We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stowford gives real value. Go there !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stowford Guest House
Ranked #54 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We spent an excellent three days here in June. Claire and Brian couldn't have been more welcoming with some good hints as to where to eat in the evening. Decent sized room, comfortable bed, superb breakfasts, ample parking, easy to find and ideally located for Eden Project, Helegan and Cornish coast. Much better than a B&B in a seaside village where driving and parking in v narrow streets looks like a nightmare. Stowford gives real value. Go there !

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller-on-Tyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2010

A lovely house and friendly hosts who couldn't do enough for you. The views from the room were beautiful and the countryside is just down the road. A good base for visits to Heligan and Eden.
No need for lunch after Claire's superb breakfasts. Altogether a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonja11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We have just had a wonderful weekend in Cornwall staying at the Stowford Guest House in St Austell. Great hospitality in a lovely 1930's house with the most marvellous breakfasts, we were extremely well looked after.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandh72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

On our holiday to Cornwall we wanted to visit the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan and decided to book the Stowford after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. We weren't disappointed, it was the ideal location for the E.P & the LGH, Padstow, St Ives, Fowey and Charlestown are also within easy reach and well worth a visit. Claire and Brian were the perfect hosts and Claire's wonderful breakfasts kept us going all day. Our rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable with great views accross the countryside. We would certainly recommend this B & B and hope to return again sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aldwinclers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful stay at this guest house over the recent Spring Bank Holiday weekend.
The location is perfect - a 10 minute stroll and you reach the large Asda supermarket where you can collect all the provisions you need for your exploration of Cornwall.
The guest room is located at the rear of the property, offering tranquil views over the open countryside.
You are afforded private use of the well equiped bath/shower room that is just across the landing.
The lounge and gardens offer a relaxing experience and you will not get a better breakfast anywhere in the UK!
Claire and her husband will ensure you will have an enjoyable stay - this guest house is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matlockman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We spent there a week in July 2010. The B&B is located next to the road but it is surprisingly quiet - we could not hear any traffic in our bedroom. The view from the bedroom window was superb! The room was very clean and comfortable; breakfasts were enormous and very good. There is a little garden which guests can use - to sit down and enjoy a quiet evening and a glass of wine. Claire and Brian have made us very welcome and we felt at home there. St Austell is a great location if you want to visit Cornwall - only 20 minutes to the north coast or 1, 5 hour’s drive to Land's End. I strongly recommend it to everyone and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcekpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

The b&b was in a quiet location but only a half hour lovely country walk away from Charlestown harbour and it's restaurants/pubs. (Probably a 20 minute walk into St Austell but we didn't bother going there). Claire was very friendly and helpful. Her breakfasts were excellent and large (though a little bit greasy), and she was happy to fulfill all our dietary requirements. Cereals, toast, orange juice and full English were all available (including a veggie option). Our room was on the small side and didn't have an ensuite bathroom, so you have to share the bathroom with whoever is staying in the other room (which is a family room). In our case it wasn't a problem as our friends were in the family room. Although it was clean and comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities, tv and a hairdryer.
Overall at £26 pppn it was very good value for money and I would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HippyBeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
2.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,620 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 16 in Par
108 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
5.3 mi away
CLC Trenython Manor
2.9 mi away
Ancient Shipbrokers
Ancient Shipbrokers
#2 of 4 in Pentewan
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowford Guest House

Address: 16 Sawles Road, St Austell PL25 4UE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range: £55 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An impressive 1930s detached property close to all amenities including the St Austell rail and bus station which are within a 10 minute walk. Claire and Brian give you a 'home from home' Cornish welcome and provide a wonderful breakfast from full English to freshly made fruit salad with yoghurt, toast and home-made jams. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stowford Guest House Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing