We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have a Michelin star!”
Review of Austell's - CLOSED

Austell's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Austell's is an open planned restaurant with a raised level eating area for the guests to view the chefs working! We pride ourselves in innovative cuisine with an informal, relaxed service!
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Should have a Michelin star!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The welcome, service and atmosphere was great! Hidden gem, in amongst a parade of shops on a housing estate! Recommended by golfing friend or we wouldn't know it was there.Fantastic food, very interesting menu.Loved it. My husband wished we sat nearer the open kitchen as he wanted to watch the chefs as he loves cooking. Highly recommended.Well done to all the staff we thoroughly enjoyed our visit to your wonderful restaurant!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank butleighbell b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,080
    105
    38
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Deserved to be Top in St Austell”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyable experience. We booked at the last minute and were graciously accommodated even though they were full, and made to feel very well welcome.

The food (marinated salmon for starter, duck and lamb for mains) was flawlessly executed and the service superb.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erlanger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Trying Too Hard”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The location is rather off putting for a start; in the middle of a housing estate and next to a Chinese take away. Hmmm, nit well thought out. Once inside a friendly greeting awaits; efficient front of house staff take real good care of you. Unfortunately the food was the disappointing element. We sampled different starters each and they were mediocre. Main meals were ok but the meat was a cheap cut, rather dry, the food overall was not very hot and lacked seasoning and overall taste. Presented well but disappointing overall quality. I suggest changing location and for the chef to taste the food before it leaves the kitchen.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best starter I've ever had”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I'd normally always go for a meat starter but I'm so glad I had the wild mushroom broth...incredible. The main course was great too and even though I was stuffed, managed to fit in a lovely dessert too.

Restaurant was full but staff were attentive and efficient. Perfect meal.

Helpful?
Thank Robbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The reviews don't lie”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This restaurant had been recommended to us by a friend in St Austell, by our hosts at the B&B we were staying at (Harmony Homestay q.v.) and of course it's #1 on Trip Advisor. From our visit on a Sunday evening, it's hard to disagree.

Don't let the rather unpreposessing exterior put you off, it is located in what is a small parade of shops away from the town centre and the sea-front area of town.

Their service was warm friendly and efficient; it was nice to have the owner drop by the table to check how things were. The food was excellently cooked and the portions were of a reasonable size that meat we were able to enjoy three courses. I'll even forgive them serving the food on rectangular plates - what is wrong with round plates for meals? In all two martinis, a bottle of wine, three courses and a coffee came to just over £100 for the two of us.

A tip - if booking see if you can get one of the higher numbered table e.g. #17, they are at the back of the restaurant but you do get to watch the activities in the kitchen whilst waiting for you food.

Not cheap but well worth it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrightonRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Austell's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing