We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful retreat after days in the great Cornish outdoors!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mill House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mill House
Ranked #72 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful retreat after days in the great Cornish outdoors!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

Stayed at The Granary on a self-catering basis for three nights, and although it was a bit on the pricey side, found the accommodation to be delightful and well worth the money. The place *was* a tiny bit musty on first arrival, but a quick airing with the door and windows open quickly fixed this.

The living accommodation was very spacious with plenty of room for our young son to spread out his toys and relax in the evenings. The kitchen and utility room was well equipped and although we missed having a bigger freezer, this wasn't a major problem with both Tesco and Asda a short (5 mins) drive away in St. Austell. The bedrooms were very comfortable and it having two ensuites made getting ready in the morning (even with a family of four) a speedy affair. The location was excellent with both beaches and the Eden Project a short drive away. Would definitely stay here again when visiting Cornwall!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous187055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
necropolis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

...even by footh or by bike!
and a big "thank you" to our host for borrowing their ordnance suvey map. the room was garnished with a lot of magzines and dvds - also with an Eden Project "behind the scenes"-dvd. There are real coole stones in the walls and on the top of the bedroom there are wooden bars -> a homey atmosphere. the extraordinary breakfast has been served directly in "our" big livingroom.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonaMayfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almeria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

Booked to stay here for 3 nights on basis of previous good review and on evidence of photos on website. Unfortunately, on arrival we noticed an overwhelming smell of damp in the living and sleeping accommodation. There was also rather unsightly scaffolding at the entrance to the accommodation. We decided it would be a health hazard to stay and so did not experience any of the 'good points' praised by previous reviewer.
Would recommend anyone thinking of staying here to view accommodation before making a decision; otherwise you will lose your deposit and will have to spend a couple of hours trying to find other more suitable accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpanishLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bojeamill, Owner at Mill House, responded to this review, 10 July 2010
We take any reviews/comments of our guests very seriously and regret that anyone staying with us has had anything other than a really special break. Unfortunately this reviewer did not stay in the property long enough to experience and enjoy the hospitality we extend to all our guests. The property is certainly NOT damp and there is no evidence of damp or a smell of dampness. The building is an old water mill so obviously there is water close by but this remains outside the property. If this reviewer has a water phobia then perhaps she should have read the advertising more completely. Our advertising is honest and complete and in fact we are often told that we undersell ourselves. This is our family home and we extend a warm welcome to all our guests and give what have been described as the 'best breakfasts ever'. We have hundreds of visitors' comments which are all complimentary and many of our guests return over and over again. We accept the comment regarding the scaffolding but unfortunately we have had to undertake essential building work but this has now been completed and the scaffold should be removed within the next couple of weeks. Please do not be deterred from visiting us by this one reviewer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

A fascinating place, a former water mill, the accommodation is in the old mill building, waterwheel included! En suite bedrooms, small but sufficient. However, a positively HUGE sitting room area, with TV, DVD, games, books,etc. Dining facilities plus microwave and crockery and cutlery provided. Tea and coffee, and fresh milk, not the UHT cartons.
Breakfast was of the highest standard, with all tastes catered for, including vegetarian.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sixtysomethingYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.2 mi away
The Waterwheel Inn
The Waterwheel Inn
#4 of 97 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 17 in Par
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ancient Shipbrokers
Ancient Shipbrokers
#2 of 4 in Pentewan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House

Property: Mill House
Address: The Mill House Bojea, St Austell PL26 8XE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granary is the ground floor of the former corn mill. There are two double en-suite bedrooms with a large sitting room. There is a TV with freeview, DVD player, fridge, tea/coffee making facilities, small library of books, DVDs, games and maps of the local area and free WiFi. Very quiet yet centrally positioned for touring Cornwall, visiting the Eden Project, Heligan Gardens, Lanhydrock House and the other great houses and gardens of Cornwall. A few of our guests' comments: superb break, relaxing, food too good! (Oct'11); Delightful (Oct'11); A Blissful break in a near perfect home from home (Aug'11); peace and quiet,the old and the new (Aug'11); brilliant! (Aug'11); wonderful, relaxing, beautiful (Aug'11); a wonderful stay, excellent food, super stay (July'11); you have made this a very special break, wonderful hosts (July'11) just to quote a very few! Watch the birds outside while eating your own breakfasts delivered to your suite, local produce, free range and delicious. Enjoy the luxury of your own suite of rooms and have a really special break in Cornwall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mill House Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing