We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Easily reached and in nice quiet surroundings. Room was a luxury with balcony overlooking the estate. Spent three nights. Breakfasts were very good and evening meal in Acorns Brasserie was excellent. Wine a tad pricey but overall good value for this kind of hotel. Room was large and clean. Spa facilities were excellent with great swimming pool and treatments if required. Staff all really friendly and happy to talk to guests. Could be pretentious if not properly managed and they got the balance exactly right. Half the site already has woodland lodges on it and they are building more on the rest of the estate, we hope they don't lose the relaxed feel and quiet ambiance by building too many. Definitely planning on a return trip. Extremely soft bed was the only downside lacking any real support.

Room Tip: worth the upgrade to rooms with an estate view - at least until they build more of the woodland lodg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnR833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

We are just delighted that you are planning a retun visit and thank you for your kind review. Sorry about the soft bed, it’s quite a personal choice, please do let us know when you come back so we can put a board under you mattress to make it harder, we will be more than happy to do this for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,170 - 1,176 of 2,137 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Had a girlie weekend break in March. The staff could not have been more helpful. Stayed in a woodland lodge and we were blown away. The spa was lovely too. Restaurant has new chef and great menu. The grounds are fab for a morning stomp to build an appetite. We got comp bread milk butter and jam when arrived a lovely touch and Domino's delivers to your lodge as does tescodirect. Highly recommend to groups couples and families alike there's something for everyone!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahTowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

We were thrilled that you and the ‘girls’ had an amazing weekend break and thank you for your really kind comments and review. With our Clearing Spa right on your front door step of the Woodland Homes makes for the perfect get-away break for friends and families alike. Glad you also enjoyed the welcome pack, it just helps to make that all important cuppa and toast when you arrive! Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

The grounds of The Cornwall are truly impressive but the problem is it looks like they spent their entire budget on the hotel, spa, and landscape, and had almost nothing left for decent staff.
Here is our weekend stay summed up with a long list of disappointments.
3 course dinner on the Saturday evening took 3hrs 25mins from sit down to finish... 3hrs 25mins?!
I order a fillet steak but no steak knife was brought out, I had to ask for one, and the waitress came back out with something more like a bread knife.
A v.large glass of red wine was brought out full to the brim, I practically had to sip it from the table to get to a point where it could be picked up.
The dessert menu was never offered, we had to ask for them. It then took 20 mins for an order to be taken, but only after the waitress walked away after only taking my partner's order... had to call her back to take mine.
No water jug offered.
Breakfast was a huge queue to tell each person they had to go downstairs. There was no maître d, he was running around trying to keep track - people were just wandering in without offering room numbers.
No toast or coffee was offered on our table until almost before we left but that was only by mistake and was meant for a different table.
There was an order menu for breakfast as well as buffet, but that was not offered either.
Upon check-in we were asked if we wanted a daily paper. We said yes but that never showed up on both mornings.
In short truly shockingly bad service from what appeared to be a very high-class resort hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank NickC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Firstly please accept my sincere apologies for the truly shocking service that you experienced during your recent stay. We were totally unprepared for the big increase in bookings for this weekend compounded with staff illness and as a result we utterly got it wrong especially within our food & beverage operations. Whilst this offers you very little comfort we are just gutted that we did not deliver our usual high levels of hospitality and standards. As for the wine overflowing and the newspaper not being delivered, there is no excuse whatsoever for this and we have reviewed and carried out re-training with the team members concerned. Thank you for your honest critique and please accept our humble apologies once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Booked a group of 48 here as part of a conference. Staff were eager to please and genuinely wanted to help. Rooms were spacious and clean, food was good and everyone said how impressed they were with everything. Most of the delegates took information on the holiday rentals which is high praise indeed!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirminghamDeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

We were delighted to look after you and your delegates here at The Cornwall and thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Last month we stayed at The Cornwall for a 2 night break as part of their current "mini break" offer. We had a great time and couldn't fault a single aspect of our stay.
The staff in particular are so helpful and there doesn't seem to be anything that's too much trouble! The young girl on reception was so lovely, friendly and helpful.
We stayed in the main house, which had excellent facillities including a lovely walk in shower (ideal for my large 7 month pregnant frame!).
The breakfasts were superb with such a large selection and again the staff were very attentive.
Could not fault the spa facilities and found it very relaxing!
We would definitely return - perhaps with the little one in a few months as The Cornwall also appeared to be very family friendly.
Thank you to the Cornwall for a great 'Babymoon'.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharmaineLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Your review of our hotel is just wonderful and thank you for taking the time to put this on TripAdvisor! The team and I were delighted that we provided a great ‘babymoon’ and wish you every joy and happiness when the big day arrives. We do have some great spa treatments for mothers-to-be as it’s important to get that last minute pamper before motherhood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I first stayed in this hotel in 2010, just after it opened, when work required me to travel to St Austell for a few months. I was diligently looked after and retain fond memories of my trips to this beautiful woodland estate.

Since then, my wife and I have visited twice for short breaks to get away from London. Last week we went back for a third visit and decided it was about time we left a review.

This is a lovely hotel which is set in quiet countryside, less than 5 minutes drive from St Austell and 10 minutes drive to the picturesque fishing port of Mevagissey. The hotel's location is such that you can explore most of Cornwall with nearly all destinations under one hour's drive - we have used this as our base for North coast walks and trips to Fowey, St Ives and other popular spots.

The food here is excellent. Breakfast is very good, when the hotel is quiet the full Cornish breakfast is cooked to order which is a nice touch. Even when it is served buffet style the quality is very high, particularly the pork which is locally sourced and tastes divine. We usually elect to book a package which includes dinner for 2 on one night in the Brasserie / Restaurant (with supplement). We have eaten in both and been served great tasting, unpretentious food on both occasions.

The spa facilities are gorgeous and it's a real bonus that these are freely available to guests. A lovely infinity pool is great for swimming and there is also a sauna, steam room and whirpool which add to the relaxation. We have also spent time on the loungers by the pool as it's a great spot for reading with views over the woodland estate. Tranquil. My wife has enjoyed a number of treatments in the spa (prices are about standard for this kind of thing I am told) and she assures me they are very good.

Only complaint from our most recent trip would be that the room was stiflingly hot. We thought we had solved this as asked the reception to pop up and turn the heat off whilst we enjoyed our long meal in the Brasserie - this was clearly done as the radiators were cold when we returned, however the room retained all of the heat. On both nights of our stay we slept with the patio doors open (bear in mind this was during the month of February when temperatures dropped below 0c on both nights!) and this seemed to keep the room at a comfortable level.

Overall however, we are loyal customers of this establishment and will continue to visit time and time again. Could not recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samburrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

What a lovely review and thank you for taking the time and effort in doing so. We are thrilled that you have continued to visit the hotel for your special get-away breaks; it certainly provides us with satisfaction that we are doing something right! We have taken note of your comments regarding the heating and as part of our heads of department meeting we will see how we can come up with a better solution; however we are changing the thermostats at this time. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We have just returned from spending a two night break at The Cornwall Hotel. Everything was up to our expectations and really don't have any complaints only a few comments. Our bedroom in the main house was spacious and well presented with front facing views over the Cornish countryside. Although the decor throughout the hotel was to a high standard and stylish, it wasn't to our personal taste. The food both at breakfast and dinner was first class. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and extremely courteous. We particularly enjoyed the relaxation of the pool area. Here are a few comments that perhaps the management might note. Firstly, we did find the lighting too low at times. Secondly, although not a problem when the hotel isn't busy perhaps there should be a larger lounge area. I didn't see the point of positioning just one sofa right in front of the log fire when the seating could have easily been arranged to let everyone benefit from it. Overall a very enjoyable break and we will certainly be returning to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for you very kind review and comments which we will take on board. We are currently looking at our lounge areas in order to create more seating. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,630 reviews
14.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
961 reviews
7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,428 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: £73 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing