We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem Hidden away in Cornwall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Visited for a long weekend and were greeted by well friendly and well trained staff who did everything that could to make our stay memorable. They have two restaurants, one fine dining; , a spa, swimming pool and hot tub. A walk round the grounds and through the woods was a bonus with wildlife and birds in abundance.
The picturesque harbour town of Mevagissy was nearby as was St Austell and the Eden Project.
This was our first visit and we would love to visit again, sooner rather than later!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the corridors so that you are not overlooking the main body of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Euan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

What a lovely review and thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,197 - 1,203 of 2,107 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

Weekend stay in a 2 bedroom Woodland Lodge, the check in lady was pleasant and efficent and we were soon in the lodge. Spacious and immaculately clean , was cold when we arrived as the heating was not on for our 4pm arrival. Heating system was complicated to work , but did warm up quickly once on. Bedrooms and bathrooms downstairs, master bedroom had ensuite shower room . What was disappointing was the overall quality of the furniture, modern style but looked like cheap mfi laminate which had chips in places spoiling the look. Bed linen was fine, but mattress was soft and roll together :( . Upstairs was a large open plan space with great kitchen with granite worksurfaces, dining table and sofas. The sofas arent suitable for relaxing on , they are small and. Narrow and not very comfy. A balcony off the lounge had table and chairs . Overall the lodge was very nice and well equiped. Wifi was a bit hot and miss, we needed to contact reception twice to get it reset. We had family staying in the hotel part and wanted to eat breakfast with them on Sunday morning. Chedk out time for the lodges is 10.00am and the hotel part 11.00 . I spoke with reception who told me I did not need to book for breakfast but would have to pay £10 to keep the lodge until 11.00am even if I was in their restaurant eating . I was told the fee would be £10 for every hour after 10.00am whereas my family we told that they could keep their room until 2pm for £10.00 ! We duly went to breakfast and after waiting some time told to go to the restaurant upstairs "we are an overflow restaurant and they give better service" , so upstairs we went and were told sorry we are busy you cant have one of the numerous empty tables you will have to wait. After a further 10 minutes the table was still. Not ready so we left and ate breakfast elsewhere. We Re glad we didnt have dinner if this was indicitive of the service level. We ate at Austells in Carlyon bay and it was outstanding service and food .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justlimin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time and effort for such a comprehensive review. The heating should have been on and ready for your arrival and I have spoken to our housekeeping department to prevent this from recurring. The furniture, at the time was expensive and has suffered wear and tear throughout the last 4 years; however we are replacing items throughout the year wherever we can. I was horrified about the late checkout charges in terms of this being inconsistent along with the awful breakfast scenario. Both of these issues will be discussed at our weekly heads of department meeting in order to carry out a review along with further training of team members. Please accept my sincere apologies but thank you for bring this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The Cornwall hotel is a wonderful place to relax with friends and family. Great location- beaches and restrants near by. Very nice spacious rooms. Swimming pool and spa both lovely places to go to in the hotel. I would definitely recomend this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4honey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for an amazing review – it’s great to know that all our hard work is paying off!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

A really nice place to stay, if you want to relax don't think twice.
Best of it the restaurant Acron, we had a sea bass with saffron sauce which was the end of the world!! the two waiters in the restaurant did a perfect service apart to be super friendly, thanks guys…
The only down we had a package with two massage which were great, but we try book for the next day more treatments were all full, I believe is the case is low season...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pab u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Our congratulations again on your 5th anniversary and we are thrilled that you decided to spend such an important occasion with us. Thank you for your wonderful review and hopefully we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We've been here before twice with work parties and stayed in the standard rooms which are modern, comfortable and spacious so we thought we'd come again as our Christmas present to each other, and we were delighted to be upgraded to a Junior suite - absolutely lovely, spacious, airy, amazing bed and unexpectedly (from the framework) very comfortable, well furnished room. However the fabulous bathroom was cold and it was hard to keep the main room warm - I couldn't get the heated towel rail to get any hotter despite all the red indicator lights being on and that coupled with the lovely slate floor didn't help matters. Being mid January we should've asked for more shower mats to put on the floor!

However, this didn't spoil our 2 night weekend - who wants to sit in their room all day! The staff were really friendly and helpful in the restaurent, brasserie and bar, not to mention reception and housekeeping who were very friendly and no sooner had we mentioned an ironing board - it was there.

Food was lovely - our 2 evening meals both very good, although there was definitely a difference between the Brasserie and the Arboretum restaurent as you'd expect.
The buffet breakfast was good but we prefer a table service with breakfast to order ensuring that the meal is hot.

We used the Spa and enjoyed the experience, chatting with other guests who wished to chat in the melting steam room and sauna! Also we had treatments but as I've had treatments there before they can vary between therapists even for the same one. Mine was disappointing for the money this time (no power in the massage and again I started to get quite cold) but my husband said he really benefitted from his and what a treat it was. Didn't like having to ask for robes after signing in for treatment and being hotel guests, I felt they should have been offered as they are in other establishments I've been to - we're both a bit embarassed about asking for anything in case of refusal!

However overrall a really relaxing and memorable weekend and somewhere we'll definitely visit again hopefully.

Room Tip: The standard rooms ( I think they're called deluxe) are very comfortable - go up one grade to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandyMLaunceston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your review, it has been really helpful and we have taken on board all of your comments especially in areas where we haven’t provided what we strive to achieve on a daily basis and we have an on-going training programme with our Spa Therapists. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Beautiful interior decor but all a bit confusing from where you park (we also didn't see the sign to the main car park - which is a step from reception especially in the rain - and had the advice about needing to maintain access for emergency vehicles), to where you eat to 'extras' to eat in the Arboretum and to upgrade from the plat du jour to the a la carte menu - which we did.
That said our meal was very good but spoilt by cold plates - which I hate!
Went for a swim and I had to try about 6 lockers before I could fine one that worked - the Clearing Spa is a separate building which is also a walk from the main house, not ideal in the winter without a covered walkway.
Breakfast ok but nothing special as felt mass produced, disappointing for such a posh place.
We reported on the day we checked out, a noisy consumer unit in our room (132) so I'm hoping that will be sorted for the next occupants. Only noticeable I feel because it was so quiet, which is a plus
I'm glad I've been, but would not return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 120pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations on this occasion but we are really grateful for your review. Please be assured that we have taken your comments on board so that we can make further improvements to our facilities and service. I am relieved to report that the mini fridge in your bedroom was replaced on the same day that you checked out. The hotel, as you say is quiet and relaxing, but as a team we are sorry that you have decided not to return, perhaps you will allow us a second opportunity another time?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed in hotel in October. The hotel was exceptionally friendly, every member of staff from reception to gardeners made an effort to speak.. We stayed for 2nights for dinner, bed and breakfast. My daughter husband and children stayed in a lodge. We visited the Eden project. Very successful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

We are truly grateful for you kind comments and delighted that you enjoyed your family holiday with us. It’s great to have the flexibility to either stay in the hotel or rent one of our Woodland Homes for self-catering, the best of both worlds where you can all enjoy the facilities at the hotel including our Clearing Spa. The team and I are looking forward to seeing you return back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,615 reviews
14.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#2 of 4 in Truro
928 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: £63 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing