 98 St Austell B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic B&B with a yummy breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Sunnycroft as the room we stayed was beautifully decorated and very clean. Despite reviews that the location of Sunnycroft is on a busy road we didn't hear the traffic at all. The room we stayed was well equipped with everything you would require, ironing board and iron, hot and cold drinks facilities, hair-dryer and even bath robes and a very comfortable bed especially for someone like me who is heavily pregnant.

James the proprietor was very friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the area which is helpful especially if you've never visited Cornwall before.

I would definitely recommend Sunnycroft to travellers and especially the breakfast too as it was very delicious.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahliu021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjiecornwall, Owner at Sunnycroft, responded to this review, 7 September 2010
Many thank yous for your kind review it is very much appreciated we hope to see you again in the future take care best wishes Sunnycroft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    23
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North West
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of July and the whole saty was lovely. The bed was huge and comfy and you just lost yourself in it!!!!! The breakfast was very very nice too and the setting though on a main road meant it was easy to get to many places in that area of Cornwall - being very near to the Eden Project was one of the reasons we chose it. The owner was there to greet us and was very helpful about the surrounding area and also the Eden Project. We would definitely stay there again when we go to Cornwall,

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelleyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjiecornwall, Owner at Sunnycroft, responded to this review, 24 August 2010
Many thank yous for your kind review it is very much appreciated we hope to see you again in the future take care best wishes Sunnycroft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

We stayed here for a weekend and were sorry it was not for longer, as we were made very welcome. The hotel was clean, the food was excellent and the proprietor, James, very helpful.
The room, albeit small, was beautifully decorated and a lot of thought had gone into providing those items we might need, such as free Wi-fi connection and dressing gowns.
OK, so there was no wardrobe, and the shower could have been more powerful, but the pros far outweighed the cons. We thoroughly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the_white_horse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjiecornwall, Manager at Sunnycroft, responded to this review, 30 July 2010
Many thank yous for your kind review it is very much appreciated we hope to see you again in the future take care best wishes Sunnycroft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

We stayed for four nights in July and had a great stay. The room was lovely - very clean and comfortable with a really big bed and nice white linen. There was a good choice for breakfast and the cooked breakfasts were just the right size. The only very slight downside was that because we were in a downstairs room we could hear people coming and going to breakfast in the mornings, however this wasn't a real issue as we were early risers anyway. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We would return and would also recommend this B&B to others.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mischief3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjiecornwall, Owner at Sunnycroft, responded to this review, 30 July 2010
Many thank yous for your kind review it is very much appreciated we hope to see you again in the future take care best wishes Sunnycroft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

OK, so there are a couple of bad reviews against this hotel, but please, if you are thinking of stopping here, don't hesitate. The best thing about this hotel is the service. The fact that a couple of people said that their service was bad baffles me completely. Before we even got there James (the owner) was giving us good service.....I'll explain...James was due to go out for an hour on the day we were due to arrive, so he called us to let us know and to find out whether that would affect us. Now I have never had a B&B call me to let me know they wouldn't be there for a while - massive tick!! We weren't due to get there until around 10:30pm, but James arranged that no matter what time we got there, we would be able to check in ok - huge pressure taken off us at that point! First impressions of the room = it smelt lovely!! Second impression = small. We were not in the main building so can't comment on the main rooms. The room we were in was very clean and was decorated to a high standard. It was modern, welcoming and the bed was comfy. When we went to breakfast the next morning, James was extremely hospitable. The food was really good (We both stop away a lot with work and have eaten in many places -all I will say is that we looked forward to breakfast the next morning!) James went over and above to help us out with local attractions, restaurants, places to go. We couldn't ask for more! In summary, we had a lovely break, in a modern B&B that made us feel welcomed, that served great food and has a great owner. Would definately recommend and would definately stay there again. Hope this review helps.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Birksies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjiecornwall, Owner at Sunnycroft, responded to this review, 30 July 2010
Many thank yous for your kind review it is very much appreciated we hope to see you again in the future take care best wishes Sunnycroft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

After a very long trip my husband and I were looking forward to retiring at Sunnycroft, we had travelled from York and after booking our stay online (an impressive website which made the place look very swish) we were looking forward to our stay.
Now, I have to add that my husband and I have stayed in some very nice b&b's and have had excellent service, unfortunately this was not one of those occasions!
On arriving we were disapointed to find that the place was situated next to a very busy noisy road, not really what we had wanted for a peaceful stay.
We knocked on the front door to find no answer, there was a crumpled piece of paper sellotaped to the top of the door which read something along the lines of "if no answer please phone this number". I assumed that maybe they don't always hear the door. On ringing the number I was greeted by a very rude man who I can only assume was the proprieter he demanded to know who I was and what I wanted. He then went on to say that he was busy and no one was home and that we would have to let ourselves in! We were gobsmacked, not the welcome we wanted after our long trip.
Now I don't want to disclose too much information about how we were told to gain access to the property as it was highly easy and I feel it would put the place at risk, this was another thing that worried me about the place, I mean anyone off the street could easily let themselves in.
Once entering, the place was very well decorated, clean and tidy, I have to say it was very well presented.
The rude gentleman on the phone then instructed us that our room was at the top of the stairs on the left hand side and that the key was in the door waiting for us.
We ventured upstairs to find that there were infact two rooms on the left both with keys in! After the abrupt manner of the man on the phone I didn't want to trouble him and phone back to check what the room number was. We let ourselves into both rooms hoping that there might be a clue as to which was ours.
The rooms were small and the beds were far to large for the room but again were clean and well decorated.
At this point my husband and I decided that it may be best to go down stairs and simply wait for the owners to return, we felt very uncomfortable about the whole situation. After 45 minutes wait some more guests arrived and went through the whole rigmorale that we had an hour before. It was at this point we decided that we didn't want to stay in a place which had such poor customer service and left straight away.
Overall a very bad experience, we were gutted that we had paid our 50% deposit. I think it is terrible that the place is left unmanned when guests are due to arrive. I obviously cannot comment on the food and the comfort of the bed etc as we didn't actually stay.
I have noticed that there is another bad review on here and the owners have written a comment saying that they didn't actually stay there, To me it is clear from the descriptions that they clearly did stay there. I assume they will probably do the same to this review, don't believe it! And don't stay there!

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank weezeypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjiecornwall, Manager at Sunnycroft, responded to this review, 14 June 2010
Firstly upon reading this review is very upsetting as we did in deed have a guest who booked through a booking company not ourselves for a one night stay who firstly through the terms and conditions of the booking company pay a 50% deposit. which when taken was declined, upon contacting the guest had confirmed insufficient funds in her account however this was rectified within a couple of days.
She booked one of our small double/single rooms which are clearly written on all our advertising where we clearly confirm that the room is better suited for single occupancy however we will accept two persons upon the knowledge of this information.
When this guest arrived we were servicing our apartment they had arrived before our arrival time of 3.30pm which again is stipulated on all correspondence however we have a safe security system for the benefit of early arrivals so guest can access them into the bed and breakfast.
The guest was informed politely of our where abouts and given instructions to enter into the bed and breakfast and the room allocated to her, she was also informed that we would be approxely 20 minutes but to make themselves comfortable.
We did have another guest also arrive early but they came to the bed and breakfast in error as they were staying in one of our apartments and were quite happy for us to return to give them detailed information how to get to the apartment they informed us that another couple came out of the front door and said they were fine.
Unfortunately we were unaware the guest had decided not to stay until the next morning as when we arrived back my husband went to greet them but their was no answer so we presumed they had gone out. It was only realizing they had not come down for breakfast that we were worried and went up to their room to find know one there.
We think they were very rude not even to inform us they did not want to stay was appalling yes we are near a busy road as we are central St.Austell anyone goggling us will clearly see our location and we would advise anyone booking with us through different websites and have specific needs especially if they prefer a quite location we would not be suitable.
We pride ourselves in honesty and most importantly our guest’s satisfaction and have never been rude to any of our guest we feel this review is very misconstrued and the facts are not grounded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

Well we did stay in the best room which had a fantastic bed. Lovely and clean. Cracking breakfast really set you up well. Good location for visiting the whole of Cornwall. We booked last minute (owing to Volcanic Ash) even open at 10pm when we arrived.
Excellent

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plugmanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjiecornwall, Owner at Sunnycroft, responded to this review, 30 July 2010
Many thank yous for your kind review it is very much appreciated we hope to see you again in the future take care best wishes Sunnycroft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
3.1 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 17 in Par
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
No photo provided
Vine Cottage B&B
#11 of 17 in Par
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ancient Shipbrokers
Ancient Shipbrokers
#2 of 4 in Pentewan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnycroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnycroft

Property: Sunnycroft
Address: 28 Penwinnick Road, St Austell PL25 5DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunnycroft 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Sunnycroft Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing