We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loving the Cornwall!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Just back from another great night's stay here on business.. Check in and check out were smooth. Lovely room. Dinner was gorgeous, great service, table available just like that.. Breakfast went like a dream. Good poached eggs ready in a couple of minutes and not like the rubber ones you get elsewhere. I'll be back! Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anon19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,078)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,689 - 1,695 of 2,078 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2012

I stayed her for a week in July and have to say that we had a great time. The hotel is lovely and the grounds are great. Service was good and staff very helpful and polite. Would definitely return. We ate at the hotel on the first evening but then went out to eat for the rest of the week. The breakfast was good but a little disorganised during busy times. Would come back when I've saved up for it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdswalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Booked 5 months ago to be contacted on the day of arrival asking if we wanted fine dining only to be told we couldn't because it was fully booked (!?). Sunday morning breakfast was a shambles; 9.15am we were directed to Arboretum restaurant as upstairs breakfast was full. We were the first ones there but despite many reminders our coffee did not arrive until 10.30am. Toast took 45 minutes to arrive. One guest was told the table would be cleared in 2 minutes and it never was. Guests arrived after us and had tea/coffee served before us. Asked to see duty manager but he never appeared in the restaurant. Disorganised staff unable or unwilling to deliver breakfast in a reasonable time frame. Checkout was another long wait as no manager dealing with the many guest complaints and two receptionists working with 1 computer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
3  Thank Tottytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed for one night, room was lovely and the hotel was perfect and would go again,we had a evening meal and the food and service was divine! However we had problems with the breakfast service, after asking 4 times for coffee and toast and a menu it was not given. we felt the system they had with the buffet and the menu did not work as the staff could not keep a track of what people wanted and ended up with alot of people without things they asked for. the food was great but paid for things that we did not have. But we had a great time staying there!
oh the bed was great and big!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

stayed for one night with 2 young children. great location for eden project and pretty beaches. very nice, clean room which was had a very comfortable large bed and was very quiet. the reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly. great surroundings. would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ballerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Last minute booking and what a find! Rooms were fantastic as was the food, service and location. Spa facilities were lovely. Access to great beaches at Porthlean. Would recommend this to anyone including families

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene-Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Just come back from a short break at the The Cornwall feeling very relaxed. We had a 2 night B+B package with dinner included on the first night. The food in the restaurant was extremely good and the service could not be better. Very good use of excellent local produce. Many thanks to Nigel, the General Manager for making sure that we had all that we needed and for taking the time to follow up and check that we had all was well on the next evening as well - refreshing to see this level of involvement from a General Manager!
We agree that it is unusual for a new hotel such as this not to have aircon in the otherwise excellent woodland rooms, but good use of the sliding door was easy compensation. Again, a good choice at breakfast and excellent staff.
We used the Cornwall to visit many local attractions including Lanhydrock, Fowey, Charlestown and Mevagissey with many coastal walks from the latter locations. The experience was rounded of nicely with the spa and infinity pool - a short walk from the main building.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,595 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
14.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
904 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
512 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: £76 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing