We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One star better than last year!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“One star better than last year!!”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Went on a Secret Escapes deal this time. The hotel has improved some of its service issues but not all. They have a new operations manager so hopefully he will get to grips with things. The hotel facilities are very good and the Clearing Spa is great. My husband and I had 4 treatments between us. Paula gives a wicked massage! The hotel only has 10.5 tog duvets.....way too much for the summer but has NO alternatives. Also a serious problem with the plumbing for the loo, my husband tells me its an oscillating washer!! We will be back as the facilities and location are fantastic. The bedrooms with their balconies are great and very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for your very kind review and comments, the team and I are just so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at The Cornwall. We still have a long way to go to make further improvements here at the hotel, which is a daily strive to achieve where we want to be and please accept my apologies for the areas in which we fell short. I do promise to continue to take the product and the team to the highest levels through our training programme and of course hard work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    930
    664
    269
    134
    51
See reviews for
345
1,174
24
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had a Special Offer break with Secret Escapes through "Telegraph Hand Picked" in March and really enjoyed it, so, when the offer came up again we decided to make another visit. In March there are not many attractions open, so this time we were able to visit a much wider selection of local houses etc.and the weather was much better.

The Hotel is set back quite some distance from the road, ensuring that there is no traffic noise.
The rooms are all "new build" attached to the original (old) building where the Reception and Restaurants are positioned. The rooms are furnished to a high spec and all look out over the well-kept and spacious grounds. I personally do not think that the bath/ washbasin separated from the bedroom by a "half wall" is a good idea, (the toilet with its own washbasin are separate) but this is my only complaint. The reception staff were very friendly and efficient. The waiting and bar staff too - we had a really good meal in the Arboretum Restaurant. One of the big attractions for my wife and myself were the Leisure Facilities, in particular the massage. We had a "Couples Spa Treatment" in March and were eager to repeat it. It certainly lived up to our memories. The girls were really excellent.

A big Thank- You and well done to the Team at the Cornwall Hotel & Spa.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for your very kind review and comments, the team and I are just so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at The Cornwall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Par, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My daughter and I stayed here on a 'Super Sunday' offer. As we are local to the hotel we have visited many times before for spa treatments/dining.

Check-in: Robyn, our receptionist, was an absolute delight - the perfect balance of friendliness and efficiency. Very professional.

Room: We stayed in 119. Balcony, very clean, bright and spacious. Excellent bathroom. Comfortable beds (I am really fussy with hotel beds, this one was firm, but not hard in any way) Slight annoyances: As our room was set up as a twin, the duvet on one bed had a zip inside where it obviously attaches to the other duvet when room made up as a double. This rattled around when you moved in bed, but was resolved by sticking it down with some tape. Very peaceful all night, until about half six in the morning when some cupboard doors were slammed a number of times just the other side of our headboard wall. On later investigation, there are cleaners' storage areas backing on to a number of rooms, so if you're a light sleeper and don't want to be awake before seven, request a room away from these areas.

Room service:

We ordered some sandwiches and desserts which were delivered very quickly and well presented. LOVED the bread and butter pudding.

Movies: Easy to work once we'd asked the lovely Robyn about it :)

The Clearing Spa: We decided to spend our 'Super Sunday' deal on spa treatments. We have had a number of massages/ nail appointments here before and every time my impression is the same: The setting and facilities are the best available in the St. Austell Bay area and I would dearly love to purchase a spa membership. However: I always feel that the therapists here are in a rush. This time, my daughter hadn't even completed her pre-treatment paperwork before we were taken to the treatment room! We had phoned ahead from our room shortly after check-in at 15:00 to check what time we should arrive for our 18:00 spa appt. and were told we didn't need to be there as early as 17:30. We got there at 17:45, but could have done with more time really. Also, when I booked back in May, I was told only the couples treatment room was available for our appt. time. I can appreciate why this is done: the hotel needs to keep single rooms free where possible as these are the most popular. As it turned out though, we were actually the only ones in the spa at this time and it would have been preferable to be offered seperate rooms.
The treatment itself, the 'Equilibrium Journey' was lovely and I did feel very relaxed after it, as did my daughter. One more little thing that would sway me closer to taking out membership: Being able to select the oil used in the massage. Scent is a hugely personal choice and many day-spas I visit consult you on this pre-treatment. I have absolutely loved some of the oils used previously at The Clearing Spa, but this time was not so keen. (However, my daughter really liked it, so just reinforces the 'personal choice' point).

It would also be nice to have a changing area upstairs near the treatment rooms. We had to use the pool changing room to put our robes on and then walk up through reception in them.

The Pool: This is one of the highlights of the hotel and, when it is quiet, can be a really lovely experience. We decided on a pre-breakfast swim at about 08:00 on the Monday morning and were pleasantly surprised at how quiet it was. (Adults only between 07:00 and 09:00 and similar times in the evening). This is a really important point if you are looking for a relaxing spa experience as I have been here at other times, to fit in with availability of treatments, and the pool area can sometimes be like a Butlins camp.It's such a shame the developers couldn't have also provided a seperate family pool and kept the infinity pool for spa guests/adults only, it would make a massive difference and be much more appealing for potential spa membership. There is the same issue at a number of spa hotels in Cornwall now: Trenython Manor and Fowey Hall spring to mind as previously tranquil locations that have recently geared themselves toward families at the expense of their spa clientele. There is a real need for one of you to provide a seperate children's area!! That said, I don't dislike kids, I actually work in a primary school, but once you're paying a certain amount for a spa experience you want to know all aspects will be relaxing. The Cornwall is so close to that! Final point re the pool area: this time the glazing was not at all clean - on the infinity windows or the internal glazed doors. Please don't let things like this go as we have always appreciated the levels of cleanliness here before.

Breakfast: We selected the continental option at £8.95 and were very pleased with the choice. We got to breakfast at the later end of the time slot and were well taken care of despite this being an extremely busy time. All staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was good. I also had a hot chocolate, which I had to wait for as the 'barman didn't start his shift until 10:00' ??? It was worth the wait though. (Although maybe don't put it on the breakfast menu if it's not readily available?).

Overall, our experience was a good one. The small criticisms are far outweighed by the overall experience and I mention them only because I really do want to take out spa membership here. The Super Sunday deal really is fantastic value for money and we will definitely make repeated use of it, whenever it is available.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, make sure your room is away from cleaners' storage areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for your very kind review and comments, the team and I are just so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at The Cornwall. We still have a long way to go to make further improvements here at the hotel, which is a daily strive to achieve where we want to be and please accept my apologies for the areas in which we fell short. I do promise to continue to take the product and the team to the highest levels through our training programme and of course hard work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My partner took me to me to stay at the Cornwall Hotel last night for my birthday. We are both very sad to leave! It was faultless! beautiful swimming pool, fantastic clean room, the service from all staff was friendly and they could not have done any more to help. The food was amazing! and all at a very good price. Will defiantly be returning very soon.
Kelly & Jon
xxx

Room Tip: Faultless Superior room woodland view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Kelly & Jon, what a great review. I have a massive smile on my face as the team and I just love when we read how well we have looked after our guests and have done a good job. Thank you for taking the time to comment and we would love to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We chose The Cornwall Hotel Woodland Lodges because as a family of 5 the 3 room Lodges were idea. The Lodges had all the facilities you could want and were well furnished.

We used the Spa which was free to guests and found it very relaxing and of a high standard compared to some hotel facilities.

We ate at the Hotel and the quality of the food at the Arboretum restaurant was high and the service good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
We love our Woodland Homes, they are perfect for family holidays and we are tickled pink that you had a great family holiday with us. Thank you and hopefully we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My Fiancé and I visited the hotel for one night as part of a package deal including dinner , afternoon tea and breakfast.

We stayed in one of the superior doubles with a balcony .

The hotel and spa were both fantastic mondern and luxurious we had the Rungu Massage in the couples room and would recommend it to any one . Relaxation was achieved in the spa !

The cream tea was delicious as was the evening meal in the acorns . I had steak and requested dauphinois potatoes ( not on the menu) the kitchen were happy to oblige and the meal was first class , my fiancé also enjoyed her meal of chicken .

A great nights sleep in the superking bed and a very tasty buffet breakfast later we were refreshed and ready to take on the world again .

Much looking forward to going back !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Workandplayholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you for your kind words and comments and we were delighted that you managed relax. The Rungu Massage is just AMAZING! Hopefully we will see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed for four nights at The Cornwall. It was our first holiday with our three-month-old baby so was slightly apprehensive about our stay. The facilities were great though. The rooms spacious enough to accommodate all the paraphernalia that comes with a newborn. The location is fantastic - in a lovely rural setting, good for short walks and relaxing evenings on the terrace. We chose the hotel because of its proximity to The Eden Project, The Lost Gardens of Heligan and some great beaches. It also has a lovely spa and swimming pool which was perfect for swimming lessons with our son.

We had booked on to the package that included dinner on two nights in the Brasserie. The food was mediocre and we were seated in the meeting room on one of the nights as an overspill to the main dining room and this felt impersonal and lacked atmosphere.

Other niggles included the fact that we had been booked into a room on the 1st floor without lift access which was less than ideal for our pushchair. We had made it clear in the booking that we were bringing a young baby so think this should have been considered when allocating our rooms. The hotel was fully booked too, so we were unable to change rooms.

Overall though, we had a really pleasant stay and would consider returning in the future.



Only niggles were

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Whilst I was happy to read that you had enjoyed a number of aspects relating to your stay at The Cornwall I was disappointed to learn where we didn’t match your expectations or where we failed to think smartly, e.g. a room on the first floor. We have discussed this at our team meetings and are currently changing and improving our internal systems. Thank you for taking the time and effort to recommend and rate out hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,561 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
874 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
7.0 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,364 reviews
20.4 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Property: The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing