We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable with good facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable with good facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

To start on a positive note we found the staff very friendly and the hotel very comfortable. Clearly there has been a lot of investment in this hotel. The room's bed was king size and simply soft and luxurious. The bathroom was very modern but the choice of type of wash basin and shower was not to our taste but certainly everything was very new and clean looking. We found the hotel lounge disappointingly bland and the furniture not in keeping with the quality of the rest of the hotel. We ordered tea from the lounge bar and were again disappointed that it was served with UHT milk! The choice and range of food in both restaurants was not to our liking and the portions were small for the prices. We eat in both hotel restaurants once only and found alternative restaurants elsewhere in the locality. The spar facilities were first class with a large indoor pool, a sauna and a steam room. There is also a gym with lots of equipment and also in house health and beauty treatments but these were not used during our visit. To end on a positive note the breakfasts were fabulous with lots on offer by friendly staff to start your day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outeaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
The team and I appreciate your kind comments and critique regarding your latest stay here at The Cornwall. I was concerned to read about the UHT milk, as this is an item we do not order other than for our tea/coffee making facilities in our bedrooms, so I will follow this up. We have taken on-board your comments and will be discussing this at our weekly Heads of Department meeting. Where you enjoyed the hotel I am pleased, and where we fell short we will continue to strive at every opportunity to get things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    899
    643
    255
    118
    47
See reviews for
321
1,131
24
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I had read a few poor reviews after booking our spa day so was a little concerned, but on arrival it was a fantastic experience from start to finish!
Staff were lovely at the desk and offered towels robes and slippers (you get to keep the slippers), and explained the spa process and the location of all the facilities. The pool and whirlpool temperature were fine, as were the sauna and steam room - lovely! Treatments were fantastic, we were asked to wait in the relaxation room before our treatments started - a beautiful room with magazines, teas, water, biscuits, and a lovely ambience. We then received our treatments in a lovely treatment room - all very modern and clean. We were able to go back downstairs and use the spa facilities again after our massage and treatments - despite what some reviews on here say.
The day was finished with a meal in the hotel restaurant - great service, excellent tasty food, and a very festive experience. Every member of staff we saw was very friendly and great customer service, each time we passed a member of staff in the building we were asked if we were ok or greeted with a hello. Just what we wanted from a relaxing spa day.

Room Tip: Did not stay in a room so no advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review regarding The Clearing Spa here at The Cornwall. We have been working extremely hard in order to improve our hospitality and service towards our guests and customers as we review and discuss our valued guests’ comments. The team were thrilled to see such a great review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed two nights for a short break. I wanted to get away from the city and forget about work for 48 hours; The Cornwall gave me that 'away from it all' feeling despite not being at all far out of town.

My room in the White House was characterful and well appointed, with a pleasant view from its sash window over the grounds. I did find the buzzing from the lighting transformer a bit loud at night, but solved this by removing my key card from its slot. With the window open, this noise was replaced by the hooting of owls, which was much more pleasant!

Breakfast compared well to most hotels (and I've stayed in a lot!) although I would have liked to see a few more cooked options for vegetarians. The brasserie dinner menu had a few vegetarian options meaning that I was able to dine in on both nights without repetition, but had I stayed longer I think I would have felt the need to go out to dinner! Unfortunately on the first night, which was Sunday, the restaurant was so quiet that for two courses all I could hear was an older couple discussing how unimpressed they were with the place, which did threaten to dampen the holiday spirit somewhat. Happily, Monday night was much more lively. The staff were friendly and attentive, and I could see that they made an effort to recognise and welcome back guests whom they'd met at previous meals. There was a pleasant lounge area with a log fire for after-dinner reading.

I made good use of the spa complex; the pool, looking out onto a Victorian walled garden, was a particular highlight and I enjoyed bobbing around watching the birds outside (not least a jay, a rare sight for me). I did find that several of the electronic lockers seemed not to be working though.

The grounds were another plus, with a pleasant autumnal walk through the woods above the hotel. It looks like they're really making an effort to present the grounds well, including the surviving historical artefacts, and I also spotted that a lot of provision had been made for bats and birds.

I deliberately spent most of my stay on the hotel grounds, but ventured out to Charlestown at one point; it and many other attractions are in very easy reach.

I didn't get the usual 'how was your stay?' on checkout, but the answer would have been "just what I was looking for"!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank bravosierraone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
We are ecstatic that we provided you with a relaxing time, the wildlife within the Woodland Estate is just magical as you described in your kind review. We do keep a selection of vegetarian items for breakfast; perhaps we should make a note on our breakfast menu to make guests aware. Thank you for your wonderful comments and we do hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We booked using a special offer from another site and were very impressed. We had a large modern room with a balcony. A couple of minor issues were put straight soon after we arrived with prompt and friendly attention. All the staff were friendly and helpful without being pushy or over the top. The spa has a good sized pool with easy changing facilities. Very close to Mevagissey and Charlestown. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Opt for a superior room for a really wide comfortable bed. Useful fridge in the room for chilling yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time and effort for such a kind review about The Cornwall. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed in the Clementina Junior Suite for a birthday treat. The room was amazing. The Spa facilities were great too - nice pool and small but well equipped gym. We also had a massage, which was very professional. Staff were very friendly and our whole experience was very relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
It's great that you took the time out to enjoy one of our Spa Breaks and thank you for your kind comments. We would, of course love to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

lovely stay, staff very friendly and helpful. very good value for money. Had a great meal in the restaurant very good service and lovely food. Will visit again. Spa was also nice, had a lovely massage .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
What a great review, thank you very much and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed just for a night when away with work. Found the room spacious, clean and comfortable but very hot and stuffy and no controls meant an uncomfortable night. The restaurant food was okay, not very tasty and very slow to arrive and order. The hotel itself was nice inside and out but badly lit for arrival at night. Didn't see the spa.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a good view but are up quite a few stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review. Sorry we missed the mark in some areas which I promise we will continue to work on. We have now installed more outside lighting within the grounds so it's not so dark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
14.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
17.4 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Property: The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing