We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done Brett, Emma and the team!”
Review of Austell's - CLOSED

Austell's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Austell's is an open planned restaurant with a raised level eating area for the guests to view the chefs working! We pride ourselves in innovative cuisine with an informal, relaxed service!
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well done Brett, Emma and the team!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

"Whilst in Mevagissey, at the fabulous Pebble House, we were told about 'Austell's' restuarant. Despite being a few miles away our hosts Andrea and Simon felt we'd be impressed. We said we'd give it a go and they kindly made the reservation.

Andrea had booked a table near to the open kitchen. Brett knew we were visiting and invested time chatting to us whilst handling the kitchen routine with ease. This was a pleasure for us as he knew we weren't 'Mr. & Mrs. Regular'.

Three things really count...good food, good service and good atmosphere. A failure in any one results in a poor experience. Simply put, each was surpassed with ease. A buzzy place with no pretentious atmosphere. Service from all without being overbearing; with the front of house manager, Emma, orchestrating the events. Food. Top class! Brett (and his whole team) work hard to create something special. Would we go back? We did...the next night! Had we gone sooner in our stay we'd have made it every evening!

Of course there's a fourth matter that's important and that's 'value for money'. Having eaten worldwide, in a lot of very high class restaurants...it's the best we can remember by far!

Well done to all...from the guys in the back though the Chef and front of house. We wish you every success (and wished you were in the Midlands!). John & Karen"

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnBandKarenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,080
    105
    38
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Halloween fun with outstanding food!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Brett, the chef, Always has a creative and delicious menu, but tonight was even more inventive with a ghoulish twist on spectacular choices. I started with a "Witches blood Bellini" followed by "roasted Soul in a mussel coffin" And "burnt pumpkin pie", all of which were so delicious! The staff all showed a great sense of humour with their costumes and made this a fun family night. Thank you all

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kvmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Absolutely met expectation!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Staying in St Austell for the first time this restaurant was recommended by a friend. Checked out the Trip Advisor reviews and booked on these bases. Went with very high expectations and they were absolutely met in every respect.

Welcoming host/maitre'd, delightful service, and wonderful food and wine.
Set menu was £25 with just a few choices but the carte was not expensive, and added maybe another fiver or so per head to the cost. Had a rabbit croquette, hake and orange crème brullee from the set menu and smoked trout and lamb from the carte. We had a really lovely Vedejho from the Rueda region of Spain to accompany.


Could not fault anything and will go back for certain if ever in St Austell again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeCoucey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
652 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“gorgeous in every sense”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Easily one of best meals ever had (which perhaps isn't saying much !) We pre-booked, a good job as it was very busy ! We were offered a table for 4 facing the open-plan kitchen and the chef took great delight chatting to us about various things such as which fish caught nearby in Cornwall are the best and also showing us how his 'jus' (stock / gravy) takes three days to make using meat bones, carrots, red wine, onions, various herbs. Complimentary water and starters made up of fresh local Cornish bread which could be dipped in oil, butter and balsamic vinegar which was so tasty we needn't have bothered with a 'proper' starter but we did anyhow and my goats cheese was excellent. Main course : baked haddock, dauphinoise potatoes, peas, leeks and mushrooms with creme brulee to finish. 3 courses came to about £28, not extortionate, waitress service was extremely attentive, informative and friendly and the manageress took time out to have a chat with us as we were leaving - usually such busy establishments just want to get rid of you once you've settled the bill ! So all-in-all, tourists and locals alike, you should visit here ....regularly !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mister J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Just had a fabulous meal at austells, a massive thank you to Brett for my delicious pudding too, :))
Staff attentive, helpful and friendly.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geneveronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Austell's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing