We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stowford Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stowford Guest House
Ranked #48 of 98 St Austell B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Having just spent 12 nights in the Stowford Guest House with my husband I cannot praise it highly enough. We chose it because of it's great location and the reviews on this site! It really did live up to the reviews. On arrival we received a very warm welcome. Our bedroom was very clean and spacious, with everything you could possibly need. We had our own private bathroom facilities, tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk, free wifi and lovely views over the Cornish countryside. We also had the use of a sitting room, conservatory and the garden. The breakfasts are excellent with cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, croissants and of course the full English which really sets you up for the day. Home made preserves are also available and delicious.Claire and Brian are excellent hosts, so warm and friendly; they can't do enough for you. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Stowford and hope we will be able to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan15W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosieCornwall, Owner at Stowford Guest House, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Fantastic review, thank you so much. We really enjoyed having you as guests and would love to see you again, however we can't promise a repeat of the amazing weather you had during your 12 day stay - unbelievable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
35
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Claire and Brian Waters are the ideal hosts. They greeted us at the door with big smiles. Showing us our rooms was next on the agenda. They have only two guest rooms and let them to only one party at a time. In addition to my husband and me our party included our daughter and her boyfriend. We took over the entire second floor which included a sitting room, loo, and bathroom plus the two bedrooms. The Waters had obviously taken great care and optimized the house for their guests. The garden was filled with blooms which we enjoyed while sitting outside. The traditional English breakfast was well done and plentiful. All four in our party agreed that we would return to this guest house should we have the opportunity.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms and you cannot go wrong with either one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nagogwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosieCornwall, Owner at Stowford Guest House, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We loved meeting you all and it's good to know that we helped to make your stay in our beautiful county an enjoyable one with many happy memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We have stayed with Claire and Brian many times and it is always a great pleasure. The room has been upgraded and is so comfortable - just like home. The breakfast is lovely, Claire makes the best scrambled eggs! The "full English" will keep you going all day long. There is always a good choice of cereals, fruit and yogurt to start and plenty of toast and home made preserves to follow (the strawberry jam made from Brian's own strawberries).
Tea and coffee making facilities available and there is always fresh milk.
Claire has set up a table with lots of leaflets and guides about what's on in Cornwall (a mini tourist information service!)
The location is good - is within walking distance of the town.

The view from the bedroom window is great.

We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Outlawann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

From the moment I met Caire and Brian I was made to feel very welcome, I stayed here for 2 nights as it was a central location to tour Cornwall and as an added bonus saw some amazing places I would not have seen if it wasn't for their "local" knowledge of the area.
The room and ALL the facilities including breakfast were of a very high standard and would highly recommend Stowford if you want to stay in a "home" away from home.
I will definitely stay again if I am fortunate enough to visit this part of the world again.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosieCornwall, Owner at Stowford Guest House, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank for the lovely review it was really nice meeting you and we would love to see you again if you ever visit revisit our beautiful county.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

We spent 4 nights in October at Stowford Guest House. Claire and Brian proved to be excellent hosts for our 4 nights stay,they are very welcoming and our room was perfect with all needs catered for including wifi. Claire's full English breakfast every morning were excellent plus fresh fruit, homemade jam and cereals. Thank you for our (with our dog Rio) wonderful stay and making us comfortable in your lovely home. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizY_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

We recently stayed at this lovely guest house.Its location was ideal for the outings we had planned (Eden Project, The Lost Gardens of Heligan, Fowey, Charlestown and Mevagissy). Claire and her husband made us (and our dog) feel very welcome, our rooms were spacious and had everything we needed. The breakfast was great, we especially liked the home-made jams and marmalades and the excellent coffee. We enjoyed our stay very much and felt that Stowford offers great value for money.We would highly recommend it. A real home from home!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettina337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

My friend and I spent two nights at this welcoming guest house. We loved our room, it was extremely spacious and had fantastic views over the fields - and of the ponies. Claire is a very warm, likeable person who cooks an awesome breakfast - and there's plenty of it, including delicious home-made marmalades and jams.

We were very happy with our stay, it represented excellent value for money and we would definitely recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trax1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Mountview Bed and Breakfast
#54 of 98 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Elms Guest House
The Elms Guest House
#19 of 98 in St Austell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Arches B&B
The Arches B&B
#11 of 98 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Number One Bed & Breakfast
Number One Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 98 in St Austell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.6 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 17 in Par
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowford Guest House

Property: Stowford Guest House
Address: 16 Sawles Road, St Austell PL25 4UE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Stowford Guest House Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing