We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 2nd visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I have just returned from my 2nd visit in 6 weeks.
The 1st time was with my partner, we had a voucher for B&B.
When we arrived we went & spoke to reception, & was greeted with a cheery smile, as we were early we went to the Spa & used the facilities, & also booked a double treatment for us for the next day.
We had lunch in the Terrace Bar, which was pleasant. We booked dinner for that evening in the Terrace Bar.
Our room was airy & spacious & the extra bonus that all the rooms in the 'new block' have south facing balconies. unfortunately I could not access the 'Free WiFi' in my room on the 2nd visit rm 119, & as we only stayed the 1 night did not pursue it.
The TV was a also a 'challenge' to figure out, & I actually count myself as reasonable gadget boff'. Had to phone reception, & they talked us through the procedure.
The design of the extension has been nicely thought out. We were on the 'top level' on our 1st visit and situated just behind the original manor. As has been mentioned in previous reviews it is a bit of a 'trek' from the lift, but there is someone who can help with your luggage if needed.
Our dinner was nicely presented but the couple of criticism's was that we had the mussels starter & we had to ask for finger bowels, & when the main course arrived it was not hot enough. I did mention this to the waitress when she asked the question,'is everything ok'?
The Clearing Spa area was lovely & we were lucky enough to be visiting in the middle of the week & it was fairly quiet, however, as has been mentioned in a previous review I can imagine it would be very restrictive if all the lodges/rooms were booked. There are 2 poolside showers to use when you have used the Steam room/solarium but one was broken.
This weeks visit was with my close friend & it was a 'ladies treat'. Once again I was lucky enough to access vouchers for a 'Spa Day', £49 which included a 50min treatment, glass of Pressco, & full use of the pa facilities, as mentioned in another review we did feel that the actual time was of the treatment wasn't fully utilized, for the client, but the actual treatment was enjoyable .
We decided, on booking our 'Spa day, to inquire if we could get a 'deal' to add an overnight stay & the duty manageress, offered us B&B for £89 with upgrade to delux room so we added this to our 'package'.
We arrived at 10.30 used the gym facilities, which although is compacted, it has a very wide selection of machines.
We then took a walk around the grounds. These are rather 'work-in-progress'. The web site doesn't actually portray this & we were disappointed, that there was not more walks.
As we have traveled worldwide & stayed in many luxury hotels there are several areas that need to be addressed to make this a near 'perfect' spa retreat.
The sleep experience was excellent, peaceful, dark, & comfortable The birds both evening & morning were amazing & the rabbits /squirrels a delight to watch.
This visit we were booked into the Acorns Brasserie, as the Terrace Bar was not open for dinner.
The dinner was once again nicely presented, we had to ask for bread to go with the mussels & once again the food was not served hot enough. We also thought that there should be more local fish dishes on the choices as we are staying in Cornwall in The Cornwall, a fishing county.
Overall would we recommend The Cornwall to our friends & family? Yes, would we stay again?
Yes, if we could access more vouchers that is.
Look forward to see the progression of the grounds.
It will also be interesting to note, the change, if any, when the new Head of Hotel Services, has been in post for a period of time.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor either far left or far right of the main building to have reasonable views. Haven'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigga47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your time and effort for such a comprehensive review. We are still working on areas within the estate; this is a large project and one that seems to be never ending. We have taken on board your comments and continue to make further improvements where we were not quite up to the mark. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,078)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,038 - 1,044 of 2,078 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Our second stay at The Cornwall, although this time we had our dog with us. Lovely, peaceful surroundings with airy and spacious rooms. Very helpful, friendly and pleasant staff. Acorns restaurant good value for money, and the food was of a high standard.
A thoroughly enjoyable experience and we shall return.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

We are always delighted that you bring along the rest of the family and dogs are always welcome as we have nominated dog friendly rooms. Delighted that you had a peaceful and relaxing stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Ok again all good all round, They don't seem to recognize their loyal customers. It would be nice when arriving at reception to be welcomed as a repeat client, and add some incentives for us to keep returning, as my self and friend are gradually looking into other places. My biggest bug bare has always been the service at breakfast and looking back at my comments and feedback from others nothing seems to have improved. The spa is always lovely and clean. I will not return for spa treatments as they always short shrift you on time, As they are always running late. I would say that i have been to this hotel over the last 18 months at least 14 times so feel more than comfortable to write the above, and i hope they take on board these comments, or out next time will be the last time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barnicleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Yes, we have some lessons to learn indeed. Our systems should flag up repeat and loyal guests and we will look into this. Weekend breakfasts can be an issue now and again as we do not have the capacity to seat everyone during times of peak demand, that team and I find this frustrating and we are still trying different ways to get round this issue. I have sent your comments over to my Spa manager regarding the short change of the treatment times. As ever we do appreciate your comments, however I would be most grateful if you could contact me so I could explore this further. Kind regards, Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Me and my husband wanted a weekend away for our 1 year anniversary and the chance to have one last weekend away just the two of us. We loved our room which had the shower in the same room. The room was very spacious with a balcony which we didn't get to use as it had rained a fair bit over the weekend we stayed. We had a lovely dining experience in the acorns and the food was delicious however the only downfall was that one of the waiters had taken our dessert plates away but then left us for half an hour before coming back to see if we wanted anything else which we did - the bill. We took advantage of the spa facilities, the pool was amazing and we went there on several occasions. We also had massages which we're amazing. I had the mum to be massage which was so lovely and relaxing. The lady that did my massage made sure I was comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Happy anniversary again and thank you for such a lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a week and used it as a base to explore Cornwall. We really enjoyed our stay here , it is an excellent choice for location , close to all the sites , stylish rooms , excellent breakfast and spa facilities. The grounds used to be a historic homestead and is now converted into a contemporary hotel without losing touch with its past. Also we were made very welcome by all members of staff but especially by Craig and Tina who looked after us at breakfast. The only minor issues were that housekeeping comes quite late , one day our room was only cleaned at 4 in the afternoon !!!!! The rooms were not cleaned properly , dust gathered after a few days on the table and desks!!! Service in the bar and The Acorns at night was very slow. One night we waited 20 minutes to get served a drink!!! Also our meal one night in the restaurant was below standard,our food was dry and overcooked. But overall we enjoyed our holiday here and would highly recommend it to other people. We would definite stay here again !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dirk65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Craig and Tina are some of our little stars and it’s great that you have made a special effort to mention them. Housekeeping has been operating without a head housekeeper and the team and I are relieved that this vacant role will be filled shortly – so watch this space. We have taken on several new staff within our food and beverage operation and once we have completed their training we will be back on track. Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A very nice hotel in great grounds, we stayed in the rooms that were attached to the hotel. The Delux rooms are very nice with a balcony with seating. Dont book rooms 130 to 133 as these rooms look over the back of the old hotel roof and you cant see much of the grounds. I would suggest upgrading to the next room as this had some good views. The sound of the birds in the morning was so nice. I could spend two night there, but would get board of things to do. Would be great for families and bicycle rides.

Room Tip: Dont stay in rooms 130 to 133 if you want a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maurice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your kind and honest review. Rooms 130 to 133 are some of our deluxe rooms which are standard rooms located behind the original main hotel. Our Luxury rooms do have better views and again the Superior bedrooms with an open plan bathroom and bedroom have the best views of all. The Cornwall is a great location to explore Cornwall but is equally just as good to relax for a few nights and spend some pamper time in our Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Things to consider before booking:

1) Bathrobes size XL, were shrunk in the wash...short in arms.
2) No hair-dryer.
3) No iron & ironing board.
4) Balcony nice but too dirty.
5) No thermostat in the room.
6) Room was not hoovered...We stayed 4 nights and there were dust-balls on the carpet during our stay.
7) First room that we were shown stunk of smoke in the toilet.
8) Mattress was old and slopped on one side.

The staff were helpful in changing room. Breakfast was adequate. Dinner was horrible.

Think twice before booking. Although it is a 4 start hotel you would be better staying in a Premier Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TT_Daventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Our apologies that we were below par please be assured that we are addressing some of the issues that you have brought to our attention. Thank you for taking the time to review The Cornwall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,595 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
14.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
904 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
512 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: £76 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing