We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lot of potential but not quite there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lot of potential but not quite there”
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Great setting and easy to find, with a friendly welcome. Ate in the restaurant (which was 5/5), excellent service and not bad value either. Used the spa which was ok, starting to look a bit tired and needed a decent clean (plus hot tub was luke warm at best).

Room however - not so good. Booked a luxury room but saw no difference between it and a normal one. No toiletries in the room, quickly put right but the staff but not a good start. Leak over the balcony meant the wooden decking was treacherous and my wife and I both nearly fell over. Biggest disappointment was tv / radio system which simply didn't work. Normally this would not bother me but the Indian Grand Prix was on, which I naturally missed!

I complained and the hotel knocked a few quid off the bill, but wouldn't stay again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jjh97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Sorry that we have not meet your expectations in some areas and humble apologies where we did not deliver our usual high standards. Our ‘hot tub’ is a whirlpool, meaning that the water temperature is only 2 degrees higher than the swimming pool. This means that we do not need to us as much chemicals that you would find in a Jacuzzi which is usually a higher temperature than a whirlpool and is therefore kinder to your skin.
I was disappointed to read about the TV and that the toiletries were not in situ by the time you arrived and I have spoken with my head housekeeping to see why this was missed, please accept my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    904
    648
    257
    120
    47
See reviews for
324
1,140
24
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here for work (fortunately everything within budget was full, so got offered this instead) and it was the first decent hotel paid for by my company. Modern, clean rooms, with a desk and internet access, so easy to tie up things from a long day. The pool and restaurant were a massive bonus

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s22urf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Well, I guess we were lucky to have you as our guest and we were delighted to read your kind comments. Hopefully you will be able to return back again for a short break!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Fantastic weekend away with my partner. Everything we expected and more. Lovely room, gorgeous pool and a very relaxing massage. Staff were very friendly and the food was amazing.
Great atmosphere and very peaceful, would definitely go again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleloz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Brilliant, we are delighted that you loved your stay. It means a lot to the team to know that their hard work and effort makes you, our valued guest, happy. We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My husband and I had a 2 night stay in this hotel for our 30th Wedding Anniversary and couldn't have chosen a better place! The staff were very welcoming and pleasant always very helpful and with a smile too! The breakfast was superb, using lots of local produce and a good choice too. There was fresh fruit and yoghurts with all the trimmings along with pastries to start and the cooked food was always kept circulated so no dried congealed offerings. There were also other items like smoked haddock with poached eggs or smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on offer too so a good selection. We had a meal in the Acorns brasserie which was excellent, ours was included in the price however I think it was quite reasonably priced for a 3 course meal, the wine however was the normal hotel prices!
The room was fabulous, very spacious and cosy with a huge bed that was so comfortable! The bathroom was integrated and open to the room so a bit unusual but nice all the same. The decor was very modern and trendy with stunning wall papers, (I sneaked a look in other rooms as I walked past!!) There was a very large TV which was on a bracket so good for watching in bed and it was nice having a fridge in the room too. There was a nice balcony with a table and chairs however a bit chilly in November! As this was a treat we had some spa treatments which were to die for! The young ladies giving the treatments were excellent and very professional and we both felt so relaxed afterwards we spent some time chilling in the relaxation room afterwards! The pool was lovely in the evening with subdued lighting (and no kids!), there was also a steam room and a sauna with a whirl pool alongside the pool. This was a lovely experience and would certainly do it all again, if there was any criticism at all it would be that the wardrobe in the room was very dark!! In the evening you had to turn the loo light on to see into it!! The hotel is in a nice area for exploring Charlestown, Mevagissey St Austell and further afield to Fowey, you gan get a bopat from mevagissey if you fancy a bit of sea time! All in all a fab stay, can't wait to do it again!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Our very best wishes and congratulations on your 30th Wedding Anniversary again. We were humbled and honoured that you decided to celebrate such an importance occasion with us and equally for writing such a great review. We will look into the lighting for the wardrobes and appreciate the feedback on this particular issue. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and really cannot fault any single element of our stay. From our initial welcome to our departure we found all the staff (without exception) to be welcoming friendly and helpful.
The facilities were excellent, with the hotel being well layed out, a stylish and comfortable room, delightful grounds and the clearing spa is stunning.
We ate in both restaurants and enjoyed superb food with plenty of choice, tasty, beautifully cooked and presented and good value.
Our springer spaniel also thoroughly enjoyed her stay, but was somewhat frustrated at having to stay on the lead when there were all those bunnies which needed chasing!
All in all, a very memorable and enjoyable stay - we'll be back!

Room Tip: Difficult to advise as we only have experience of a woodland luxury room, which was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Friendofgoodquality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Congratulations on your wedding anniversary, it’s just great that you decided to stay with us for such a memorable occasion. Thank you for such a kind review, it makes all our hard work worthwhile. Those bunnies are just too tempting for the dogs but we love the fact that we do have a number of our bedrooms that are dog friendly; it’s great to have the whole family with you! See you again when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Spent a weekend here, the whole experience was so relaxing. Staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Food was good quality, Spa clean and inviting.
The hotel itself is so well designed with excellent interior design/colour. Contemporary design but retaining it's original features.

I would definitely return to this hotel and would like to say Thank you again to all the staff once more. The owners should be proud of you!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Wow, you brought a smile to my face when I read your wonderful review. Thank you so much, it means a lot to the team and I to know that we are on the right track!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I booked a stay here to celebrate my wife's birthday and must say the place is fantastic.
We had an upgraded room and the stay was superb value due to the fact I booked with Secret Escapes.
Driving up to the venue is lovely. Its sympathetically lit at night and apart from the temporary feeling carparks the venue is very nice.
The hotel itself is clean with modern flat screens and a good selection of channels. The swimming pool and gym facilities are stunning, also there is wireless throughout the building for those who cannot bear to be out of touch. I would just say the wireless is not the fastest but it is adequate for receiving emails or checking in on Facebook.
I would recommend the venue to anyone looking for a weekend break. The food served in the restaurant is top notch and after eating dinner one of the nights I certainly needed to use the swimming pool.
One final thought, all the staff were friendly and a credit to the venue. We couldn't have been made to feel any more welcome.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chubmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Belated happy returns to your wife and we are thrilled that we made your special break relaxing. Thank you for the time and effort in writing such a great review, that team are grateful and are humbled that they delivered a great experience to you both. Hopefully we will see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
14.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
17.4 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Property: The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing