We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An absolute treasure”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed over Christmas and I must say we had an absolutely fantastic break. We stayed in one of the new build hotel rooms which are all south facing with balconies, We stay in a lot of hotels and this bedroom was by far one of the best - excellent shower, bathrobes, a fridge which was very useful for our own stock of Xmas drinks and an enormous extremely comfortable bed - I don't think I have slept so well. The staff were extremely friendly, discrete and helpful. The food was excellent with so much choice and the leisure facilities helped to provide an extremely relaxing and stress-free break. We used the indoor pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. This was our first time away from home for Christmas and it has set the standard for the future. There is only one very minor point for improvement and that is to provide bath sheets rather than just bath towels. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors of the new build bedroom block do not have lift access but have good view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DinahSalop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    930
    664
    269
    134
    51
See reviews for
345
1,174
24
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Worst spa I have been to over priced and treatments not very good ! A 25 minute eye treatment £30 which the lady did in ten minutes.
No chilled water,had lunch not very good at all a chicken and avocado salad should have avocado in it not guacamole! On the whole very disappointed with the the spa only interested in taking your money please avoid you will be glad u did.
Only good point was Libby the therapist very nice person

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Elawton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Dear Guest

Firstly, I thank you for your constructive review and in taking the time in providing us with your feedback, you allow us the opportunity to address your concerns experienced during your recent stay with us.

My apologies for the delayed response, due to technical difficulties we have been experiencing, the promptness of our replies have been been hampered.

I have discussed the points you have raised with the Spa Manager, where mostly the feedback related to and they in turn will be internally investigating the customer service details along with any increased training requirements that may be needed within their teams.

We are extremely passionate about our hospitality provided to our guests at The Cornwall Hotel Spa & Estate by not only meeting guest needs but exceeding guest expectations. Investment into the development of our teams is paramount to our future success and ultimately will encourage guest loyalty within a highly competitive market.

Thank you once again for your feedback and your acknowledgement of the therapists customer care. If you would like to discuss anything further with me on a personal note, please call my direct line.

Nigel Walker
General Manager
The Cornwall Hotel Spa & Estate
Tel: 01726 874052 (Direct Dial)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed at this Spa between Xmas and New Year for a luxury break and had a lovely stay. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were well designed and all had views across the grounds. The spa was luxurious and offered many great treatments. The pool are is relaxing with a lane for adult swimming. We enjoyed the food and atmosphere in the bar and restaurants. We visited Fowey which is close by and would def. recommend and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaDwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Stayed here on a travel zoo deal. What fantastic value! The hotel was very clean, well presented and decorated to a high standard. The spa and gym was brilliant. The food was incredible and the staff lovely! We had such a perfect stay! I would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debby990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Im amazed at some of the reviews below! This hotel is lovely - its a converted old farmhouse with modern furnishings & great rooms. The spa is excellent (OK if being picky then the jacuzzi is a tad cold) - its certainly clean though. We didn't have any treatments so can't comment on those although I heard other guests describing them positively.
The staff were all lovely! Incredibly attentive & polite so I don't understand why there are so many complaints about them. Really, we all commented on how great the staff were. The breakfast was never ending & of decent standard and the meal we had in the restaurant was very good too.
No complaints here. I recommend the hotel full heartedly.

Room Tip: they had so many different offers on it was a little confusing but definitely worth shopping around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumolez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

A weekend away here was my birthday treat, and it definitely was a treat. Staff (throughout the weekend) were warm, helpful and friendly. We were upgraded because our room wasn't ready when we checked in, and the room was spacious, stylish and very clean. The bathroom was big and again, very, very clean. A lovely balcony and outside seating (not really the weather though!) as well as a little fridge in the room - really helpful as we bought champagne!

We ate in the hotel the first night, and the food and service were nothing short of superb. I had a main course of chicken, chorizo and brie and it was quite simply one of the best chicken dishes I'd ever had. And my bread and butter pudding, divine! My partner was equally effusive.

Breakfast was a choice of menu items (smoked salmon or haddock, for example) a hot buffet and the usual: cheese, pastries, fruit, cereals, etc. Nice strong hot coffee and again, great service.

The clearing spa offers a range of treatments as you would expect from a spa, but we were happy with the swimming pool. It was fantastic, and spotlessly clean changing rooms, as well.

There were a few small negatives, we asked for a broken lightbulb to be changed in a lamp in our room and it never got replaced. We asked for robes on day one (Friday), and they didn't arrive. I called twice on Saturday mid-morning, and twice the phone went unanswered. In fact the spa called reception in the end on our behalf, and asked them to send some up to our room, but by then we managed 2 (of 3) swims without using robes and in the end they didn't get used. But had we had them, it would have encouraged us to lounge around a bit more because after a while we did get chilly with just towels.

The TV reception was awful, and not what we expected. Day 1, we had virtually no channels, and what we did have would pixalate every few minutes and the sound would crackle and pop. We were told the reception is generally terrible, but you can't help feel there must be something that can be done. (But then to be fair, I'm no TV expert!)

Finally, when we can back from breakfast on the Saturday, I was a bit disappointed at how cursory the room clean had been. The tub had not been cleaned, there was a small bit of rubbish on the floor in the bathroom. The bed had been badly made. I want to say however, that generally speaking the cleanliness and hygiene were excellent throughout the hotel and spa. This is a very clean and well maintained hotel. And I would like my points to be seen in that context.

It wasn't perfect, there were somethings that were less serious than others, but still, we think, worth mentioning. But despite these few issues, we would (and will!) go back. To sum up what makes this hotel special is hard, but staff are no. 1. The food, facilities and beautiful grounds (with a pleasing emphasis on looking after the locals, and by that I mean the wildlife locals) are also a big attraction.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retrogooseuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I was treated to a one night stay at this hotel as a birthday treat. We had a very comfortable luxury room with verandah, very comfortable bed, and the food was delicious - the hoisin duck salad starter was out of this world for me. The spa facilities are fantastic with a spectacular infinity pool, small but quiet and well equipped gym to suit all but the most serious gym bunnies. breadfast was delicious too and service was attentive yet discrete. An ideal place for couples and families alike, with many local attractions close by, such as the Eden project, The lost gardens of Heligan, many delightful beaches nearby and the pretty fishing village of Mevagissey a few miles away. Look out for special offers out of season - some of these are really good value for money. A birthday to remember.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornishmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,563 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
876 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
7.0 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,364 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Property: The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing