We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful hotel from Christmas Eve until 27th December.
From the moment we arrived we received a very warm, friendly welcome. Staff introduced themselves to us and by the time we departed we felt as though we were a part of the hotel family.
Other guests staying over Christmas were also very friendly and we were never short of companionship and the season of goodwill was present throughout our stay.
Our room was very comfortable, clean and tidy.
All of our meals were excellent and the staff also were excellent.
We didn't have time to try out the spa facilities on this stay but did go to have a look around and we were impressed with what we saw and would like to make use of these facilities on a future visit.
We recommend a stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

The team & I were thrilled that you had such a wonderful Christmas Break with us and thank you for your very kind comments and review. Hopefully we will see you back again and our very best wishes for 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,236 - 1,242 of 2,120 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

My partner and I checked into the hotel for a two night stay at the hotel.

The hotel is modern and beautifully designed. The room was clean, tidy and spacious. Staff at the hotel were excellent and more than happy to help. ALL of the staff were polite and friendly; not just to be polite but were interested in your response, and so conversation flowed naturally.

The hotel amenities such as the pool were well maintained and clean.

The food in the brasserie was fantastic; full of flavor, well presented and portion sizes perfect. You weren't rushed to finish your meal and the waiters were more than happy for you to take your time and enjoy the wonderful food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Wow, what a great review and thank you for taking the time and effort to record your recent stay with us. The team & I were delighted that you had a fantastic time and hopefully we will see you again soon. Wishing you a very happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The level of service was excellent, we never waited but never felt rushed. The standard of decor was very high as was the level of cleanliness. We stayed in one of the suits that had great views and a fantastic bathroom.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt-Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for your kind review and the team & I were delighted that you enjoyed your time with us over Christmas. Our very best wishes to you both for 2014 and we look forward to seeing you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This is the third time my wife and I have stayed at the Cornwall and again it was a wonderful relaxing stay. Pool and Spa really nice and food in restaurant was excellent. Would recommend staying at the Cornwall.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cot99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

We were thrilled that you came back to stay with us yet again and thank you for taking the time and effort to leave such a kind review. Have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a pleasant stay in the hotel. The room was modern, well maintained and clean. The breakfasts were very good and the one evening meal we had in the hotel was very nice.I chose the cheeseboard for pudding, the portion size was generous. I would have preferred more than three local cheeses and less quantity. My wife had the ice creams which were not well presented but had lovely flavours. So not much to complain about!
My biggest criticism was the removal of Cornish cider from the drinks list. I was stunned that a hotel of this calibre would not stock any local ciders!
We had a swim in the Spa pool which was lovely. The staff at the hotel were very pleasant and helpful in our experience.
We will definitely return for another stay sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

We are just delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time and effort to leave such a kind review. We were in the midst of changing our cider products and please accept my apologies during this time when we didn’t have any in stock. Have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My friend, her 9 month old son (my godson) and I spent three days at The Cornwall. The staff were a delight - reception, porter, breakfast team and cleaner. Warm, friendly and helpful. Your staff are a credit to your hotel. Hotel room was unusually large and ideal for walking up and down in the night with a baby teething. Little one could sleep in the pram during the day on the balcony. Beds were better than the Sheraton. We left refreshed. Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

We are just delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time and effort to leave such a kind review. Have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom lodge. The estate is well presented. The lodge was warm and cosy. Beds were comfy, bedrooms roomy. There was everything we needed except no bottle opener. We took afternoon cream tea in the hotel which was very nice. The hotel bedrooms are gorgeous (we had a tour) and next time would probably treat myself to an executive suite.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank 2point4kidsAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our apologies that there was no bottle opener, as this should have been doubled checked prior to your stay. The Cornwall is great for both self-catering in our Woodland Homes as well as the hotel itself. It’s great that you managed to a have a tour of the hotel and we look forwards to seeing you back again at The Cornwall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,621 reviews
14.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
14.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: £67 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing