We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, Superb Hosts”
Review of Harmony Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harmony Homestay
Ranked #27 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Stay, Superb Hosts”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Spent last weekend at Harmony Homestay with Charlie and Nigel and was very impressed. From the time we arrived with our friends, till the time we left (and returned again to collect shirts left in the wardrobe!) nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. Starting off with tea or coffee and home made cake on arrival, they were happy to put a bottle of wine in their fridge for us and to provide glasses when we were ready to drink it in the evening.

The rooms were immaculate - we had the smaller room downstairs and our friends had one of the large ones upstairs. They offered to move us upstairs for the second night but we found the "small" room more than adequate for us and didn't put them to the trouble of making up another room. Our bed was very comfortable indeed and we appreciated the tea, coffee and biscuits provided for a late night or pre breakfast drink. And the breakfasts - Charlie does a wonderful full English ( or is that Cornish?) complete with cereal, yoghurt and as much tea, coffee and toast as you can eat! Really set us up for the day - we shouldn't have needed to eat again until tea time!

Nigel is a mine of information about the area and has all sorts of brochures and printed sheets for driving instructions along the scenic routes, rather than the main roads.

All in all, a great stay - we left feeling as though we had made two new friends and would highly recommend Harmony Homestay for your next trip to Cornwall.

Room Tip: The larger rooms upstairs have views but the smaller room downstairs is a good size too so I wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
72
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Anyone fortunate enough to stay here with Charlie and Nigel are in for a real treat. Kind, knowledgeable and friendly - nothing is too much trouble in this lovely and beautifully appointed house, which feels like a home from home. Comfortable, spotlessly clean, immaculate bedrooms; splendid breakfasts, and a lovely little oasis of a garden. Your hosts have a deep love and knowledge of Cornwall, and are full of ideas and suggestions as to interesting things to do and marvellous places to see. It feels more like being pampered by special friends. Can't wait to go back again.....soon!

Room Tip: Take your pick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Charlie and Nige made us feel we were real friends during our stay. From tea on the lawn with sponge cake when we arrived to the wonderful breakfasts each morning.
Made us feel that they were privileged to have us stay with them, but the truth is, it was our privilege to know them as great hosts providing as much, if not, more than any 5 star hotel could give us.
Highly recommended does not go far enough to describe our experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ukteacherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

We have rarely been so well looked after! Fantastic cream tea on arrival, freshly baked scones and lovely tea, a beautiful bedroom with a very comfy bed even for someone 7 months pregnant as I was at the time, and a very substantial and excellent breakfast, everything fresh and absolutely gorgeous!

The owners are so friendly, kind and thoughtful, giving excellent recommendations on restaurants, sights and things to do in Cornwall. You can tell that they love what they do, fantastic attention to every little detail, highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annano1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Truly a home from home. A friendly welcome with a homemade afternoon tea. Spotless and well thought out accommodation. Knowledgable hosts that could not do more to make our stay comfortable. A lovely breakfast with plenty of choice. This B&B can not be beaten. Looking forward to coming back next year!

Room Tip: Lovely views of the countryside from the rooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hideaway30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

Charlie and Nigel's B&B, they welcome you into their home with wide open arms and treat you like family! The rooms are cosy and clean. The breakfast is the best and the tea and cake you have on arrival is a pleasure! Their knowledge on the local area is second to none! Whenever I go to Cornwall there will only be one place I stay!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashdwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, Devon, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We were lucky enough to stay with Nigel and Charlie for one night this week but have already booked to go again for two nights in December. St Austell is not the place you would usually associate with a stay in Cornwall but it is a perfect base to see the local area and beyond. The hosts are extremely hospitable treating guests like friends. Nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are spotless and well fitted and maintained. We slept very well as the location is so quiet. We cannot recommend this place highly enough. Great breakfast too!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris4817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.3 mi away
Gwyndra House
Gwyndra House
#22 of 97 in St Austell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Heights
Alexandra Heights
#31 of 97 in St Austell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bradleigh Lodge
Bradleigh Lodge
#17 of 97 in St Austell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tregarth House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Grange
The Grange
#16 of 97 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trevanion Lodge
Trevanion Lodge
#50 of 97 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Homestay

Property: Harmony Homestay
Address: 7 Trevear Close, St Austell PL25 4SL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony Homestay offers comfortable, modern, ensuite facilities in a friendly, warm and cosy environment from £60 per night if staying a week or more in a double room. It's quiet yet central St Austell location, which lies close to the Sea, provides a rural Cornish aspect which is ideal for promoting relaxation and convenient access to all that Cornwall has to offer. The Lost Gardens of Heligan and Eden Project just minutes away.With free off road parking a comfy bed, a lovely ensuite, a fresh home cooked breakfast. This could be the base you are looking for, a home from home whilst you are on holiday exploring the whole of Cornwall. Great Public transport links can get you everywhere so car not needed from here.There are some great walks in Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty just a few minutes from our doorstep. Try us and you'll see for yourself. A warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harmony Homestay Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing