We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent all round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“excellent all round”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had a fabulous weekend at the Cornwall - good food, clean, well - serviced rooms and excellent help from all members of staff. What made it so special was the fact that our baby grand daughter of 4 months was made so welcome and staff could not do enough to help us all. They made the young parents feel that nothing was too much trouble and they were not pariahs if the baby cried! The grounds were beautiful to walk in and were a haven for wildlife. The pool was a good size and all facilities well thought out. Can't wait to go back - such a relaxing place to stay and all of Cornwall within easy reach.

Room Tip: we had 3 rooms in the House and they were all very good quality. The young family were upgraded to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your really kind review and comments and we are of course delighted that you had an excellent stay here with us at The Cornwall. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    906
    649
    257
    121
    47
See reviews for
324
1,141
24
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just got back after staying two nights. Most of all the staff were really great, nothing too much trouble, very helpful and especially the service in the arboretum restaurant. Marc - head waiter so so good at his job, he really impressed us. I think the service overall just made the whole weekend. The spa was lovely, we both had massage treatments which were very good and it was real nice being able to go into the relaxation room, chill out and have a drink afterwards.
We would both recommend it to couples or even families.

Room Tip: Room 220, a bit of walk from reception, may need to ask for a closer room if you are not so good wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nessy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your very high praise indeed, the team and I were delighted when we read out your comments. Mark is a star and we are very proud to have him on our team. See you again soon and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in March and had a very relaxing break. The hotel is lovely and the spa is a real treat. My partner had a treatment costing over £100 but said it was very good and worth the money. We stayed in the suite which was great although had no view apart from over the entrance lobby of the hotel which wasn't an issue as we knew this would be the case when we booked our break.
I have three faults regarding our stay:
1) Don't be fooled by the image of the afternoon tea on the poster at the entrance to the hotel! It was terrible and at £30 for two people a total waste of money and didn't in any way reflect the advertised image. We complained and were offered a 50% refund on the cost of the afternoon tea for two.
2) Meals at the hotel are expensive (we payed over £100 each night for a meal for two including a bottle of wine). Also don't assume you will be able to eat on site just because you are a resident. We called reception mid afternoon to book a table that evening only to be told we wouldn't be able to eat until 9.45pm so instead had to venture in to the town and eat at Franky & Bennys!!
3) housekeeping standards were not up to scratch. Our room had cobwebs on the ceiling and the carpet under the bedside tables was very dusty. Our over bath shower also leaked badly meaning we had to put all our hand towels down to soak up the leak each time!
In all it was a good break especially as we wanted a hotel with a spa but I wouldn't rush to stay there again. The staff are all very very nice but there are clear flaws in the management and upkeep of the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Whilst we were delighted that you had a relaxing stay we were concerned that there were certain elements that were not to your expectations and for this we are sorry. The image of the afternoon tea poster outside the hotel is a generic image which can be found in other establishments, however we have listened to what you have said and we have made improvements. The meal which cost you over £100, which I assume is our Arboretum Restaurant, uses the best quality produce, which comes at a price. We could of course use cheap quality meats, fish, etc. but that is not what we are about as clearly we strive to deliver a quality product. Our restaurants are limited in terms of capacity and when guests are making a direct reservation for accommodation we inform them should they wish to dine that a table reservation must be made in advance. We also make note of this on our website. As for our housekeeping standards, I have to hold my hands up where this is clearly not the standard we wish to have. We are currently recruiting for a new housekeeper, who will start in May and please be assured that this will come back to the correct standards that our guests usually enjoy. My apologies once again but thank you for your time and effort to bring these matters to our attention where we will made further improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Although listed by Trip Advisor as a hotel alone, the restaurant is available for non-residents too. I have eaten there twice now and can recommend it as it falls within that category of restaurant that satisfies those who eat in casual attire or more formal dress. The food is good without being exceptional and staffing is excellent. However, I'd like to know why not one chef in the land can make bread and butter pudding. In this instance, the dish consisted of four 50mm squares of bread stacked one on top of the other, flavoured with four currants and topped with a knob of vanilla ice cream. This plate of dough spoiled my enjoyment of the evening.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimMuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Oh dear…we have failed there and sorry that we didn’t deliver a proper bread and butter pudding. I have spoken to my chef about this and he has taken your comments on board. Thank you for your review and hopefully we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivybridge
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had an amazing weekend couldn't fault anything the food and staff were amazing the food in both restaurants was out of this world.we left feeling spoilt and relaxed .the spa and pool facilities were superb too .

Room Tip: I have been lucky enough to stay in lodges and hotel room I recommend the hotel room for romance and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
What a fab review…thank you for your really kind and generous comments. It makes all our hard work and effort rewarding. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

My fiance and I stayed at this remarkable hotel over the weekend and had a fantastic time. The customer service we received was excellent and the hotel did all it could to ensure our stay was perfect. We were looking for a relaxing break with great food, great views and a warm atmosphere and we got all of that and more.

The hotel is in a fantastic location and I would recommend it to everyone. I actually haven't stopped talking about it since we came back on Monday.

Thank you so much to everyone at this hotel, you made our trip lovely and we will definitely be back (hopefully for our first wedding anniversary.)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sinsimilla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your very high praise indeed, the team and I were delighted when we read out your comments. We are just thrilled that you loved us and it was just our pleasure to look after you both. See you again on your first honeymoon and congratulations when the big day arrives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Lovely friendly staff, beautiful open fire in the lounge , food very tasty. The spa is good. We had treatment s tonight lovely and relaxing . room nice and quite , comfy bed . will be coming back. Loads of lovely walks near by

Room Tip: Rooms in white house all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
It’s just so satisfying to the team & I when we see such wonderful comments and praise like yours. Thank you for taking the time and effort to leave a review and we look forward to seeing you return back again someday soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
14.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
17.4 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Property: The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing